We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and friendly staff. Great food and amenities too!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The design of the hotel is so amazing all rooms overlook the pool and ocean, there was
so much action you hardly stay in your room!!! The food was awesome and prepared fresh as you like it. Also well maintained clean hotel. After all I did felt like royalty @Hard Rock Cancun and I can hardly wait to visit again!!! This is a 'Rockin hotel'!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jahanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear jahanmom,

Thanks for the love! We are pleased to hear you had a blast with us and can´t wait to welcome you again. Keep on rockin´!!

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,092 - 5,098 of 10,109 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

First if all I will write about the good things at the hotel...the appearance, the ambiance, the staff and the service are great. The room is very good. My room had a peculiar smell which use to go after opening the door. The view from the room was great...ocean view overlooking the pools.
Now about things that are OK at the hotel...which is food. They have various restaurants (Asian, Grill, Mexican, Pizza place and then international buffet). The food was OK at these restaurants. The best food is at the Asian restaurants. We did not like the food at the grill place or at the Mexican restaurants. Item selection at the international buffet is great so you always find something to eat.
The worse part of the deal was the "limitless resort credit". First of all it is very limited...you can only spend it on services, very few excursions and only at one store with limited items. 20% service fee is charged if you use this credit. So for $1000 worth of services you will end up paying $200. The items are priced so high that it is not worth buying them and you need to book the services well in advance otherwise you will not get the appointment. They will also ask you to attend this 90 minute presentation where they will try to sell you the membership of RCI and Legendary club. Beware of that because it is a RIP off. Mine lasted for about 150 minutes.

So if you are booking the hotel and deducting the resort credit to come up with the true cost...DON'T.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Ajay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Ajay Manchanda,

Thanks for the review. We appreciate receiving feedback from our rockers. We aim to deliver experiences that rock through innovation in our services and promotions and so we will take your comments in consideration to improve our resort credits promotion. We would love to hear more details on your experience with your resort credits
To properly follow up with you one of our customer care specialist will be contacting you shortly by private message.

Again thanks you for feedback and hope we can see you again soon.

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Fifteen of us stayed here from January 31-February 7. I will start from the beginning and lead you thru the entire trip. We are Palace and Legendary members and know the ins and outs of the properties to give a base for our review.


Booking: This process has been streamlined and is as good as it can get. Confirmation letters were sent out immediately for the rooms and transportation requests were seamless.

Resort Credits: Are basically a bonus and need to be treated as such. We all had 1800-2000 limitless credits and most rooms used between 800 and 2000. Pre-booking with the assistance of Leydi was seamless as her professionalism and bookings were 100% accurate! Paying $28 in taxes for a 50 minute massage, swim with the dolphins, etc. is pretty good value in our books. Davi & Memo at the vacation planners are the very best and will always ensure that your tours, golf and spa treatments are booked right way.

Arrival, Check-In, and Welcome: Transportation was awaiting us at the airport and the instructions received were spot on and we were at the resort within an hour of our plane landing. Adela from concierge services greeted us as we arrived and she is a great asset to the company as she took care of our entire group for the whole week. Ilse handled our room check ins with great efficiency and explanation as she is a true professional. Also at the front desk to assist with any questions were the smiling faces of Armando, Abelardq and Isa who always make sure that any situation is handled with extreme professionalism.

Restaurants:

Zen: This was probably the groups favorite as a consensus. The best way to have your meal here is to check in for the hibachi grill and go wait at the inside bar for your call. Gonzalos will make you specialty drinks, shots and serve you some of the best sushi you will find almost anywhere. We remember him from our last 3 trips and it is always great to see him. Miriam at the check in is excellent and will always ensure you are treated great!

Ciao: A great Italian restaurant that is the very best for a 5 course meal. We were seated as a group of 15 and Carlos was able to handle a wide array of drink and food requests. This was a close second as one of our favorite restaurants. This is a great place for the guys and gals to dress up and enjoy a very elegant atmosphere. Also, this is a great place to visit with Nelson, the sommelier, whom always has a great recommendation for a wine that you may like or try something new.

Ipanenema: Was very good still, but probably a step down from a year ago.

Breakfasts: Marketplace has just about anything imaginable and freshly made omelettes are always an option. If you are having a later breakfast, don't miss the Zen as that can be a little quieter and a nice change from the hustle and bustle at the marketplace. Gonzalo gets kudos at the Zen breakfast as the waiter to have.

Lunch & Dinner Buffets: Always had something fresh to order or a wide array of buffet items. The freshly cooked salmon, grouper and stone oven pizzas were always great! Mayo and Gonzalo were always 2 waiters you wanted to have during the outdoor lunch buffet.

Spa: The reception staff of Dannie, Royer and Christy always greeted you with a big smile and enthusiasm. For extra special treatments, you should hope to draw Mary, Esther, Yamayska, and Esmeralda for that extra special treatments. We should know as we spent our entire 2000 credits at the Spa and always felt pampered and longing for more!

Pool Bar: If you want great service, drinks and recommendations, look no further than Emanuel, Michael, Leo and Carlos as they can handle a large crowd like no others!

Lobby Bar: The bartenders for the most part were all good, but once again our favorite is Angel as he has been there as long as I can remember. You ask for it, explain it or just say surprise me and you will not be disappointed!

Room & Housekeeping: The view from the ocean view rooms are amazing! Lupita always kept our room very clean and anytime we requested something it was there in minutes. I would agree that the rooms will always need some upgrading, but honestly we spent so very little time in them, that they are very good for what we expect.

VIP Beach Area: Sergio & Hope are waiters in this area for a reason! They are both simply the very best waiters we have encountered at the beach in some 20 years of traveling abroad.

Bell Boys: Although they all seemed very good, Sammy and Francisco went above and beyond without exception each and every time!

This was probably a little more than you bargained for, but this is our favorite of all of the Hard Rock or Palace properties!

Room Tip: Ocean view is always the preference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hello Dennis B,

Thanks for the EXCELLENT review! We love to hear and read about our amazing Members enjoying themselves and making memories here with us. We look forward to your next visit and I know you will have another rocking time at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun! ROCK ON!

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

All inclusive is the only way to go when traveling with a family, we had 6 in our group. Ranging for 21to15 not including parents. The kids were able to help themselves and really enjoy and try new things.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Salvatore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Salvatore B,

Thanks for the short and sweet review! When traveling with family our all-inclusive resort rocks!
We at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun hope you come back soon for another rock n´ roll vacation! ROCK ON!

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Sat through the "no-pressure, 90-minute" presentation in exchange for a day pass at the Hard Rock Hotel in Cancun. 90-minutes turned into 2+ hours. No pressure turned into 5 different sales pitches. #1 - trainee fills out a bunch of information on a form. #2 - 6-month employee takes you to breakfast, fills out another form with similar information, provides the tour, and brings you to the sales room. #3 - more experienced guy has to come in and tell you how much it costs. #4 - "Quality Control" guy comes in and tries to play "Let's-make-a-deal". #5 - After we said no 4 times - the guy who is supposed to give you the day pass tries to sell you a 4-night stay. Just say no.
Now we have our day pass ... came back the next day around 9am to use it. Every single chair at the pool was "occupied". Every single chair at the beach was "occupied". When I say "occupied", I mean somebody's crap was on the chair ... but only about 25% of the "occupied" chairs actually had people sitting in them The pool looked nice, the beach looked nice, just wish we could have sat there and enjoyed them. We encroached on the beach chairs of the adjacent resort - and we weren't the only encroaching Hard Rock guests. The other hotel seemed okay with it. If I were a guest staying at the hotel - and I could not get a beach or pool chair because of all the day passes they hand out - I would be extremely annoyed.
The food was just okay - similar to my previous experiences at Iberostar and Barcelo. Lines were long, food quality was mediocre. That evening, we dined at Ipanema - a Brazillian Steak house similar to Fogo de Chao or Texas de Brazil. Quality of the meat was okay. Service was a bit slow.
Not sure what the rates are here - $400-$500 per night? Not worth it at that price. They do have a special area for Legendary members ... all you need to do is invest $20k to make sure you get a place to sit at the beach or the pool.
I rate this hotel less than average because the over crowding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Chris0329,

Thanks for the review. Receiving feedback from our guest is how we continue to get better.
I regret to hear you were not impressed during your day-pass visit to our resort. We are reinforcing our policy for the chaise loungers’ use by the pool.
We hope you come back soon and stay longer to enjoy the real rock Star experience at all 5 restaurants, pools, outdoor Jacuzzis, beach and pool activities and the great vibe here at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We don't stay anywhere else in Cancun other than here! We've been coming here every year since 2005 and we have been treated like family every time! We truly consider this our home away from home. Although some employees have come and gone, we still have those that remember us and welcome us every time and we continue to make new friends, not only with other hotel guests but with the staff especially. Check in this time was perfect, our room was excellent other than getting flooded the second night and a few hiccups trying to get another room but it was all taken care of. There are so many people that we want to thank for making our stay extra special, all these people went above and beyond their call of duty and should be recognized! You will not be disappointed, they all bend over backwards to make sure you are a happy guest! Jairo was at the outdoor grill and gets moved around a lot because he is the best! We always look for him! The guys at the pool bar and pool area make our stay so fun! Angel, Daniel, Gonzalo, Maldonado, Carolina, Concepcion, Klaudia, Jesus Suaste, Pedro and Jesus. Our guys Hector and Charlie at the Mercado made us a special fish lunch, it was excellent! Hipolito was behind the scenes but we asked for him and he came right out, he's so sweet! At the spa we were given the special treatment by Cinthia who did our nails and Giovanna Zayil Jimenez and Teresa Laurel Torre who did our massage! We would always end our night at Zen, these are the best group of people you could meet! Can't say enough about Chef Isidro, his creations are both impressive and delicious and he manages to make us special creations while attending to one of the busiest restaurants! And his staff, Jessica, Carlos Manuel, Gregorio, Efra Cuz and so many others! And at the bar was Esterio, Evelio, Eleuterio and Yeni. We even had great service with room service with Speedy! And can't forget about Nelson, the Somiler, he's so sweet and caring and any question about wines or champagne, he's your guy! We even got to meet the general manager, El Sr. Miranda, he was nice and we made sure that he knew how much we cared for everyone here. They are the reason we keep coming back and although a lot has changed since the Cancun Palace days, yes, it is americanized and doesn't feel too much like you're in Mexico but the service is unlike any other and you just want to bring everyone home with you! We hope to be back soon to see all of our amigos!!

Room Tip: We always pay extra to get the Concierge level rooms, they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VargasDu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear VargasDu0,

Thank you for the love! Feedback like yours really ignites our passion to serve.
We look forward to your next stay and I know the staff will be happy to see you again and will make your vacation as memorable as this one.


Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

As 1st time Legendary guests at this resort, we had a great time. The hotel is nice but the best part about the hotel is the service!! We were a little disappointed with the rooms, as they booked us in a double-bed room, and we requested a king-bed room. They tried to changed it for us, but later said it could not be done, due to a large group had arrived at the same time we were there. As 1st time guests....this was not a very good impression. The storage space in the rooms was small, too, as my husband and I had trouble finding enough space in the 3 small drawers and 1 small closet, to fit all of our things. It was a beautiful view, from the large balcony, though, and we quickly overlooked the small quarters. The restaurants were very good...especially the Japanese and the Brazilian steakhouse, and the Mexican was good, too! The buffet was average and the breakfast offered at all places was average, too. One of the best features of the hotel...the beautiful, oversized pool!! Just gorgeous!! Also, the extra-comfy chairs, on the beach, for the Legendary members was a plus!! It's too bad that smokers had to ruin our beach experience by "puffing away" all day!! Disguisting!! Overall, the service is amazing...by all staffmembers...and the food is very good. We will probably give them another try and hope that our accomodations meet our needs next time.

Room Tip: If you'd like a "picture-perfect" view, where you can fall asleep every evening to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Joanne B,

Thank you for your time and candor in bring your traveling experience to my attention. I would like to apologize for such unusual experience at you check-in, we usually meet and exceed our dear member’s room expectation and clearly we missed our mark this time.
I would also like to thank you for the warm compliments. Again please accept my apology and should you return please reach out to me directly by a private message to give you the VIP treatment our members are accustomed to at the Hard Rock hotel Cancun.

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
1.3 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Cancun Palace Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Business Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $394 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun- Where Stage Front meets Beach Front At our unique Cancun beach resort, we've created the ultimate beachfront celebrity playground and transformed the typical All Inclusive vacation into a rock star paradise, which reflects our Mexican setting and cosmopolitan flair. Located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room hydro spa tub, fine dining at, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists. There are no limits at our All Inclusive Cancun resort. Go on a world tour with the internationally inspired restaurants of the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun. Give meetings the rock star treatment. Plan the ultimate celebrity-style wedding. Rock out at the beach or the luxurious pool area with swim up bars. Indulge in a glorious spa day. The Hard Rock Hotel Cancun truly has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing