We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOR COUPLES WANTING A QUIET EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Palace
Ranked #11 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Lousville, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR COUPLES WANTING A QUIET EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed at most of the Palace Resorts in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen. This resort was quiet, had great food, and was located close to the airport while still on the bus line. The rooms were very nice and the service was impeccable. It was very close to the experience of the Playacar Palace in Playa Del Carmen without the frustration of parents not watching over their children. As a seasoned traveler that has stayed in many luxury resorts in Mexico, I highly recommend the Sun Palace. I can't imagine how anyone would give the resort a negative review.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to Concierge Level. Much larger balcony and more amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timeforfunLousville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Truer words hath never been spoken.

Exactly what we are. Couples, manifold: Young, old, medium who are fed up of daily toil and noise. That is where we've specialized.

And this we can deliver: Personalized, friendly and discreet service. Always taking in to consideration that our guests come here to escape and respecting each person's individual view of how to make the best of these days of solace.

Right on the dot!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,228
    1,129
    337
    94
    49
See reviews for
149
4,898
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
agent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Sun Palace. I cannot say enough good things about this resort. It is WONDERFUL. The hotel is beautiful and immaculate. The service is the best we have ever had at any hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They sincerely go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy. A shout out to the following outstanding employees:

Karina and Jose who served us delicious cocktails on the beach and Maria who did likewise at the pool...

Allen who was the cutest, friendliest waiter at Trotto...

Outstanding service in the spa from Sandra, Irma, Lulu, and Monica....best facial and massage I have ever had...wonderful!

The food was very good everywhere. It was heavenly having room service for breakfast. (You can actually have room service anytime...we just enjoyed having it for breakfast!)

We definitely want to return to the Sun Palace!

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy the spa while you are there....fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jjgwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Why, thank you! Very complimentary words to our resort.

You are very kind to mention some of the outstanding people that are around to take care of you and yes, Room Service is one of the most popular outlets. It is nice to have a meal or two in your room, breakfast in bed or dinner on the terrace. It certainly adds to the romanticism that we like to have envelop our guests.

It is obvoius that you came here to relax and made the best of it. Relaxation is our speciality. And romantic relaxation is our best kept secret.

So don't be shy. Come back soon. We will be waiting for you.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wow-if you have never had an All-adult experience, you have to do this. Super clean property, staff makes you feel like royalty and great food. There are a couple of negatives, consider keeping the pool bar open later (6pm is NOT long enough) yeah, some people are ready to go in at this time, but others are just getting cranked up! The night life is boring. I went to bed one night at 9.... You must get bottled beer and keep it cold. The draft beer is warm and tasteless....
The only time I did not like the food was the 'romantic dinner' on the beach....it was gross, went straight to the buffet afterwards.
Service is simply impeccable. I asked for crazy stuff and they never once told me no. Overall, great trip and will bring more friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pepper124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
If you stay in a Palace you should be treated like a blue-blood.
Thank you for feeling this way with us.

On the subject of keeping the pool bar open until later: I've had this request before and to be perfectly honest, gone along with it. But as a business I am subject to monetary considerations and staffing is one of them. After a few try-outs on this, we had to recant. It just isn't feasible to have a bar staffed for 2 or 3 couples if any. Chemicals must be added nightly to our pools to keep them clean and clear and lastly, as many rooms are on this side or the resort, we start getting complaints of noise. The pool bar, next to the quiet pool and steak restaurant is open till 10:30 at night, though.

We did have an issue with one of the draft beer machines which now has been taken care of. I do apologize.

If, however, your end consideration is to return, I trust you had a pleasant time. Let me know when you plan to come back. The second chance is always better than the first.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just returned from Cancun after visiting Sun Palace resort. This was our first trip to Cancun and wont be the last. This place is amazing! We arrived at the resort at 9:30am knowing that our room may not be ready until 3pm. We were offered champagne during our check-in process (nice touch). From the time we entered through the doors to completing the check-in process took only 30mins. Margarita did a great job explaining everything and answering all of our questions. During check-in she thoroughly explained the resort credits in detail indicating that we would have to pay an 11% tax on all credits used. We stayed 7days so we received 1500 credits. If we used them all we would only have to pay $165 at check-out. Some people complain about this but if you ask me this is a very good deal since the credits can be used for all sorts of different things including excursions that can cost upwards of $500 if you were to schedule them without the credits. After check-in they said if we were hungry we could could go down and eat and then swim while our room was being prepared. We took advantage of this. After eating, taking in the amazing views of the ocean and swimming we went to the front desk to see if their was a chance our room might be ready early and it was. We entered our room at 12pm, three hours early. When we scheduled the trip we bought a package off my sister who is a member so we received the concierge level. I highly recommend to upgrade to this level. The only issue we had with the room was the toilet would not fill back up so it wouldn't flush. I called the front desk and they arrived 5mins later and replaced the valve in the tank which fixed the issue. Very fast response. The next thing we did was go down and plan a few excursions with Michael. He did a great job of being up front about which excursions were worth doing and which ones would tie up your whole day. We ended up taking excursions to Telum and Isla Marjares. Telum was amazing and Ova was excellent at explaining the Myan culture to everyone. Isla was equally amazing to see. While at Isla we visited the Palace resort there and had lunch and went swimming. This is a much smaller resort which only has 60 rooms and at the time only had 12 couples staying there. We basically had the pool to ourselves at noon on a hot day. We also visited the Beach Palace slightly further down on the Cancun strip and had lunch. We were going to go swimming but it was very crowded with kids (this is fine if your traveling with kids). We decided to go back to our awesome resort to swim instead. We also took a public bus into town to do a little shopping. The bus is only $1 per person. I will say that taking the bus can be an experience. Their should be more Mexican's in Nascar. They drive very fast. Just try not to pay attention to their driving and take in the sights and you wont get nervous. The shopping experience in the flea market section towards the end of Cancun is something you have to do. Most everything starts at a high price and you bardar down from there. A good rule of thumb is to settle for about half of the original price. Ok, back to the resort. The food in the resort was excellent. I highly recommend the Asian and Mexican ones. We were'nt able to attend the Italian restaurant because my brother-in-law did not bring slacks which they require at this restaurant. Not a big deal since you have so many choices. They also have a steak dinner outside every night. All the food was amazing and prepared perfectly. The waiters are great and will accommadate you in any way. We also had a romantic dinner on the beach during the fire show, awesome! The hotel has something planned during the day all day long in the activity pool as well as in the lobby bar every night. We participated in water volleyball, blackjack in the pool, bingo in the pool, water aerobics and trivia. They also have beach volleyball going on a few times throughout the day. At night the lobby bar has an event every night. They had karaoke, game show night, couples night and a Michael Jackson tribute. All were very good. It seemed like everything we attended we went into a little half-hearted and had a great time. We met many new friends and had a wonderful time. We can't wait to go back to room 621. Thanks to everyone at the Sun Palace resort for making our vacation one we will never forget!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor in room 621 and had no complaints. Room are beautiful! Beds are comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Very good composition. You have the makings of a writer. I read your description in one breath.

I am very happy to have been able to be the backdrop to a very nice trip as per your words. A lot of this goes back to you. Without a doubt you are easy going and ready for new experiences. You know you are in a foreign country and took full advantage of the sensations and adventures that travelling offers. Visited places that you wouldn't find anywhere else, rode the bus, haggled with the trinkets vendors and while there were some disappointments, such as the dress code you didn't let that become an issue or for that matter, dispensed with any kind of issues in favor of getting the best out of your hard-earned money which you did and passed with flying colors.

What a wonderful way of seeing and living life. The best!

We will be awaiting your return. There's so much yet to do, experience and feel...

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I were at Sun Palace July 10-18 and had an amazing time. At check in we were told that we had been upgraded to a Jr. Suite....we didn't even have to ask...great start! Katarina and Jose Daniel provided exceptional service at the beach each day. Katarina new exactly what we wanted and many times brought it to us before we asked. Daniel, the lifeguard on the beach, made us feel special and when he seen us coming would immediately find us a lounger and positioned the umbrella perfectly. Thanks for the beautiful seashells you found for us! Mario in the lobby bar also brought us our preferred beverage when he seen us come in for the evening entertainment.
The resort was in good shape, you can see some areas are aging, but it is very clean. The smell in the lobby throughout the day is amazing...I forgot to ask what it was. Maybe someone can respond and let me know.
The quality and variety of food was great! We didn't eat the same thing the entire time we were there. All of the staff in all of the restaurants were exceptional! They really make you feel special.
We will return and recommend this resort due to the quality of staff at Sun Palace. The staff we met work really hard and we recognize their hard work with tips. We wouldn't receive excellent service in the US and walk away without tipping and the service at Sun Palace is above and beyond.
We look forward to returning perhaps in February.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willwork4vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I wonder if you are the person I met one evening at the lobby who was so complimentary about the aroma we pipe in. This is one of those little details that distinguishes Palace Resorts from others and it has been a long trek to get the right combination of odors. I am very happy you noticed!

We do our best to maintain our building and facilities throughout the year. There are certain things that have to be put on hold, simply because the occupancy has been so amazing. Projects that may cause noise or other disturbances to our clients have to wait untill such time as we can seal off given areas completely without affecting our product. However safety and well-being are never, ever compromised.

We will hold you to your promise of returning in February. May I suggest you make your reservations soon as this is one of our busiest months?

Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 15 year anniversary at the Sun Palace (we also never had a Honeymoon, so it served two purposes). I cannot say enough about this property and its staff. Outstanding in every way. The hotel was extremely clean (someone is constantly cleaning something) and the staff was the friendliest we have ever encountered - ANYWHERE. My wife commented, "It's a shame that we've lost this kind of customer service in the U.S." Special thanks to the entertainment staff: Jose, Augustin and the rest of the team - what a fun bunch! As I've read in other reviews, a special shout-out to Daniel the lifeguard: what an amazing resource! He's tremendous! My wife fell in love with Jussif the waiter. What a great smile and he was tremendous at helping us with our Spanish lessons. Finally, the unsung heroes of this hotel - the housekeeping/maintenance staff. Incredible. Simply incredible. They are underappreciated by many, but I believe they are the backbone of this hotel. If you're considering Cancun for a couples getaway - go to the Sun Palace - period.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top (eighth) floor, overlooking the pool. Very quiet and comfortable with a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim3972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Very endearing words for this resort. Thank you!

Actually, the travel industry is studded with gems. I would dare say everywhere. These -as you so aptly describe- "unsung heroes" are ladies and gentlemen who've found out their vocation is precisely in serving others.

I am very glad you had a good stay at Sun Palace. Will pass on your special mentions of those kids in the staff who went over and beyond for you and hopefully will enjoy the privilige of hosting you again in the near future.

With our warmest sentiments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank,ill.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our 19th year at sun palace, and just as Beatiful as always.
Another 10 days enjoyed at the Pool,Beach,Restaurants Bars and Spa.
Pablo Winkler, You have an Amazing Staff. We cannot say enough about the Waiters,Bartenders,Supervisors, Security,Guest services, Maintanance and Housekeepers.
Also Pedro (Pool Maintainance),Daniel,(Lifeguard). And all the Tiredless Entertainment Staff!!!!!
Food as always was Delicious,Plenty of Great Cocktails, Wonderfull Entertainment to enjoy each day..
We Love Our Family at Sun Palace!!!!!!
Special Thanks To Mr. Jaime Ortega,Front Desk Manager, We wish you much Happiness as you Retire.,You will always be in our Hearts!
Mr. Edgar Poot ,Executive Chef,Bravo, The Best! Loved the Lamb Chops....
Mr. Pablo Winkler,General Manager,You are Great,Keep up the Good Work,Love you.
Hope to see Everyone next July.

THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES AT THE SUN PALACE........
Kenn and Kathy Krug

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Did I tell you you get more beautiful by the year?

I miss you guys and my staff does too. Guests like yourselves are precious. And there are a few.

Our latest photograph is sitting on my desk right before my eyes, to remind me in difficult situations how lucky I am to be working in this place with such a talented team for mainly such vistors as yourselves. You simply make it worthwhile!

SALUDOS from everyone and their dog & parrott. Love ya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
6.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,605 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,593 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#17 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Property: Sun Palace
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing