We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quandry!!”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just thoroughly enjoyed a week at the Ibserostar Cancun.
We were allocated a good room with a french balcony on the 5th floor with direct views of the sea. Although we overlooked the roof of the conference centre the view was excellent.
The room was large with two double beds and tea-coffee making facilities. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower was excellent. The room was cleaned thoroughly and the fridre re-stocked every day.
We dined in all week and found the buffet to be good. Breakfast was the best meal of the day and dinner was our least favourite - but we always found something decent to eat. The staff in the restaurant were attentive and extremely polite. Israel was great and I wish to thank him very much.
The a l carte dining was ok (ish). We did not enjoy the Mexican and found the food and service to be below par. The gourmet was ok with a good starter but the main course and the dessert was a little disappointing as compared to other ibersotar fine dining expereinces we've had. The steak house was good and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.
The beach was amazing and you could always find a nice spot to sunbathe and chill out. The beach staff provided excellent service. We only used the pool area intermittently and always found a nice spot to relax at the end of day.
Up to now I would have give this resort a 4.5 or 5.
Unfortunatly, one issue marred the whole of our holiday. Mid week we found that money had been stolen from our safe. We had taken over 8750 pesos and during our first few days we had tipped and had approximly spend about 300-350 pesos. When I checked our money on the we found we only had 6000 pesos left. Where had all the money gone as we had been extremely carefull to re-lock the safe every time we'd used it. Customer services responded quickly to our complaint and many forms were filled! They came to the room took photographs, checked the safe with a special tool, tampered with the door and questioned us thoroughly. The person in charge was Fernando. He duly told us that he would investigate our complaint thoroughly. We contacted our holiday representative and we do know that she spoke to Fernando. He promised us an update the following day. This never happened and he ignored us every time he saw us. On the day of our departure we had to approach him and ask for an update and his response was as follows - 'there is no record of anyone opening your safe and I have told your rep!' This conversation took place 5 minutes before our airport shuttle arrived and his explanations made no sense at all. We certainly felt we were being phobed off as we know for a fact that there is a way of by-passing the electrionic system if you have a master key. Due to the timing we could not question him further and could not ask to speak to a superior. His conduct and attention to customer service was attrocious and this the first time I have mentioned a person by name when posting negative comments. This is not the first time a theft has taken place at this hotel (see 09/12). In that instance that lady lost money from her case. We duly followed the correct procedure and put money in the safe and we were made to feel that we had made a mistake and this is totally unacceptable when you pay good money for a week in the sun. In retrospect,we should have contacted the local police.
I therefore have no choice but to give my review a one star. To all readers please take of your money and I do hope that procedures in relation to keeping customers informed in relation to investigation is improved with immediate effect. Thankfully, I have not experieced this kind of treatment before and in fact when staying at an Iberostar in the Dominican Republic we arrived late evening to find that our booking had been lost. We were taken at our word and were place in a gorgeous suite for the evening free of charge. Reception staff duly sorted our problem out the following day and kept us fully informed at all time.

Room Tip: any room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank cymrobangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your vacation experience. We really appreciate your comments, as well as your lovely description of our resort features.

We are very sorry to hear that such a lovely holiday turned into a less favorable one.

Please know that our hotel management has taken very seriously your experience, and an investigation took place immediately after the report was made. Our Security Department has to follow several steps: for example, each time the safe door is opened, this is recorded, so it is possible to see the exact times it happened and match this with the opening of the room door, which is also recorded. Therefore nobody can enter the room or open the safe without us being able to track it.

We deeply apologize about the fact that our customer service representatives did not update you as it should have been done in a case like this when you are understandably worried. Also, we would like to clarify that the investigation process takes 48 hours, so once again please accept our apologies if that was not explained at the time. Please be sure that your feedback has been shared with the involved departments for the appropriate follow-up and actions are being taken at present to improve the handling of situations like these, which we hope will not happen again. New procedures are being implemented for our Public Relations and Front Desk team, as well as their training where the communication with our guests is reinforced.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future and change the perception you have from our hotel.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,182 - 2,188 of 4,717 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have been to a lot of all inclusive resorts and what makes one stand out from another is the service. Overall the resort was gorgeous and clean. The buffet restaurant and Marguey servers were excellent along with housekeeping and the active crew. The front desk guy Antonio only gave me one internet password and log in only to find out a few days later that we needed one for each person. He was aware that there were two of us when I asked for Internet access. When making reservations, I was only allowed to make 2 for my stay. I asked if I could come back tomorrow and make another one. Fernando stated that I would have to come at 15 minutes past reservation times too see if there are cancellations. Of course I had spoken with other people and they were able to go back the next day and make more. Lying whether by omission or on purpose is not acceptable. I have stayed at a iberostar resort before which is why I decided on it again. It is was very disappointing.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay, every feedback we receive is very valuable for us.

Regarding your comments about our front desk and guest service staff, we apologize for the discomfort that you had. We would like to inform you that we are taking part in several initiatives and programs for the reinforcement of training of our employees in specific areas or situations in order to have the complete satisfaction of our guests.

Regarding dinner reservations, we will verify the situation in order to reinforce our customer service; however we would like to mention that availability depends on the amount of clients we have at the hotel at the time. Sometimes guests that make reservations do not show up, and after a few minutes we are able to give their tables away, this is way we sometimes kindly ask our guests who want certain restaurant that is apparently full, to come 15 minutes later in case if have a cancelation. We apologize for the inconvenience, you can be sure we are continuously working on improving our services as our main purpose is to completely satisfy our guests.

We hope you give us the opportunity to host you in a future, to change the perception you have received and show you the great service we are able to provide.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I traveled with my mom to the resort, and we had the best vacation ever! The room had a gorgeous view, the activities were incredibly fun, and the shows were spectacular every night. The hotel's best assets, however, are it's staff members. Upon arriving at the hotel, Diego and Maria at the front desk helped us with our rooms and directed us to the breakfast buffet as our room was being cleaned. In the dining hall, we met Israel, Alejandro, and Javier. They are three of the kindest, most hard-working people that we have ever met. The cleaning crew was stellar. In the "Vertigo" bar, Luis was a fantastic bar tender; he was always smiling and offered terrific drink suggestions. The bartenders at the swim-up pool bar were a delight, as well. At the pool, the people collectively known as the "Star Friends" truly provided "excellent entertainment." Omar, Jesus, Erik, Arturo, Carlos, Stephanie, and Paula were consistently upbeat and enthusiastic as they organized the activities and invited everyone to participate. They also did a wonderful job in the shows each night. In addition, the dancers certainly showcased their skills on a nightly basis. Oscar and Francisco were especially spectacular and even danced with us after the shows. Collectively, the location, staff, and activities made this our favorite vacation! We had so much fun; we can't wait to return!

Signed,
Sally and Jamie(Alicia) from Detroit

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DETROIT_GIRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback, we are really happy to hear you and your mom had a fantastic escape with us and that we were able to make you feel totally pleased.

This is the kind of vacation we aim to offer our guests, so we love to know our guest did get this great impression from our hotel and staff service.

We hope to see you and your family very soon in a near future!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My friend and I traveled for the second time to Mexico for a 8 day vacation. Last year, we made the mistake of booking the Oasis Sens in which we checked in on a Wednesday at 2 PM and were gone to Live Aqua by the following Friday at 11:30 AM. You can read that review on Trip Advisor with a date of April 2013 (do not EVER STAY AT OASIS SENS)!!!!

So given what happened last year, we were hesitant to stray from what we already knew, i.e. Live Aqua, but that was not in our budget this time around. We got off the plane and headed straight to the bar (because who doesn’t want to grab a few cocktails for the trip over to the hotel?)!. There is a bar right outside the airport (both terminals), or you can find the guys with the carts selling beers (WAY cheaper, but they are located near the busses/vans that transport you to your resort).

The AMSTAR peeps (very nice) took us the short ride to hotel from airport (12-15 minutes). We arrived and were greeted very pleasantly by the bell guys. Upon entering the lobby, we couldn’t help but notice how beautiful and meticulous everything was, not to mention the most amazing, clean smell we have ever encountered! Dana at the front desk greeted us and checked us right in; although our room wasn’t ready, she gave us the map, the activities list, our bracelets and our luggage tags and told us to come back in about 30 minutes to grab our room keys! We definitely expected this as we got there at 1:00 & check in isn’t until 3:00. No biggie - we went and checked out the property. There are 7 different pools - ranging from the kiddie pool to the large swim up infinity pool. The pools are all beautiful. You can choose to be at a quieter side/area or a more towards the center of the action. We stopped at the snack bar and ordered a drink and a hot dog. The snack bar is available all day until 6 if you are just looking for a quick snack (just hot dogs/hamburgers/cheeseburgers). There is no food service at the pool, which is a bummer (and probably our only “observation – not complaint, but I wish we could have had snacks around the pool). God forbid we get off our @$$ to go get lunch – LOL!!! We ate and went back to check on the room and as Dana promised, it was ready! We also were greeted with a nice refreshing cocktail (non-alcoholic I think) when we were waiting to get our room key. We thought that was such a nice touch!

We then proceeded to our room, which was located on the 2nd floor( Technically 4th). We had a great ocean view with Balcony (room 253 – though we did pay more for this upon booking). The room was large and clean and I personally liked that the room had a separate sink area in the bathroom that was outside of the toilet/shower area. The balcony was perfect with 2 chairs and a table to chill out after a day at the pool or the beach. The view was really great; it overlooked the crowds, pools, ocean & even the other side of the property at night when the sun was going down.

The pools were great- very clean with nice water and temperature was great (it was actually refreshing and not too hot). There is a huge infinity pool with a swim up bar in the middle of the property. The bartenders/servers all over the resort work SO hard and truly do everything they can to make sure you are having a good time.

There is a “sports” pool with basketball nets and volleyball so you can either play whenever you want, or wait until the hunky Iberostar Entertainment guys rope you into play in an organized game! The entertainment staff that works the pool all day is truly amazing; they exert so much personality and effort trying to get you to play beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water polo, football, bocce ball, archery – I mean, they really work hard to make sure you are having the best time ever. But a polite “No, gracias” works just fine and they don’t push it! A HUGE SHOUTOUT JESUS & CARLOS!! Eric & Omar were great, too, but Jesus & Carlos were our absolutely FAVORITES! You guys were great and you made our trip!

Chairs were not really an issue. We seemed to find ones around 930 every day and a few times we were stressed out because there were quite a bit of options and we didn’t want to pick the wrong ones for the day!

The beach is beautiful also – Cancun has the most gorgeous water I have ever seen! The sand is white, but not hot on your feet and the water is the most gorgeous combination of blue & green. The water was rough, so you have to be careful and pay attention to the flags, but it was very nice! There is a beach bar that you can go up to and there were plenty of chairs on the beach. Although to get the ones with an umbrella be prepared to get up early. We do have to say that we never tried for seats on the beach, but people we met throughout the week did. They seemed to have issues finding chairs at the beach even really early in the morning, but the afternoon we went down to the ocean, there seemed to be a good amount of open seats (though none with shade).

The food was good, too. We are not really “foodie” type of peeps (well, that isn’t what makes or breaks our vacation), so that being said, the food was good. The breakfast buffet in the morning is amazing! We had Joaquin most mornings and he was always super friendly and we loved to start the day off seeing his bright smile. He brought us water, coffee and mimosas right away! Big kudos to him! We also had Santos a few mornings as I think Joaquin’s wife had a baby and he was awesome as well. We were very lucky to have them!! The buffet always had American breakfast staples of eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, pancakes, French toast, etc. Fresh fruit everyday was nice, too! You could have eggs cooked anyway you wanted, especially if you didn’t like the scrambled eggs on the buffet. There was plenty of cereal, yogurt, pastries & bread choices every day, too!

For lunch, you can be super chill and just get hot dog/hamburger at the snack bar or head into the buffet. Lunch buffet again had something for everyone: pasta, pizza, salad, hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken & fries. Again plenty of variety. Dinner buffet is much like lunch, but there are usually a few more pasta choices and always some type of fish, chicken, steak, pork, turkey.

We booked 3 specialty restaurants right when we arrived – this is a must if you want to dine at the Steak Place, Mexican (we didn’t try this place and didn’t hear good things, but stopped by for a snack and the guacamole was AWESOME). We couldn’t get them until the end of our stay, but we took what we could get. We did the steak house twice and hibachi once. They were good, especially since for the first 5 nights we were at the buffet. At the Steak Restaurant, you went up to an appetizer buffet first, then you order your meal, then back to buffet for dessert. It was good, but considering we had to make a reservation for this place, I wasn’t impressed with the service. And it was never packed when we were in there, which I found to be odd (especially since we had fairly normal reservation times of 6:30/7 PM).

The Lobby has a bar on the first floor which was frequented by us every afternoon around 5 PM on our way back to the room from the pool. That was very lovely – the bartenders were awesome and by the second night, already knew our order! One night, one of the bartenders actually gave us a full bottle of wine! There is also had a nice little area outside the lobby bar area to sit & have a drink and/or a smoke. It is definitely big enough to meet up with friends you have meet along the way (shout out to Rue, Tre, Natalie, Ken, Stacie and Jamie!).

Pathetically, we can’t comment on the nightly entertainment, as when you start the day off with Mimosa at breakfast, we were usually dying for bed right after dinner! We heard it was fun, creative & well organized with a lot of variety. We have to give the staff SO MUCH credit as it is the same kids that are hustling around the pool all day are also working the nightly entertainment! They work so hard and are so, friendly (YOU’RE THE BEST JESUS & CARLOS). They clearly enjoy what they do! Thank you again to the Entertainment Staff – you truly made our vacation!!!!

Housekeeping did an amazing job everyday cleaning the room and always left some sort of “gift” on the bed from flowers to animals made out of towels! Thank you Kathi and Katie for always stocking us up with extra water, beer & coke zero!!!

In our opinion, the whole property was extremely well maintained. The staff went out of their way to make you have fun and be comfortable.

We used the spa as well. The space is nice and the massage was good for one of us and amazing for another (I had Brenda and she was EXCELLENT – and I have had a lot of massages throughout the country/world). The massages were a little pricey, but we were on vacation, so we figured what was another splurge!

All in all, this was a great vacation. We met some amazing people and the Entertainment Staff truly made this vacation for us. Definitely recommend this resort to anyone, especially if you have kids and want them to be entertained in a way that allows for people of all ages to mingle and participate. The only thing I would change is bar snacks around the pool, but again, that is more of an observation than a complaint.

Thank you, Iberostar!!!!
Amanda and Debbie from Boston

Room Tip: Oceanview Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dphickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations. We are happy to receive such positive comments.

We are glad to know you experienced a fantastic time with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and the recommendations given, you can be sure we take all of our guests’ comments very serious.

We look forward to your next visit at IBEROSTAR Cancun!

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location is amazing and it is truly a 5 star resort.
We really enjoyed:
-Excellent service (especially the Star Friends entertainers: the ones organizing all the activities, sports and social). They even have people taking care of your needs while you are on the beach.
-Great shows every night: we particularly enjoyed the magic show (Las Vegas like performance) and all the dance shows are amazing.
- Food is great, even the buffet as it had a large variety and diversity from one day to another
- All rooms have ocean view
- The hotel surroundings were great with a lot of nature
- Great activities to participate in every day (tennis, ping pong, volleyball, pool water sports, archery, riffle shooting, soccer, darts, dance, etc.)
- Great overall setup and placement of the pools, bars, restaurant, etc.

We highly recommend this for couples, families, friends that want to have a good, relaxing time and enjoy different activities throughout the day. Impossible to get bored and you don't feel the need to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
5  Thank junidiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

IBEROSTAR Cancun wants to thank you for the time you have taken to share with us and all the other reviewers your experience at our resort.

We are delighted to hear that you have had your best vacations ever. This is the kind of comments that really motivate us to continue improving and to keep working hard in order to contribute to our guests' happiness.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sunny regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Hotel view and general lobby area are "Good" everything else is average or poor including the food, service, amenities and the hotel room. I have stayed at a 5 star all inclusive for my past 12 trips to Mexico, I thought how bad could a 4.5 star be......Don't make the same mistake as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank karen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience and your impressions of IBEROSTAR Cancun Resort and Spa.

We are very sorry to hear that your experience was less than favorable. Please know your experience is the exception and not the rule. You may rest assured that your feedback has been shared with the Leadership Team. We are really sorry our service was not up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort, hopefully under brighter circumstances.
Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar from March 1-5th and right from when we arrived I knew it was beautiful. Check-in was quick the rooms are very nice, very clean fridge always stocked big walk-in closet with safe that's included, bed and pillows very comfortable, nice thick towels in bathroom. Great entertainment day and night. All the food in the buffet and the speciality restaurants was very good. Workers always cleaning, sweeping or doing something working hard and very friendly. When I booked this resort I read the reviews and it got a 4 Star, but I thing it should get a 5 Star. We will come back here again. One more thing there is NO musty smell in rooms or anywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side where the pool is a nice view with the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on your most recent stay with us, we are really happy to hear you had a fantastic vacation with us!

We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have, as we are already looking forward to your next visit to IBEROSTAR Cancun.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
5.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,096 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $248 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing