We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a lot of bang for my buck!”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Got a lot of bang for my buck!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This wasn't necessarily the largest resort I've ever stayed at, but for what I paid, I'd say it was pretty great! When I arrived with my three friends, we actually got upgraded to a garden view villa, which ended up having a great view of the ocean too!! The food variety got a little boring after 5 days, so I'd recommend trying to eat out one or two nights. The drinks were good, free, and they just kept coming! The pool bar was so fun! The beach was great too, and there were always open seats. The entertainment was lacking a little, but there is so much other stuff to do outside of the resort that it didn't matter much. Overall, a great place!

Room Tip: Garden view suites are a little more secluded from the hustle and bustle of the main are, and third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtierney95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate sharing your opinion with more travelers, there is nothing better than a guest leaving happy from our property, we have taken your points of improvement to be shared with our team, we will make sure to enhance the efficiency of our services.

We hope to see you soon in Iberostar Cancun.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,776
    1,090
    379
    99
    69
See reviews for
1,745
1,476
109
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just arrived home from a 2 week stay at the iberostar cancun and me and my partner are already thinking of booking up the same alllll over again in May next year :) the place is unbelievable...that good we were talking of returning on the flight back home. So I'm going to go over every detail to make you realise just how good it is and to ignore the negative comments..these people clearly don't no what amazing is :) soooo enjoy.......

THE HOTEL the transfer to this hotel is only a 15 min journey and as soon as you walk in the lobby you think WOW...it is beautiful, huge, modern, clean and nice and cool :) as soon as we arrived we were welcomed with a cocktail and booked straight into the room with no problems what so ever and the staff at the desk were very pleasant and that continued throughout the whole holiday

THE ROOMS are very clean and the bed is huge and very very comfortable. We stayed in room number 142...at first I though 1st floor we are going to have a rubbish view but I couldn't of been more wrong...every room in this hotel has a sea view so no matter where you are you are guaranteed a lovely view..white sand and crystal clear ocean :) amazing. The room is cleaned every day and the maid also leaves rose petals and animals made of towels every so often on your bed. The mini bar is also filled up every day. The bathroom has mirrors all round and there is a full length mirror as well. There is shampoo and body wash included and the hair dryer was actually more powerful than my own one from home so that was ideal.

THE POOL is amazing, there is an infinity pool that looks down onto the beach with a swim up bar which is run by a lovely man called Adolfo...he is the best cocktail maker in cancun :) and is very pleasant to be around :) as is the other bar staff of course. If you have kids there is a kids pool with a little water park in it for them with slides and things :) lifeguards are also on duty at this hotel and a kids club running all day..the water in the pool is cool not warm to just dive in but not freezing to the point you can't go in. Pool area is cleaned every morning for the tiles around the pool to everywhere outside aswell. Music is played all day to :)

THE STAFF is what made our holiday special especially one little guy named Jesus (one of the star friends) I can't put enough praise to the guy to be honest and it's hard to explain in words just how good a worker he is, he should be proud of what he does :) he is the most out going, happiest, hard working loyal member of staff by the pool and is really going to work up in the hotel if he keeps going the we does :) and not forgetting the rest of the star friends of course, they are there from the moment you wake up with activities all day from volleyball to archery etc and every day they have 1 special game for example a water balloon fight in the pool :) and from the moment you go to bed they are there working away at the night time shows which are amazing also :) highly recommend the magic show :) the guy Sebastian is incredible :) all the staff speak very good English so there is no language barrier, from the staff at the desk to the maids to the restraint and waitress around the pool I have no complaints about any of them. Just a last comment to JESUS good luck on being a dad you will be amazing :) and keep up the good work :) love adele and nick :) xxxx

THE RESTRAUNT food is lovely. If you can't find anything to eat there is something wrong, there is everything you can think of from meats, rice, burgers, salads, fresh breads, cereals, a smoothie bar in the morning, all your sweet treats and loads more. We booked into the gourmet 3 times, the steak house twice and the Japanese once and every one of them is delish and as you can tell we didn't have any problems booking into any of them. No complaints atall.

ALL INCLUSIVE in this hotel means all inclusive, we didn't put our hands in our pockets once, everything is included even champagne :) and everything in your mini bar, the drink is local drink of course but if you ask they have Smirnoff vodka, Gordon's and Bombay gin etc.

THE WEATHER was 32-34 degrees the first week we were there :) the last week however there was a few days of rain. Not full days as 1 minute your lying frying then the next your inside because it was raining...nothing major tho :) but you can't expect anything else going in cot as it is just the end of hurricane season

TRIPS I would recommend would be coco bongos, jungle tour and the Captain Hook boat :)

Anyways I really hope this review helps you :)

Xxxx

Room Tip: Any room but a high floor will have an amazing view x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Evissa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

first time in Mexico enjoyed the whole experience hotel was spot on staff couldn't do enough for you. star friends done their best to keep you entertained day and night excellent food location and service would recommend and stay at iberostar Cancun again Thomas cook rep very informative friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank 63tequila64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want thank you for the time you took to write about your stay at Iberostar Cancun.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and the entertainment activities besides having a remarkable assistance by our staff and Craig .

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future, it was a pleasure to attend you.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Pam-padam! Iberostar was perfect choice for me as a beach, waves and fun-lover. At the same time still lot of time and space just for yourself, so anyone can peacefully enjoy caribbean beauty. Food, drinks and roomservice were good, no complaining.

Amazingly stunning ocean-view from my absolutely standard room! I guess all rooms has a great views because of the shape and location of a building. The whole hotel territory looks nice and green, and lobby is so stylish though hotel isn't snobby at all. Easy going without crazy drunkies is quite important for a good vocation.

Guess I also have to mention this: Entertainment staff is absolutely excellent:) always funny, friendly, polite and smiling. So even traveling alone I never felt myself lonely or bored. At lobby bar every night live music and later great shows at evenings!

So muchas gracias to the whole hotel staff for a great vocation!:)

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your vacation experience with us.
We are glad to know you had a beautiful experience.

We will extend your comments to the staff, specially the Entertainment Staff who work so hard to make your holiday wonderful; it will be very motivational for them.

We hope you come back soon to Iberostar Cancun! It would be an honor to serve you again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirty cellar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice, nice decor, good bars, good room service, nice attentive staff, Buffett good but the food could definitely be warmer, great specialty restraunts and on the whole friendly staff...... Then there's the rooms!! And the housekeeping not only in the bedrooms but also in the public areas, we have traveled from the UK as a party of 9 and have spent in excess of $16500 !! 4 adults 4 teenagers and 1 child we requested balcony rooms when we booked and also emailed the hotel and what we have received is rooms with NO balcony and over looking a conference centre roof with leaking windows and to be quite frank a room that needs a deep clean and re vamp!! To say we are disappointed is an understatement! When asked if we could be moved to at least a garden pool view we was told we could at a cost of $1600 wow have they not had enough!! We have stopped at many all inc resorts mexico and this is honestly the worst rooms we have experienced!
I have ordered a birthday cake for my daughters birthday later this week and it will cost $40....FOR A BDAY CAKE!!! Wow I should have gone down to wall mart and bought one!! The Barcello,The Riu The moon palace, The Iberostar Rose hall, plus various hotels never charged us for a cake! Very petty!! Well we have one week remaining and I have never felt the urge to share my experiences online but Beware this is definitely not somewhere I will be spending my hard earned cash or time again!!! Do yourself a favour and hit the Riu and save yourself ££££

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howzdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this post.

We appreciate all your comments and review of our rooms in the hotel. We would like to mention that the staff strives for an outstanding cleanliness in the hotel, and as per your review we will reinforce this point as we aim to keep up our high standards.

With regards to rooms, we work together with our reservation department to make sure we grant our guests’ requests in terms of room assignments and also based on what the agency books.
We are very sorry to know the rooms were not what you expected; we will pass your comments on to our management team for improvements.

With regards to a birthday cake, as it was mentioned on site, we can send a small detail for the birthday boy/girl, however for big parties we offer the regular cake so everybody tastes a delicious dessert. We apologize if the hotel staff did not have the right approach to you to make sure you were having a good time. In any case this will be reviewed with the Department in charge.

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay and hope that you could give us another chance in the future, either at our beautiful hotel or any of our sister resorts.

Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We travelled with Thomas Cook on 10th October for 2 weeks, very pleasant experience at check in very friendly and we pleased to find we had been upgraded to a balcony room, although we were not over looking the pools the view from the room was lovely waking up to the sea every morning was great.

I could not find any faults with this hotel I really enjoyed my stay.

The service from staff was great, Marlon serving in the main buffet was very attentive, Bianca in the lobby bar and beware of Adolfo in the pool bar, he lines the shots up and doesn't stop, great fun though. The entertainment staff worked very hard to get everyone involved and the nightly shows were ok, I thought could have finished with a disco rather than singers everynight.

We tried all the restaurants and enjoyed them all, especially the gourmet and steakhouse which we went to twice. The main buffet was great lots of choice and the freshly made donuts were to die for. No complaints from me about the temp of the food never found it cold.

All in all we had a fab holiday, met some lovely people and we will be back And would recommend to everyone.

Lastly Craig the Thomas Cook rep was great and did a great job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCFCMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and the restaurants were up to your expectations. It is much appreciated the time you took to write about your stay at Iberostar Cancun.

We will extend the comments to the Thomas Cook representative and our staff.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. It was a pleasure to attend you.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was supposed to be a wonderful 25th Anniversary Vacation for the two of us and we were both really disappointed in this Iberostar Hotel.

Flights, customs and transfers were smooth as silk.

I had read numerous reviews and booked a balcony room, also knowing that odd numbered roooms provided a view of the pool vs. the convention center. Upon booking through Expedia, I requested and paid for a balcony room, that looked out over the pool. We were given room 526, with a view of the convention center. While still waiting to check in, I inquired to the desk clerk if an odd numbered room, facing the pools was available and told no. Not willing to simply give up, I inquired if one might be available the next day to move into. We were told that on the 3rd day of our vacation we could move into one; so I agreed and we lived out of our suitcases for those first two days.

I had book 3 dinner reservations in advance for the first three days of our vacation. The first evening was Japanese; food was okay, but drowned in soy sauce.... way too much salt intake. Unlike Japanese places back home, there was no show while the meal was prepared; Mr. Roboto just cooked and served. We never stayed for desert! The 2nd evening, to celebrate our 25th Anniversary, we were at the Gourmet restaurant and we had a very good meal, with a special cake for desert; the resort did listen to something. On the 3rd evening we dined at the Steak House and I cant tell what was tougher, the servers dressed in flannel shirts or the beef! You had to serve yourself from what they called a salad bar; that also contained the deserts. The Mexician restaurant we were told was not available during our stay; probably just as well. One out of Three of these evenings were good; Gourmet. The other evenings we just did laps around the buffett.

On the second morning, I decided to go back down to the front desk and asked for the manager. I wanted to see if they were able to move us from the Iberostar Cancun to the Iberostar Parisio; where we have stayed 3X's before. After just one day, we realized we would much rather be at at resort than a hotel; we were bored! The manager (Fernando) claimed that since I booked our vacation through Expedia, that he could not do anything for us and that I would need to speak with Expedia. He was good enough to dial them up for me and I spent well over an hour on the phone with them attempting to see if they could transfer our vacation; knowing that the DelMar and Beach Resorts were far less than what we had already paid. Expedia said that the only way that this could be done was if we canceled this vacation (and lost every cent paid) then re-booked and paid for a new one! I actually had to repeat this to the agent to make sure that I completely understood what she was saying! In other words, we were stuck there. I even tried to plead with Fernando, "what if you were overbooked, would you send guest to Parisio'? He said that the Parisio was overbooked and sent some guests to Cancun ... "WHATEVER" There was no was we were moving without it costing a small fortune!!!

They do have a nice beach, but there is a lot of open and wasted space.

The main pool was old and in need of some work; with the biggest complaint being that there was really only one access point into the pool without climbing down a ladder or jumping right in.
The swimup bar was nice, but bartenders tended to be a tad slow and could only focus on one customer at a time.

The lobby bar was nice, but here again the bartender was unattentive.

We paid to Parisail and were in luck!! As they bussed you to the Parisio and you could spend the day there. So we paid $120 USD for the two of us to be in a double pairasail and really enjoyed going back there again; that is a great place.

Our room(s) - bathroom with the combination of toliet and shower was too small ... and stepping almost a foot and a half to get into the shower was dangerous!

We went to one evening show and as most say, the staff tries hard; but we left after an hour.

We took the bus down the hotel zone strip one day to the shopping center; but you would have thought you were in NYC, as the stores were all very pricey!!

We actually called the trasfer company and asked them to pick us up a couple of hours early; we would rather spend it in the airport than the Iberostar Cancun.

Most likely we will book the Parisio Iberostar resort for next year. This was certainly NOT the way I had envisioned on spending my 25th Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: just like everyone says ... if you can afford the walk out balcony; try to get an odd numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Burke55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are truly sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced at our property with your agency, unfortunately we are not able to change or move reservations without your agency’s approval. We are glad to know that our staff at guest services provided you the correct information about the process and steps to take with this kind of incidents.

Regarding the inconveniences that you experienced in the different restaurants and bars we will make sure to share these comments with the person that is in charge of this area in order to encourage the team to work harder in our quality service.

This type of feedback is very important for us because it helps us give a better service to guests and understand where we lack in service or facilities.

We hope to give you a better impression in your next visit to Iberostar Cancun.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,030 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 175 in Cancun
9,146 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 175 in Cancun
5,862 reviews
1.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Visit Us Inc., Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing