We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11,050)
Filter reviews
11,050 results
Traveler rating
8,075
1,872
672
239
192
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,075
1,872
672
239
192
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmash barrock starzen restaurantrock sparock royaltylegendary membersmarket buffetfoam partyresort creditvacation plannersbrazilian steakhouseentertainment staffocean viewpresidential suitekids clubpool baramazing hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,125 - 6,130 of 11,050 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 girls, 6 and 21 months) stayed at HR Cancun the last week in July 2013. This was our 4th time to the resort, first time HR. We have been Palace members for almost 15 years and have stayed at almost every property, some not even with Palace anymore. Positives: We were very happy with the upgrades in the overall look and feel of the property- addition of a central lobby bar and Brazilian Steak House- which was very good with great staff; the main pool now has great waterfall features and rock formations and palm trees lining it- very nice. The overall color scheme and decor was nice. We missed a little of the Palace hospitality with regular staff who would be at a resort for long periods- everyone we met on the staff was brand new but very nice. The waitors at Caio for breakfast and dinner were fantastic and the pool side waitresses were so nice. We tipped on the first day ($5US) and she found us each day and remembered what we wanted all day long! We also found the bar staff everywhere to be great. We had a few issues with the initial room when we got to it but they were all fixed within 10 minutes or less by multiple different staff always with a phone call to confirm that they were completed to our satisfaction- very nice!
Some negatives: It seems that members are now resorted to second class when it comes to room selection. You are only able to get a ocean view room if they have availability, which you dont know until you check in, everyone who was a VIP (Palace Member) had the same experience we did, the lagoon! This week was 90% capacity- felt more like 110%, so we got a lagoon room upon check in. We were promised a change in two days which turned out to be 3 but we enjoyed the sunsets of the lagoon side and we took in two shows without leaving the room! The standard wine selection and the upgraded wine selection has seemed to go down hill with HR. This is not the resort to get the authentic Mexican feel, in fact you wont hear any Mexican music at all. I know this is HR branding but not to have a Mariachi band even at the Mexican restaurant was disappointing. The Mexican restaurant by the way was not very good food wise and they reconfigured it so that it has a cement block wall and a higher wooden fence around it so that there is little air flow and no view to the beach like before. The Asian restaurant was still very good. We talked with several other couples staying at other resorts near by who wandered down to check out HR and they all commented on how crowded it was- and it was. Get a chair by the pool by 7am, go to dinner by 6pm, lunch when it opens and breakfast early. This was easy for us with young kids but frustrating for many others we met who waited for every meal. Thank goodness for All inclusive booze.
Overall this is still an excellent property with tons of things to do, a great kids club, fantastic beach and great staff. You can get to everything very easily and most activities are nearby, we even walked to some. You will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Put a wet towel under your door to dampen hall noise. The rooms on the 7-9th floor in the center ocean side offer the best view, rooms to either end, ocean side offer larger patios.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Brian20176, we thank you for your review as it helps us increase our guests’ satisfaction. We are glad to hear that you liked the new concept and décor of our resort and that our staff made you feel like family. We are happy to know that your issues upon arrival were addressed with efficiency and to your satisfaction and that you receive the rock star treatment. We passed on your comments and suggestions to our management team and various key people to keep the improvements coming and ROCK! At Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, we try to have a variety of shows and bands and it may be why you did not get the chance to see any mariachis. We recommend that you keep yourself posted with our official website to know all about the coming stars, shows, promotions, news and more. We hope to host you once more in our stage!
- Save the planet! -
Strum Your Air Guitar!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just got home from 2 weeks in Cancun. This is a great hotel, we booked a lagoon view but were surprised to get a great corner room with a great pool and sea view on the 5th floor.

Positives:
-Great service
-Cold damp cloths, drinks and a flower on arrival
-Beach service with a flag to put up when you want more drinks
-24h room service
-Fridge in room restocked daily with soft drinks and beer
-Big bottles of premium vodka, tequila rum and whiskey in room
-Clean rooms
-Thorough clean maids daily
-Great resturants
-Great entertainment
-Guitar brought to the room for as long as we liked free of charge

Negatives:
-Slow draining shower
-Slow elevators
-The 3 times I ordered cheese and ham omelettes off the room service menu I vomited

Room Tip: We stayed in room 570 it was a corner room and it was very nice :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 843ClaireM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear 843ClaireM, we are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience and we thank you for your feedback since only our guests can keep us improving and make the show even better! Do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! We recommend you stay posted on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
- Save the planet! -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had no intent to go to the Hard Rock Cancun all inclusive resort... but the decision was taken out of our control when we received a phone call from the Palace Resort / Hard Rock Resort companies letting us know that our stay from August the 3rd thru the 10th @ Palace Aventura Spa resort was being cancelled due to the resort closing down earlier than expected for renovations to become the new Hard Rock Riveria Mia and we had to go to the Hard Rock Cancun property for our vacation... (which they stated was a much better resort...) We love the adults only concept at Aventura, but had no choice but to go to Hard Rock Cancun with 300 + children (God bless them all)... As someone who wants to play water vollyball and have a drink in the pool, without a child (God bless them all) and having them fill my glass with pool water most times that I had a drink due to their splashing...jumping... and being normal)... I really think a private adult section of this big (huge) pool would be NICE!!!

The resort was much smaller than Aventura... but we were surprised of how nice the resort was... from the 4 restaurants (which we liked better) with wonderful wait staff and management... to the gym (Ya gotta workout if you're gonna eat 24 hours a day)...

Then there was the SPA.... which was 17 SPA rooms to Aventura's 70 SPA rooms... but the services for my group of 2 couples was great, and the front desk staff of Paula and Adriane was 2nd to none at the Hard Rock SPA... My vacation planner (Ana Karen) who has taken care of me and my family for many years did her magic again scheduling everything we wanted and we enjoyed our spa treatments and beauty salon treatments throughout the week... Therapist RosaLue and Altera were awesome to my Wife, our 2 friends, and myself (a card carrying massage lover!!!).

The resort gave us very nice ocean view rooms, as part of the compensation for being moved to Hard Rock... The entertainment was good, and similar to what we had in the past at Aventura, a Palace resort...

In closing... As an owner of both Palace resorts (premier) and Hard Rock (legandary), we had an incredible week... in spite of 300+ kids (God bless them all) and look forward to what Hard Rock will be doing with the property (formerly know as Aventura) when we return back to our favorite all inclusive resort... which will remain adults only on the SPA side...

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are magnificent for the sunrise... but the lagoon side has the sunsets
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiguy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear skiguy333, Wow thank you for your great and very detailed detail! We are thrilled to hear that although you expected the Palace experience you had a blast and went with the groove as the rock star you are! As for the mentions of some of our star staff members, be ensured that we will pass your comments to each and every one of them so they know they rock! Do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! We recommend you stay posted on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!

- Save the planet! -
Strum Your Air Guitar!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The worst in room dining. All included sucks, you cannot pay for a better meal. Breakfast only have eggs and nothing. No pay per view movie. If you go for luxury, don't go there. Not for luxury! No food and Movie. All massage fully booked for days. Check in was terrible with a receptionist called Sam (girl) we have to bare her attitude. The reservation price is different from the front desk price, and they explained to us reservation is different department so they are not the same! Crazy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hi there Janice11111, we appreciate you shared your opinion with us. We believe communication is the key to make of our resort the best hotel in Cancun. Regarding the all inclusive 24/7 room service menu, we are sorry you did not found something of your taste for breakfast from the various options from the variety of fruits and yogurts, cereal, waffles, French toast, bagels with cream, omelets, pancakes, salads, hamburgers, club sandwiches, chicken nuggets, quesadillas etc… and if you are looking for something else, we recommend our breakfast buffet, the best in Cancun.
And for dinner, you can use your resort credits for other gourmet options; if a culinary experience is what you are looking for, we recommend to visit our Vacation Planner team to make a reservation for one of our special activities like the 5 course Romantic dinner at one of our love birds spots in the hotel and the Chef’s dinner, a fine dining experience composed of expertly prepared courses by our Chef.
Regarding the pricing, the rates at the front desk and the rates when booking months in advance could differ as there are several sweet promotions going on during the year, so visit our website for more details. We look forward to welcome you soon and prepare to live the real rock n’ roll fantasy vacation here at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
LOVE ALL SERVE ALL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's the people that make the difference here. Dinky on the bell team was excellent. The Entertainment Team are different class and work tirelessly to ensure you are kept entertained from first thing in the morning until you crash out at night. They should be commended.

Can be noisy at night, so this is not a place for a quiet getaway. If you want a lively place in a perfect setting on the Caribbean Sea, you will love it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertOrdever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello RobertOrdever, thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate to know that you had the rock star treatment our valuable guests deserve and that our staff rolled out the red carpet for you. We are grateful to hear that our collaborators made it unforgettable. Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and rock your world! We recommend you stay posted on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!

- All is one! -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews