We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still my favorite in the Hotel Zone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #17 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
WAUBEKA, WISCONSIN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still my favorite in the Hotel Zone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and my friends just got back from the Iberostar Cancun and again we had a fantastic time! We visited the property last March and since we were so impressed we went again and all us are glad we did. This place has great service...heck, when is the last time you called for some type of issue in your room, in Mexico, and were serviced in less than 5 American minutes? We blew a fuse, called the front desk and all was up and running quickly. Our friends had a running toilet issue and they also were taken care of very quickly. The food was great, we tried the French restaurant this time (we could not get in last year) and it was great. We also ate again at the Mexican, Asian and many buffets...I don't know how you could not find something you liked. Even though I love to try out other properties I just can't think of a reason not to go back again next year! Lastly, the beach is clean, sandy and long...just loved it all!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor and an ocean/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FLAKESFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time post your review about your stay with us.

It is so nice to hear that you and your friends had a fantastic vacation and that we were able to make your stay enjoyable through providing the best service and attention by our staff.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your loyalty; we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,650
    1,046
    360
    94
    66
See reviews for
1,665
1,418
102
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Both the service as well as the outer grounds of the hotel were excellent. The food was quite good as well. Our room, however, was 3-star at best. Though we were upgraded to a private villa, it had multiple problems starting the first night, including a broken toilet, a clogged sink, air conditioning and lighting that would turn intermittently on and off, and water temperature in the shower that proved impossible to regulate. These issues required several calls to the front desk nearly each time we were in the room. This was quite frustrating and took away from the overall experience. It was particularly disappointing as this resort was advertised at one of the best in Cancun - the accommodations did not feel that way. Cancun is a beautiful city and we all hope to return but it's unlikely that we will stay at Iberostar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments about your experience at Iberostar Cancun.

We are glad you had the best service by our staff during your stay at our hotel, and you had the opportunity to taste the delicious food that our Chefs prepare. Also, thank you for paying attention to details such as our beautiful areas around the property.

We appreciate the time you took to explain what happened at your room, certainly such incidents should not happen; we will share this comment with our maintenance department, to be sure that they will check all these details at the rooms and fix them. Receive our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

We hope you return to visit us so that you can change your mind from your last experience to a wonderful new one.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We vacationed the week of March 12 with three families, including 5 teens. While we have traveled extensively, this was our family's first stay at an all-inclusive resort. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of food and drink, the clean and beautiful condition of the resort premises, and the unbelievable service-oriented approach of the wait staff and ubiquitous "Star Friends." Overall, it was a very positive experience. There were only two negative incidents during our whole stay: (1) the hotel's stubborn refusal to acknowledge the "resort credit" that was included in our reservation, despite our showing them written and email proof of the credit, and our travel agent's intervention, and (2) the hotel's refusal to give us reservations at the French restaurant, despite the fact that the restaurant was clearly almost empty. It became obvious over the course of the week that perqs such as these went to those who paid more for their rooms in the first place (i.e., those with reservations in balcony rooms, suites, etc.) Unfortunately, the resultant feeling of being "ripped off" is probably enough to keep us from staying here again or recommending it to others (despite every resort employee we met begging us to put a favorable review on trip advisor!) Beautiful place, just beware.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest,

First at all thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay with us, we are so glad to know that your family and you enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the restaurants and the attention of our staff.

Your comments are so valued and make us work harder we also thank you for pointing out possible areas of improvement within the hotel so that we can act consequently.

We would like to clarify that restaurant reservations are not granted only guests who paid more for their holidays whatsoever. Absolutely all of our guests are important to us. The availability depends on the amount of clients we have at the hotel at the time. We do try to be really flexible with this, and when guests that did not make reservations ask our employees prior to a restaurant seating (6.30, 7.00, 8.30, 9.00pm), they are allowed in as long as there is space available. Sometimes we get not shows but we need to wait a few minutes until we can give their space to other guests. Please bear in mind that our main goal is to offer our guests a special experience where meals are made-to-order, so we can provide freshness and quality along with a personalized service. Our tables are not booked at 100% simply because we want our guests to enjoy a nice dinner. If we book all tables in one seating, they might be forced to eat faster and the experience would not be relaxing. Booking every table in the 4 seatings also leads guests to wait for previous guests to finish their meals, and that eventually causes a whole delayed reservation system which affects many guests and the service overall. We do our best to accommodate everyone but restaurants do fill up very quickly! That is why we advise making reservations upon your arrival or even prior to your arrival. We thank you for your understanding regarding this situation.

Many thanks once again for your review, we hope you give us another opportunity to host you and show you the excellent service we are capable of offering.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

A week of pampering at Iberostar cancun during our stay on 3/3-3/9. What made it even extra ordinary was the fabulous unobstructed view of the sugary white coast line. I find out that 60+% of their rooms have miles of unobstructed beach and ocean view due to it's unique architectural design. The service was great and everybody tried their best to make something special out of ordinary. Thanks to Diana of Olympus tours who made my excursions a trip to remember. This is my 2nd Iberostar stay of many more to come...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Iberostar Hotels and for your lovely comments.

Keeping our repeat guests happy is very important to us and we really appreciate your feedback.

We feel glad to know that you enjoyed the comfortable facilities and the service provided by our wonderful staff that go above and beyond to make you stay very special!

We hope you come back to your second home! We are looking forward to see you again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just arrived back from the Iberostar after a week long stay during March Break. We travelled with our 3 year old daughter and 8 year old son.

Check in was fast and efficient. The room had a pool and ocean view that was stunning. The room was clean but nothing special. We have previously stayed at the Barcelo Palace which has slightly more modern touches.

The kids pool/splash pad was great...although it would have been nicer if it was a walk in rather than the steps that surrounded it ...giving me some anxiety every time my 3 year old wondered to the edge..no problems however just reminders to be careful.

The buffet was great..breakfast..great omelette station but the hit was the freshly made donuts..melt in your mouth, warm ...amazing. Lots of fruit, cereal, yogurt, sausages, hash browns etc. The donuts however made it special. Lunch again lots of options from hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken nuggets for the kids to fresh salads, a great pasta station etc for the adults...the dessert pastries were nice too. For dinner again typical buffet food similar to lunch but something for everyone. The kids loved the ice cream which was nice...at other resorts the ice cream hasn't been as nice and firm ...a little goopy...but this was very nice with all the toppings...the kids loved the large marshmallows too...something different.

What made the trip amazing however was Victor at the Kids Club... We spent a lot of time there at the kids insistence. We don't like to leave our children with strangers but joined them during the activities... Victor had a level of enthusiasm that made our children want to return day after day. At night he put on the Kids Show where they got to go on stage and participate in a mini disco...the best part of the trip for me was watching my children feel so special and have a blast. On the last day it was Victor's day off and he was very much missed...He definitely was the heart of the kids club and we would definitely make sure he would be working if we were to book another week at the Iberostar. The kids show started at 8, followed by the adult show at 930ish. The show was typical of most AI perhaps a little bit better. The staff did an amazing job of entertaining guests throughout the day and evening and made the trip very enjoyable. Where the hotel lacked in some luxurious touches their staff made up for ten fold. From wait staff to entertainment staff everyone went above and beyond to make sure guests had a good time.

We would definitely return and recommend this hotel for families with young children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AIKarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we also thank you for pointing out possible areas of improvement within the hotel so that we can act consequently.

We are so happy to know your kids especially enjoyed all the activities with Victor at the Kids club, we will make sure to share your comments with him; we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay was March 4-14. The service was outstanding even if we didn't tip sometimes they still provided excellent service. Javier Castro who is captain of the Buffet from early in the am to the Mexican restaurant until all hours of the night. Javier never stops. He is always cleaning up, seating people, chatting with everyone making them feel as if he was personally there for your service all day, every day. I have never seen a resort staff member work so hard and be so pleasant. Marion and Julio also gave us great service. The pool waitress staff are also fast, curtious and efficient. Guest services staff we excellent as well. The al a cart restaurants were amazing. Our room was a king Balcony suite which had a view of the whole resort. Room 429. Gorgeous! Everything was clean always. We have stayed at many 5 star resorts and this was definitely a great resort. The beach was groomed daily and beautiful with it's white sand. Travelling was also easy and inexpensive. We took the bus for 85 cents to Isla mall which was ok but very fancy expensive stores. So we read on trip advisor and heard the mall called Plaza Las Americas was a great place to go that had American regular priced stores. You have to take bus 27 there and it only comes every 30 minutes. Bus R1& R2 take you to Isla Mall and come every 2 minutes. The America's mall was great. It was a great trip and a great Resort. The only thing that bothered me was that when we checked in Pablo gave us a room on the second floor with double beds and facing away from th resort. We had requested a King room and paid for a balcony. We were ok with this room for a night but when we asked him if there was a king balcony room available with a view of the pool area the next day he said no absolutely none. Later after he left for th day we asked if a king balcony room with a pool view was available the check- in clerk said yes for sure. I don't know why he couldn't see that there was one available but we appreciated the other clerk moving us to a room we wanted. If you want a great view get the rooms facing the pool. The other side has a view of the ocean but also a view of the roof of he building. The beds were the most comfortable I have every sleep on in Mexico. The food was amazing and had lots to choose from. The Japanese rest was excellent. The French has an amazing asparagus soup, Lobster salad , and chocolate surprise. The Mexican had excellent special tacos with bacon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
4 Thank deecharliebraedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you had a great time at Iberostar Cancun.

Regarding the room assignment, the problem was that we have to wait for all the planned arrivals to come in and then we can go ahead and satisfy in-home requests.

Thanks to our location we are able to provide easy access into town with the help of the public transportation, giving our guests the option to be in the shopping area within minutes but far enough from all the loud atmosphere.

Javier Castro will be more than happy to hear about this fantastic review as well as the Guest Services crew and all the departments involved in general.

We hope to have you with us in a near future to over pass your previous experience. Thank you again for sharing the great feedback.

Kind regards from sunny Cancun,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We vacationed at this property from March 9-15, 2013 and had a wonderful time! Truthfully, I was worried about staying in the hotel zone in Cancun, having been to the Palladium in Riviera Maya. But after our week here, we have absolutely no regrets! You cannot even compare the service we received here to our experience at the Palladium.

Every morning at breakfast, we were served by the most wonderful young man--Israel (nicknamed FLASH because his service was so speedy!). Flash had our mimosas poured before we even sat down! I loved the Celery/Spinach juice (I called it my Froggy Juice) and Flash loved making my mimosas with the Froggy Juice! We learned about his family and loved seeing his smiling face every morning!!!

The beach is just stunning. Enriqueta and Teresa always made sure we had cold libations almost constantly. Omar at the beach bar and Hugo at the swim up bar were so hospitable and just made us feel like kings and queens!

We swam in the ocean every day---the waves and undertow were very strong----- would not have allowed small kids to do this. But our sons are 18 and 19 and the four of us had a blast battling the waves (and wearing off the many mojitos and miami vices we consumed, along with the amazing pico di gallo and chips we ate with every meal, including breakfast!).

The buffet was amazing---especially loved the fresh grilled fish and calamari, fresh fruit (I can't get kiwi in Wisconsin that tastes like that), waffles spread with Nutella. The specialty restaurants were good (not great). The Japanese was very good and a fun entertaining night.

The Star Friends enhanced our week---super friendly folks (esp. David and Luis). The spa is beautiful, as are the grounds. Be sure to escape the sun and relax on a hammock in the shade!

We would come back to this hotel mainly because of the wonderful service/people employed here.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a balcony room----adds a ton of space and the view overlooking the deep turquoise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Hotel Manager and our staff we would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Iberostar Cancun Golf & Spa Resort!

We are glad that you enjoyed the company and service provided by the hotel staff and the activities with our entertainment team, we will make sure to share your comments with all of them, especially the ones you mentioned on your review :-)

Thanks again for your feedback; we hope to see you very soon at your second home Iberostar Cancun Golf & Spa Resort!!

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,600 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,608 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing