We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,889)
Filter reviews
11,889 results
Traveler rating
8,662
2,021
730
262
214
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,662
2,021
730
262
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmash barrock starzen restaurantlegendary membersrock sparock royaltymarket buffetfoam partyresort creditvacation plannersbrazilian steakhouseentertainment staffocean viewkids clubpresidential suitepool barmichael jackson show
Filter
Updating list...
6,609 - 6,614 of 11,889 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was my husbands and I first trip to Mexico and I have to say that we did not want to leave. The hotel was amazing, the views beautiful and the staff was attentive. We have been on many vacations and the service here was by far the best we have ever encountered. The bell boy Fransisco Lopez was the most polite, well mannered and attentive employee. He was always there to address any needs that we may have had and often would go out of his way to insure that our stay was perfect. We will definitely be back and are already thinking about our trip next year.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the platinum room, oceanfront with a balcony and it is worth the extra money. The views at night are amazing and you hear the ocean all night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hello Rhonda J! Wow thank you for your amazing comment! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful first with our Mexican rock star adventure! We are glad to know that our staff spoiled you as if you were family and we will make sure that Francisco Lopez knows that he rocked rolling out the red carpet for the stars you are! Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and put the rock n’ roll in your life! We recommend you stay posted on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!

- Save the planet! -
Strum Your Air Guitar!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We wanted to write to say THANK YOU for a vacation that exceeded our expectations (July 27-July 31, 2013). We had been dreaming & planning for months. And, we read a few reviews that had us a bit concerned. But our reality was full of many pleasant surprises and no regrets! The staff is top-notch, very friendly & upbeat. We would like to name a few special people that provided us with a "treated like royalty" experience.
FELIX (at the pool bar) first & foremost we say a great big GRACIAS to you! Because you provided many smiles & created memories. You will be included in our family photo album.
EDUARDO (morning hours/main lobby area) took the time to provide Spanish lessons and give general advice about the area.
CAROLINA (poolside) made sure we had a worry-free days. She worked so hard and seemed so happy! Always offered lots of bottled water and kept us hydrated.
These three made us quite comfortable indeed! But please also pass our praise along to Carlos at the pool bar, Ana in entertainment, and Alesero (not sure if that is the correct spelling...orange coat poolside eating/bar area). Again, everyone we encountered was positive & smiling. These were just a few stand-outs that deserve a special mention. They work hard and need to be recognized for a job well done.
Consider the water aerobics and other poolside activities. Lots of fun with musical chairs etc...
Check-in & check-out were a breeze. Many reported problems here but we had no trouble and zero wait time. Another concern was pool chairs. If you are an early-riser you will have no problem. But it is true all chairs seem to be claimed by 9:00 a.m.
We hit all of the eateries and the food was GOOD! Big variety available. Room Service was prompt & courteous. Don't miss the brick oven pizza...YUMMY!
We had absolutely no view at all in room 335. But we grew to love our central location and spent very little time in our room. Loved being able to use the stairs and skip the elevator.
Please note THIS HOTEL IS LOUD!!! If you seek a quiet atmosphere perhaps The Hard Rock vibe is not for you. We loved the energy, and the beach & scenery cannot be beat. Little touches like soft robes, flowers, candies, etc...we could go on and on and on!
Just to emphasize our joy...you should know we endured a thunderstorm, a jellyfish sting, and a stomach bug! But the blue water and caring staff made everything better and we had an absolutely fantastic vacation!!!

Can you possibly tell us how to make the Toucan drink so we can try one at home??? We appreciate everything you do!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hi Heather F! WOW! GRACIAS to you!! What a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you felt like rock stars as we always strive to roll out the red carpet to our precious guests. Thank you for your many mentions to our staff, be sure we will let them know they ROCK! We are glad to hear that you are part of our band and will be welcoming you soon to our stage! Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and spoil you rotten! We recommend you stay posted on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!

We will send you the recipe of the Toucan Drink in a personal message at the upmost tomorrow; we will ask one of our bartenders the exact quantities, so you can take a little piece of rock n’ roll heaven at home!

See you soon!

- Save the planet! -
Strum Your Air Guitar!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I will like to thank Carolina and Leidy for there assistance during my stay at the hotel. They were very courteous and professional. They make sure i have what I needed it. Also, Carolina personally took care of a situation with another employee from guest advisor service. She listened to my concerns and took prompt action in communicating this incident to the appropriate department in order to resolve the problem and for this never to happened in the near future.
Indeed, Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, inc. is fortunate to have such great employees, who makes a great difference on peoples pleasant vacations.

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maruchi215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hello Maruchi215, thank you very much for your short and great review, the staff is the soul of our resort and we are thrilled hearing that they rolled out the red carpet for you because you are a true rock star! Indeed our staff is the soul of the resort, they make this rock story a double platinum hit! Be sure we will let Carolina and Leidy know they rocked! Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and pamper you some more! We recommend you stay posted on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!

Rock on!
- ALL IS ONE -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and kids (age13 and 17) visited Cancun June 22 for 5 days. As soon as we arrived hot towels and a drink were given to us. Throughout our stay, the service was friendly and professional. While at the beach, I never had to go to the pool bar for a drink because service was there. The entertainment lobby was awesome with kids, teens, and adults enjoying playing pool, shuffleboard, or sitting in the most comfortable sofas and chairs. There was always a place to sit. Again, service was everywhere. The restaurants were great but our favorite was the Zen. It's so good we went there twice. No reservations needed. Just show up. The pool was great looking over the sea. There was always music and you can hear it to the beach...loved it! However, if you want a good spot at the pool, you need to be there at 7am to reserve with your towel. Also at the beach, about 8am I was there and got a good spot. Because of the service, this hotel should be 5 stars! We will come back here again and again...

Room Tip: Reserve sea side, right side facing the beach. The music is always playing on the other side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdchanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hello jdchanel! Wow thanks for the great review! We are so thrilled that you had the epic service you deserve and that you enjoyed the rock star experience. As a family friendly resort, we are glad that all your family of rockers were part of the band and dance to the beat of our music. Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!

Rock on!
- SAVE THE PLANET! –

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I read every review on this site before booking our vacation here and every negative review was spot on. I requested an ocean view on a high floor due to all the loud noise reviews that are posted here. Upon checking in, we were given keys to a low floor lagoon side overlooking the loading dock and tour bus driveway. I asked to be moved but of course they had nothing else. This hotel is extremely loud!!!! It reminded me of a Las Vegas casino hotel walking thru the lobby to get to the elevators. I probably could have dealt with the noisy common areas but I draw the line with getting woken up at 2:30am each morning by loud drunk people in the hallways. The Japanese restaurant is just ok, the Brazilian steakhouse is terrible based on the low quality meat. The Mexican restaurant was closed due to all the rain and the buffet is worse then a college cafeteria. There are many low class people that stay here just getting messed up on the free booze and these are the same people one must fight with at the buffets in order to get food. The funny thing is all these drunks are not spring breakers, they are older people in their 30's - 40's. I cannot stress enough how terrible this hotel is, it does fit a certain crowd but just not what my family enjoys. The people working here, except at the front desk, are very nice and try to accommodate you. We found the jetted tubs in our family suite to be useless and just took up space. On our second day here they started to make repairs to the stucco exterior and this was noisy as hell. There were many Mexican nationals vacationing here who were also very rude and obnoxious. There are two little areas at the pool that have small hot tubs that were closed off to the guests because they were always reserved for Hard Rock and Palace VIP guests, mostly Mexican nationals. If you enjoy a drunken, loud frat party, then stay here. The Michael Jackson show was the best thing here. We checked out after staying just two nights and went to the Royal Haciendas resort in Playa Del Carmen. We have stayed at Royal Resorts before and it is a great family place. We highly recommend Royal Resorts in Cancun and Playa, first class rooms and food, same price as Hard Rock. I cannot believe the number of positive reviews for the Hard Rock on this site. By the way, this property is very tired and it shows

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Travelguy69, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review, as it is how we know how we are doing. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the rock star experience and that our vibe did not correspond to your vacation tastes. Nevertheless, we take your comments seriously and passed them on to our management team and various key people in order to improve our services and facilities. On the other hand, we are glad to know that our staff members were the highlight of your stay.

-LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews