We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach - Short Visit”
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Palace
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach - Short Visit”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We visited this property for an afternoon while staying at Moon Palace. A free shuttle will take people to visit other Palace Resorts in the area. This was an exploratory visit for us as we stay in the area several times a year, and were curious to see if this might offer a good option for a future adults only trip. Answer...yes...we'd stay there for sure.

We visited the beach (stunning), there pools (pretty good), and their buffet restaurant. It had been raining quite a bit, and they had stacked the beach chairs away, but when the sun came out they were doing there best to get everything back out for people to use. There is a ton of beach and you can walk in either direction and enjoy the scenery. They had beach volleyball going on as well. The pool area offers a few different areas to relax, with a number of bars. I think this area could get very crowded when the property is busy.

The buffet restaurant offered indoor and outdoor dining options, with some beautiful views of the ocean. Food was excellent with many different options, and we particularly liked that you could select whatever type of meat (beef, chicken, pork, tuna, etc) you wanted cooked, and they'd prepare it for you. Lots of fresh vegetables and fruits.

As with all the Palace resorts, the staff are amazing. After swimming at the beach and then the pool, we got changed in a change area off the pool. A staff member noticed that my wife was trying to figure out how best to pack away our wet gear in our day-pack, and ran and grabbed her a plastic back to ensure everything else didn't get soaked. Very thoughtful. I think that one of Palace resorts greatest assets, is their staff.

This is a small resort, so if we decide to visit in the future, we'll only go for a week. If it happened to be a two-week vacation, we'd book a week here, and then a week at Moon Palace as we'd definitely go stir-crazy in such a small space. But Sun Palace will definitely be in the running for a future adults only trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
You will be very welcome for as long as you deem to stay.

We're only too happy that our resort convinced you more because of its service and scenery than its size but to each their own.

I rather like it when people from other Palace resorts come to take a look and decide that it is worth a try to stay. I will be very interested when you stay here to learn if we lived up to your expectations. I am quite convinced we should rise over and above.

Always happy to be of assistance,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,336
    1,150
    343
    94
    50
See reviews for
151
5,021
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sun Palace May 17th to 24th, we are members this was our second stay at Sun Palace. We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary and my retirement after 28 years in Law Enforcement. Check-in was quick and we were able to upgrade to a Presidential Suite, this was afforded us because we had inquired about upgrading to concierge level. We were advised that no concierge level rooms were available but we could upgrade to a presidential suite at the same price of concierge level. Me and my wife didn't hesitate in upgrading.

Within hours of check-in a chocolate cake wishing us "Happy 29th Anniversary" and a bottle of white wine was delivered to the room. Nice touch!

The suite was impressive and having the additional space was a big plus. The main balcony overlooked the the Thai restaurant and had a nice view of the ocean and had two lounger beds on it. The second balcony which had a jacuzzi tub faced the lagoon.

Food was great all week, loved the fresh grilled fish at the pool area for lunch. We ate at all four restaurants and never had a bad meal. The Italian restaurant was outstanding and we dined there twice. Sushi at the Thai restaurant was also very good. Lots of great options at at the breakfast buffet, everything from omelets and pancakes to Mexican dishes and fresh fruit.

We used some of our credits on the Art of Wine and the Chef's dinner. The wine tasting was very informative and was well presented by the Resort's Wine Sommelier. Different wines were paired with food courses and each was outstanding.
We also attended the Chef's Dinner and while the food was very good the same can not be said for the young man who emceed the event. He seemed lost at times, and on a few occasions as the head chef gave a lengthy explanation about the dishes he was preparing the emcee failed to translate what the chef said and just looked at the audience and said "ok".

Used the Spa once for a couples citrus massage.......It was awesome.

The Staff are truly remarkable hard working people and we have always appreciated their efforts when visiting Palace Resorts. Almost everyone you encounter greets you with a smile and kind words. We appreciate the service they provide because we certainly don't get this kind of service on a regular basis back home. Vanessa and the rest of the entertainment staff do a great job with the activities during the day and at the nightly entertainment.
We spent most of our nights hanging out in the lobby bar which was manned by three outstanding workers, bartenders Norberto and Ignacio and server Mario. The lobby bar seemed to be the nightly destination after the show of the night had ended. Most nights the bar was packed and Norberto and Ignacio handled a volume of drink orders that would have overwhelmed most bartenders, without a flaw. It was impressive watching them work. Mario quickly got the drink orders delivered to the crowd, these guys operated like a well oiled machine.

The only issue we had all week was with our vacation rep and the normal persistence to attend the "reception" AKA sales pitch/ membership upgrade pitch. This in no way dampened our spirits, nor spoiled our vacation. This issue was addressed via email and was quickly answered by management....Kudos to you Señor Winkler.

While on the subject of Señor Winkler......we observed him at lest four times during our stay roaming the resort, making observations and interacting with workers and guests. One morning while at breakfast we observed him talking to workers and pointing out an area of the buffet station. The next morning we noticed the buffet was laid out differently and the new layout made the one omelette station much less congested. No doubt it was what Mr. Winkler was talking to the workers about. Its good to see a General Manager being so pro-active and continuously looking for ways to improve his product.

Overall it was another outstanding Palace Resorts Vacation....its a vacation we look forward to all year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
You gave us two reasons to celebrate with you. We had a blast serving you.

It is certainly our honor to have been able to provide a satisfying holiday, very well deserved.

The best part of my days is roaming around the resort and talking to my guests-who always seem to have a kind comment or an intelligent suggestion- and also my staff, The main perk of a GM is that you can be nice to everyone. People usually think well of GMs for this reason.

Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests. It will be a great pleasure to see you back in a foreseeable future.

With best regards,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Everything was nice!, Gustavo,Mario,Patricia were so awesome. One of the host I do not remember the name,but he always said" I like my job"were so good. Leonarda and Miguel in the oriental restaurant made a great sushi. All the employees were so freaking nice. Patricia send to my room petal of roses and a cake for my bd. I will go back. ...... The bed was very comfortable ,the shower was very big

Room Tip: The corner room are large and has to balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
So glad you had a nice celebration!

Our patrons have many things to celebrate: Birthdays, anniversaries,weddings, etc.. We are only to happy to provide the means for a great few days.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you are satisfied, name a couple of our employees who thereby will be recognized and hopefully think about returning again.

With best wishes,

pwinkler@palacersorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Spent 6 nights at Sun Palace. Very relaxing and enjoyable. We love the beach and it was perfect! Plenty of comfy lounge chairs, clean sand and incredible blue water, great margaritas and service! Pool areas nice too, with plenty of shade when you've had enough sun.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Enjoyable and relaxing...that description certainly fits the bill.

I would like to compliment you on your comment of "having enough sun". This is such an important observation. Sometimes our guests forget that too much exposure can ruin your experience. Especially, on windy days when your skin does not feel hot...but wait until nightfall when you look lobster-like. Not fun.

We appreciate your patronage and the time you have taken to tell us about it. Hopefully this will be conducive to another stay in the near future.

With our warmest thanks,

pwinkler@palacereosts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sun Palace Resort from May 24th-May 29th. From our check-in to our departure, everything was wonderful! We stayed at Moon Palace is 2012 which is nice, but caters to families; which worked great for us then since our children went with us. Sun Palace, however, caters to couples. It's nice and quaint, which is what we tend to like. The staff goes out of their way to appease every guest and the very few requests in which we had, were accommodated with no questions asked. I can't remember all of the name of the great personnel there, but Jose, Silvia, Daniel and Fernanda extended great hospitality. We attended the Michael Jackson show one night and the MJ look-alike was absolutely fabulous. MJ would've been proud. The food was excellent. I don't understand some of the complaints from previous visitors, but to each his own. Our refrigerator was always stocked plentifully. The hotel even went out of their way to give us complimentary champagne and cake the night of our anniversary. Lastly, the photographer on staff during our stay was Erick. He took great strides in ensuring that our photo shoot was to our liking and our photographs were absolutely stunning. Special thanks to Mr. Winkler who also assisted in ensuring that our stay was pleasurable. We will be back! PS- Kudos to the Housekeeping staff; they kept our room spotless and came in twice a day. They truly work hard for their money so if you're ever there, I suggest tipping because they do an outstanding job as is the case with all of the workers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
And may you see every trip as this one.

Each return should be better than the trip before but now you know the staff at Sun Palace.

Thank you for such beautiful words, it does make us feel very special.

Remember we are always at your behest,

Best wishes

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent Memorial Day weekend in Cancun and enjoyed every moment of the trip. Once you arrive at the Sun Palace; the hotel staff makes you feel welcome. The check in is quick and efficient. The rooms are in good condition and very comfortable. Great views! The hotel has a turn down service in the evening and a staff member will check and see if you need your refrigerator re-stocked. The hotel also has a transportation service that will take you to and from the airport for a nominally fee. The transportation is outside, to the right after you clear customs. Once you clear customs, put your blinders on, because there will be people pretending to be looking out for you and checking to make sure you have transportation to your hotel. They have no interest in this; the only interest is getting you hooked on a timeshare. So be aware of that. Other than that; the food at Sun Palace is excellent as is the staff that works in all the restaurants. We will defiantly return to the Sun Palace.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on the higher floors to take full advantage of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We certainly give out best effort to make you happy.
I am glad in your case we succeeded.

We do offer Airport transportation but where otherwise specifically mentioned it is not included.

And thank you for mentioning these "vultures" that make your arrival such a disagreeable situation I am sure this will make others aware.

Cordially,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is was our second time at sun palace.. We spent our honeymoon there last year had such a good time we brought 4 other couples back with us this time.. We absolutely love it there! The food is excellent, the atmosphere is amazing & the entertainment staff is hands down the best of the best!! We can't say enough about how great the entertainment staff is there..now we can't even imagine going anywhere else and not returning to them.. Truly wonderful group!! They made our experience that much better!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devin_stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
When we receive this kind of comment our day is a good one.

The real "acid test" is not the first but subsequent visits. I strongly feel that if you found us to be steady in our service quality it simply is because we are doing good by you.

Thank you for very kind words and for giving us your trust, which never should change.

Warm salutations,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
6.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
5.0 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 175 in Cancun
5,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,033 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 175 in Cancun
9,150 reviews
12.5 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Property: Sun Palace
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing