We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, good service and trips”
Review of Beach Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Palace
Ranked #13 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good service and trips”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This was our first time traveling outside the US, and as a single mom with two teens wanted to book an all-inclusive to alleviate some headaches. My travel agent highly recommended the Palace Resorts and Beach Palace in particular...it is not as large a property as the other Palace Resorts in Cancun so we didn't feel like one of the faceless masses or get lost, yet it was large enough that there was a variety of things to do and places to eat.
Room: We were on the 11th floor, lagoon side, at the very end of the hallway, so our balcony actually wrapped around the end of the building a bit for a small slice of an ocean view. At first I was disappointed we were not on the ocean side (prior to the trip, we had requested one if available but given this was a holiday week, none came available), but aside from some exhaust noise from the neighboring hotel the room was very quiet and the sunset views over the lagoon were beautiful. For the price differential between ocean side and lagoon side, unless your heart is set on an ocean view the lagoon side is just as nice. The room was very clean but the jacuzzi in the room, while a fun novelty, takes up alot of space and makes the room feel much smaller. Bathroom was small, but walk-in shower was roomy. We didn't like the fact that the wash basins were outside the bathroom and separated from the rest of the room only by two separate floor to ceiling mirrors...a bit more privacy would have been nice as an early riser could easily wake others washing face, brushing teeth, etc.
Restaurants: There are 4 to choose from, Asian, Italian, a steakhouse and Mexican buffet. Asian and Italian are labeled "formal" but that merely means long pants required (jeans are OK). The Mexican buffet was the fastest and most convenient choice, and the food wasn't bad. Pretty typical buffet style items, but better selection that I had anticipated given included in the all-inclusive package. We ate at the Italian place one night and were incredibly disappointed in the service and the food quality...one of the few negatives about our trip. Didn't make it to the other restaurants, but heard others commenting on the Asian being very good.
Activities: I really liked that several tours were included as part of the package. We did the Chichen Itza tour and Isla Mujeres through the hotel, tried to sign up for the ZipLine but all spaces were filled for the duration of our trip....if you want to do that tour, schedule quickly as there are limited spaces and much demand. Chichen Itza was amazing, but very crowded the day we went. It was quickly apparent that the place they stop at on the way to Chichen Itza for "authorized shopping by Mayan artists" (and then again on the return trip for lunch) is merely an extension of the Palace Resort group. Prices are ridiculous, and I admittedly overpaid for three small obsidian statues. Plus they will tell you that the vendors at Chichen Itza are selling fake items and selling illegally... don't buy this line. You could negotiate with the vendors at Chichen Itza for the same items at a fraction of the price. Also, this tour makes for a very long day...be sure to have a hearty breakfast because "lunch" may not be until 3 PM or later. Still worth the investment of a full day - a truly amazing place.
On the other hand, the Isla Mujeres tour was not worth the investment of a full day, with the exception of the boat ride over and especially back. The guys on the boat were really entertaining and the return trip was a hoot with tequila shots for anyone willing to open their mouth! On the way over to the island, they try to sell you tours for when you arrive, either a boat tour of the island, snorkeling, or scuba diving. We hung out at the Palace resort rather than paying for one of these tours and it was OK, but the beach was not that big. The second part of they day they take you to the north end of the island for shopping in the commercial district. Again, it felt like this was set up exclusively as a tourist trap and the prices were not that great. Other than the return boat ride, I wouldn't spend a precious vacation day doing this again.
Before we went, we had scheduled the dolphin encounter at Wet N Wild through our travel agent rather than taking a chance of this being filled up when we arrived. Palace Resorts owns Wet N Wild, so admission and food (such that it is) is included in your all-inclusive Palace package, although the dolphin encounter itself cost extra. There were only a few rides at Wet N Wild, and it does not come close to comparing with US water parks. The dolphin encounter, however, was fantastic with alot of interaction with the dolphins, including a tummy ride! Just like about everywhere, they will try to sell you a photo package which is extremely pricey although I was able to negotiate a slightly better deal. My kids and I truly enjoyed this experience.
I also scheduled one of the "jungle tours" through the American Express representative rather than the hotel. I had heard this was alot of fun, and it definitely was. You drive a boat (and yes it goes pretty fast) through the mangroves and into the open water where you spend about an hour snorkeling, then your guide randomly leads you back to the marina. Again, it was very crowded in the snorkeling area(which pretty much everything was given the holiday week) but well worth it.
Services: When you arrive at the resort they will try to talk you into attending their Palace Resort membership presentation. I understand they are required to push this, but after the first time saying no, I didn't appreciate their calling my room a couple of additional times trying to talk me into it. If you have a few more days in Cancun, it might be worth attending just to get the Spa or Tour credit (it supposedly lasts about 90 minutes and they take you to one of the other Palace Resorts to attend), but since we only had 5 or so days there, it wasn't worth the time trade-off to me. Aside from this annoyance, the staff was generally excellent and truly interested in wanting to make your vacation and Palace stay an enjoyable experience. We received prompt response to any request, from room service to additional towel requests to following up on wake up calls to be sure we had indeed woken up.
The city bus system is easy, abundant, and seemed relatively safe. I always told the driver as soon as we got on the bus where our destination was and they generally called it out so we knew when to get off. We never took a taxi, but I heard, and the Palace staff re-inforced the importance of negotiating a fare before you get in the taxi. If you take the city bus to Wet N Wild, just be aware that only about 10% of the buses go that far, and you need to look for a sign in their window indicating such, so plan accordingly.
By the time we arrived, the beach replenishment effort seemed complete at least as far as the eye could see in either direction. Very expansive (and pretty clean) beach in front of the hotel, in addition to the nice main infinity pool and two rooftop pools geared towards adults. Very energetic Palace staff coordinated a variety of poolside activities throughout the day and there was nightly entertainment.
The most annoying aspect of the trip was that just about everyone was looking for a tip, from the guy who took your luggage 100 ft from the airport to the shuttle to every tour guide or bus driver. I understand and respect that tourism is about the only economic driver for this area, but the expectation for a tip for anything got old really quickly, although the requests were always made respectfully.
Our Spanish was meager at best, but it wasn't a problem since this resort area seems predominantly geared towards Americans and the dollar. Most everything was dually quoted in pesos and dollars. Be careful, though, when you convert because the conversion rate varies greatly depending up where you do it.
Overall, the trip was marvelous, and a great chance to make some family memories. The few negatives were relatively minor and did not diminish the adundance of positive experiences we had. I would not hesitate for a moment recommending Beach Palace to family or friends, and I would without hesitation stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LifesGoodInVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,017
    1,223
    357
    92
    82
See reviews for
2,420
1,850
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Room- tile floor, clean, crisp, bathtub right in the middle of room.

Pool - swim up bar, but a little small, but really pretty

Beach - amazing

Service - great

Food - Great

Spa- Great

VERY PLEASED

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank true11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msp,mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The beach is back!! The Restoration of the beach in Cancun is back! It is about 100 to 150 meters in depth or about 300 to 400 feet from the hotel pool to the ocean. It is about a 4 foot drop but they will be grading it.. On Christmas day they even were working on the beach they were as far as cancun palace resort. The Beach Palace Resort is simply beautiful. The staff from the housekeepers to the waiters everyone so kind always smiling and happy, bringing you your next drink at the pool even before you had the other empty. and very clean at the pool bar they had a dishwasher where they put all the plastic 16 oz glasses in the dishwasher, they make your sandwich or pizza after you order it at thre pool. all food was refrigerated. there are 3 main restaurants in the evening in which you order offa menu, and 1 buffett. all were wonderful, never had the same meal twice and could have stayed longer to enjoy all the choices. we also went to the Cancun Palace 2 evenings. When staying at a Palace resort you may enjoy all the pools, restaurants, entertainment, shows, bars at all Palce resorts. Also there are 7 different tours included. We did the Tulum tour. Also all phone calls to USA, Canada included free of charge. Ladies you will feel like a Queen the whole week. Chair pulled out for you, napkin placed on your lap. I was there Dec 21-28 with only my teenage son. was treated with the utmost respect by all staff. Nothing bad to state about this resort. Actually a couple staying at Dreams Resort stated they had come for a 1 day pass and enjoyed this resort very much.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerdays81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Beach---restored and ready to go...Hotel help is the best we have experienced...food is very good...tours offered by the hotel are very long to the Ruins from 7 am to 7 pm..lagoon view room is fine with good visability of the lights at night...buses are easy to use to get from one palace hotel to the next(Cancun and Sun Palace)..activities are a lot of fun...they have a new relationship with Wnydham as they are not getting enough guests here...in summary...this is a very relaxing, first class place that you will enjoy...we time shared in and paid the money for the all inclusive which means all food, drinks, and free phone calls to the USA--price was $1251 for 2 for one week which is not dirt cheap but worth the convenience of all inclusive. We booked ground trans thru Palace Resorts web site which is better than fighting with all the hub bub at the airport.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fishfearmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We just returned from a week long vacation to Cancun 23 years after honeymooning there. Needless to say, nothing was recognizable! We chose this hotel because of the reviews claiming it was small and left you feeling like you were part of a family. After being there, that is no exaggeration. Anyone with complaints about this hotel is spoiled and pampered beyond reality. The people who work here wait on you hand and foot and appreciate any attempt to get to know them on a personal basis. Our kids became fast friends with the workers on the pool top areas and made a special trip up to say goodbye on the morning we left. Our only complaint was with the trips the hotel arranged as they spent time at souvenir places when more time was desired at the trip's ultimate destination. All in all, we had a great Christmas, and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyWillyRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

My famly and I went to Beach Palace for my wedding. Items that I purchased and traveled with were stolen by hotel staff members and amazingly returned days later after I requested $100 per item. For the dinner that was planned there was a bug in my father-in-law's food which was embarassing. The hotel charged my card triple times for services I didn't even purchase, so I racked up on internatinal calling fees trying to settle that dispute. Cancun is a beautiful place but the Palace Resorts are not right for you if you are striving for trust, perfection, and is seeking to have a good time. I hear the Me, Hilton, Marriott, and Secret's Resorts are nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank USAbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We just returned from a week at the Beach Palace, and the resort has many wonderful qualities. The staff are outstanding, whether it's the front desk, the restaurant staff, or the housekeeping personnel. They try very hard to make your stay pleasant and memorable. Security is excellent at the BP.

The variety and quality of food was better than I expected for an AI, but you won't find great cuts of beef here or endless selections of seafood - try one of the local restaurants for that. I recommend the Crab House down the street a mile or two for seafood.

The rooms are attractive, but the in-room jacuzzi takes up a third of the space, so the room did not seem as spacious as I had pictured. But the beachfront view was wonderful, especially with the beach restoration completed at this location. There is now a very wide and beautiful beach in front of the BP.

All beachfront rooms also face the pool, and almost every night they lower a giant screen by the pool and show movies, concert footage, or have some other activity. If you like constant activity and don't mind the loud music, etc., then you will like this hotel. If you're looking for a quiet beachfront room, you may want to look at some of the other resorts.

We took a couple of the tours arranged by the hotel because it was a free part of our package. While it saved us money, I recommend you check out some of the privately operated tours - the tour operators hired by the Palace Resorts are always trying to steer guests to specific vendors on Isla Mujeras and other destinations, which becomes obvious and annoying after awhile.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaroVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
2.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,922 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#10 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Palace

Property: Beach Palace
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cancun
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a sensational family vacation resort look no further. A beautiful stretch of white sand, premier location in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone close to La Isla shopping and entertainment options, and the modern facilities of Beach Palace create the perfect combination for an unforgettable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Palace Cancun
Beach Palace Hotel Cancun
Beach Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing