We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Cancun
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Oasis Sens(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (5,021)
Filter reviews
5,021 results
Traveler rating
3,154
1,236
437
111
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,154
1,236
437
111
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsgourmet restaurantspecialty restaurantssteakpool barguest servicesbalcony roommagic showocean viewkids clubdinner reservationsentertainment staffthe main hotelprivate poolwater polomain buffetevening shows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,430 - 2,435 of 5,021 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

HOSPITALITY Like you've never experienced...warm, magical people that make you feel special!!! They made a great trip even better! Here is the proof....when have you ever gone for 5 days...left a resort and could remember this many GREAT people: Erik, Jesus, Carlos, Arturo, Stephanie, Omar, Enrique and Juan Carlos (all the people in the yellow shirts!) Maria from the beach/pool bar, Maria from the lobby bar and the bartenders at the lobby bar plus, Alfredo, Joaquin, Rafael, Carlos, Leidy and Jorge, Julio and Luis in the Japanese restaurant....we had so much fun and the staff at the Iberostar really added to our experience and memories!!!! The hotel, food, drinks and entertainment were all great...but this staff MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE!!! Exceptional hospitality. I think all 14 in our group would agree, we have never experienced that level of warmth, service and friendship in just 5 days!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Iberostar Cancun to relax near the sea. Thank you also for your so sweet and encouraging comments about your stay here.

We feel honored to hear that you recognized the service from Erik, Jesus, Carlos, Arturo, Stephanie, Omar, Enrique, Juan Carlos, Maria, Alfredo, Joaquin, Rafael, Carlos, Leidy, Jorge, Julio and Luis, we will share these comments with them.

We are proud that we only provided you with a wonderful service, with and experience that you will remember for a very long time.

We are ready to pamper you during your next vacation.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, very clean, great food and service. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Javier was our favorite, he and the staff at the Mexican restaurant made everyone feel like they were royalty. My daughter and I were there for a gymnastics meet and we will definately go back with the rest of the family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are thrilled to know you had a great time with us and that we were able to make your stay memorable, for us is a pleasure know that you and your daughter enjoyed the installations and the services during your stay. And that our staff make your stay enjoyable, we will make sure to share your comments with them.

We thank you again and we look forward to your return!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying at Iberostar Cancun and once again it was delightful.
Rooms:
Happily this year we got a room on the 9th floor. The view was absolutely breath taking. We didn't have a balcony room, but there is still room to walk out and stand on the little balcony these rooms have. The rooms are clean and nice. The only problem was the shower- while I love the rain shower, the tiny glass door doesn't keep the water in the shower and I ended up slipping getting out more than once. Just be careful. Also- there are DVD players but you have to have DVDs from the right region or they won't work. Only one of the DVDs we brought worked. Just so people are aware of this.

Food:
The buffet is excellent- especially for breakfast and lunch. The breakfast is so delicious there were always plenty of eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns, there was also a place where people would make omelettes with whatever you wanted in them. There was also a variety of delicious fresh fruit juices. It was outstanding. The lunch was also always very good- there was always pizza and hot dogs and burgers and french fries. They also had someone cooking fish and squid and a person who would cook pasta. Dinner was similar to lunch. We ate at the Japanese and the steakhouse. We ended up at the Japanese hibachi twice because it was so delicious. You start out with sushi and tempura vegetables which are both very good. Then you pick between two soups. The miso was very good. Then you can either pick an entree made in the kitchen or hibachi- I chose hibachi both times. I got the steak and shrimp and they were both very good. They also cook up vegetables and fried rice. The fried rice was the absolute best I've ever had in my life! I couldn't wait for my shrimp and steak to eat it. Then you got to choose dessert. The one with the bananas was really good. Then there was the steakhouse. It was a breath of fresh air-it was a lot like being at Texas Roadhouse or longhorn steakhouse. They played country music and the waiters had on plaid shirts and Texas ties. You start off getting to go to a buffet to choose your appetizers. There was a lot to choose from. Then you got to choose your entree. I chose tenderloin. It was cooked just how I asked and it was a really good steak. They even had A1 sauce! Then you went back up to the buffet to choose your desserts. They were all very good.

Outside:
You can't beat the pools and beach here. The beach is very large and full of white sand...the ocean is beautiful here too- it's shallow for a ways and pretty calm so you can walk pretty far out. The infinity pool with the pool bar is the best. It's nice and refreshing. Diego at the pool bar is super friendly and can make any drink you want! Maria is one of the waitresses who brings the drinks to you when you're laying by the pool- she is one of the sweetest and friendliest people you will ever meet. She even remembered what we were drinking from day to day. The pools are crystal clear. If you're facing the hotel the hot tub to the right is warmer than the one to the left. This place is absolutely beautiful.

Staff:
I heard a lot of people say the front desk staff isn't friendly but that wasn't true in our case. The only thing was we exchanged US dollars into pesos at the front desk and then asked if they would exchange it back and they said they couldn't, but I guess that's understandable since they don't have all that change in US laying around. The housekeeping staff is friendly and we always had a new piece of towel art on our bed when we got in from outside everyday. All the wait-staff and bartenders were great. The girl in the cigar bar (I forgot her name) was wonderful. Then there's the star friends. No one works harder than these people! Jesus and Arturo pretty much run all the activities during the day and the shows at night. Both are wildly friendly. Jesus asks where you're from, when you leave, etc. he has no problem striking up a conversation. Stefani was a sweet girl to talk to as well! Carlos was very friendly.

Overall our stay was incredible! Will not hesitate to come back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Amandak_10wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Iberostar Cancun crew, we thank you for your fantastic feedback for such great time you spent with us was a pleasure to receive you again, we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that we were able to meet your expectations, as it is our main goal to offer the best experience for each of our guests.

Once again thank you for your preference and we will waiting for your next vacation in this your second home in Cancun.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel has been reviewed a lot, so I will not go into great details on the room. It used to be a Hilton, so picture a standard hotel room. Since I have had an issue at another resort with our safe being broken into, I liked the fact that it was a keypad safe large enough for a mid size lap top, 2 iPads, 2 iPhones, wallets with plenty of room to spare.

All rooms appeared to have a great view of ocean. I have stayed in several all inclusive resorts and this had one of the most comfortable beds and a great rain shower head in the bathroom.

I read some reviews about trouble finding beach chairs. They told us resort was 98% full, and we never had an issue. One time showing up at 12 after shopping in the morning. They did have a group of people in meetings, so that might have been why it was easy.

We tried all the restaurants and food was what you expect from an all inclusive. Steak at western theme place was a notch above the rest, with shrimp and crab claws on salad/appetizer buffet.

I have stayed at Iberostar and entertainment is typical. I wish they would get rid of the cartoons before the show every night - it was adult themed shows. Staff tries hard to keep shows entertaining.

Call out to Luis in the sports bar. He was extremely friendly and when no one else was in the bar, played pool with us.

Ocean water was an incredible blue color. Temperature 82 degrees. Beach had deep sand with few shells. Hotel next to public beach, which wasn't an issue. Only had a couple of people selling things on the beach. Saw several guests buying and they were not bothersome.

Pool was not heated. 64 degrees - typical of resorts in Mexico. Some hardy soles were in drinking and of course kids can swim in anything! They did have a hot tub which started working on 2nd day. Not super hot - just right after a day at the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for side view not facing pool if you want more peaceful view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SandySullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay at our resort.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the facilities and features at Iberostar Cancun. We really appreciate your loyalty to the hotel chain, one of our main purposes is to offer the best experience to all our guests and help you create unforgettable memories.

Please rest assured your comments about entertainment will be shared with the head of department.

Once again thank you for your preference and hope to see you in a future time.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Awesome!! If you're looking for a resort that is right on the beach this is the one. Beautiful beach, no rocks, and all sand. Resort was very clean and the service was fantastic. Not one problem. Very close to this beautiful outdoor mall (just take the bus). We loved it and we will be back for sure!!! A great resort for your first visit to Mexico.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ashleyplecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on your most recent stay with us, we are really happy to hear you had a fantastic vacation with us!

We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have, we hope you come back soon at Iberostar Cancun.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews