We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great March break getaway!”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #20 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My daughter and I planned our trip just 3 weeks before we travelled on March 7, 2013 with Transat tours and had a perfect holiday. Luis, Javier, Enriquetta and Bianca were just a few who made our time away terrific. Not too big a resort but lots of space at the pool, great food and fun shows at night. Boogie Nights was fabulous with lots of 70's era singing and dancing. We had one rainy day and hit the spa- Doris was wonderful and it was very relaxing. We saw all ages and everyone seemed to be having a good time- lots of choices at the buffet and the snack bar by the pool was handy too. The Mexican restaurant was right on the beach and the view was breath-taking! Ask for a room with a balcony-so worth it! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation for sharing your impressions of your recent vacation at Iberostar Cancun.

Thank for sharing your comments about the night shows, Boogie Night is one of the preferred shows at our hotel, everybody enjoys this fun show! We are sure that our dancers, singers and all the star friends will be more than happy to read your kind words.

It is very satisfying to see that you found our service, our restaurants and our activities so good. Please rest assured that Luis, Javier, Enriquetta, Bianca and Doris will know about your mention of them. The quality of our service is a priority for us, and is very important that you appreciated it!

We hope that you come back to our hotel, and if so, we look forward to that.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,747 - 2,753 of 4,732 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is more like a 3 star
The specialty restaurants r the worst. Especially the steak house. All our steaks were either burnt or over cooked.
The Mexican restaurant is even worse. The chips were stale, food was nothing authentic.
This was Mexico and the food was flavorless and nothing Mexican about it.
The Japanese restaurant was not bad.
General buffet was ok.
The hotel is old and the glass doors were constantly rumbling from the ocean wind.
U have to carry a card to exchange for towels at the pool, which was riddiculus. Not sure why someone would steal beach towels from a closed 5 star hotel especially when u already have a wrist band. My kids were out of the pool and shivering, but they refused towels because we left our towel card in the room. I have never experienced this at any other hotel.
I am not going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank Maheshdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review about your stay in Iberostar Cancun.

It is very essential for us to know about the experience of our guests, so that we learn what we have to improve. The towel card system and our restaurants is an example.

Regarding your comment about the towel card system, please let us explain that the creation of the system was done to keep track of the service, but not deny the use of the same to any guest, so we will review this issue with the manager of the area in order to ensure that the service provided is the best and there is no inconvenience to our guests. We apologize about the situation you explained.

We will also comment with our Executive Chef the points that you mentioned about the specialty restaurants, in order to offer the best taste in all of our restaurants.

Please be sure that we will be working on those details in order to avoid situations where our guests are not entirely satisfied.

If you give us the opportunity to repeat you stay with us, we are confident that you will live the real Iberostar experience and will notice our improvements.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Literally just returned from a stay at the Iberostar Cancun. Highly reccommend! Found the hotel after searching both the Trip Advisor forums and on the recommendation of the Apple Vacations agent. Had a great time. The hotel is beautiful and very easy to navigate despite it being large. The pools were great and not too cold nor hot. The food, typical of an all inclusive...was on the upper end of good and lots of variety. My twin 22 year old daughters and I are pretty picky and never lacked for anything to eat. Try the room service just for fun...it is good too. As for the staff, they could not have been more accomodating. From check in to check out, we never had a single issue. Our room was on the 9th floor (945) and boasts one of the most specatular views for a regular room. Never a single issue with the cleanliness with Soccoro. She was wonderful. Reservations at the restaurants were a breeze. Entertainment was led by some amazing staff notably Arturo G. and David C. with Luis, Brisas and Sunday always entertaining. The shows were a fun break for an hour. Those gentlemen worked incredibly hard to make sure that everyone at the pool was involved and entertained. Javier and Hugo are some top notch waitstaff and deserve to be recognized as well. The staff will be the reason that we return! Oh yeah and let's not forget the entire reason we are there...the drinks! Amazing and plentiful. What more could you want. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Friend,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are pleased to hear that the whole family had a great time and there was fun for everybody, thank you for mentioning that Socorro, Arturo, David, Luis, Brisa, Sunday, Javier and Hugo did a great job in their different areas, we will pass on your kind comments.

Also, thank you for your recommendation to futures guests. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the pools, the night shows, the food and beverages, and the most important thing is that you could feel “like a star”.

We look forward to see you again soon; we know you will have another great vacation with us at Iberostar Cancun.

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

i have been to many all-inclusives both on land and on sea (cruises) and by far this resort has the best food overall. many, many fresh and healthy dishes and no need to book a reservation at any of the "specialty" restaurants! the food was so good in the buffet, my D (20 yo) and i cancelled our gourmet dining experience! the alcoholic drinks were great and the bartenders friendly and willing to mix anything.

another great thing about this property is that it doesn't seem huge but is. it wasn't the normal schlep all over creation to get from the room to the food to the beach. everything is pretty much right there without appearing too close. as for the beach, right now, they only use half it and it's still huge. no fights for chaises either! the pools (i think there were 4) are lovely and well maintained. The kiddie pool has all kinds of water play things, although the stream of water from most of them was nothing i'd put a baby under, but a 6-11 yo would probably think it's was the coolest thing.

The rooms are pretty standard hotel rooms, but they are cheery and welcoming and CLEAN. the beds were very comfortable and they had some of the pillows i've ever come across on vacation (and i'm plenty picky about pillows!) one thing that differed from some of the other resorts was that the maintenence staff is fast and efficient. we had lock troubles; security fixed it within 10 minutes (bad batteries).....toilet needed plunging; i had barely gotten off the phone when the plumber showed and fixed it. i wanted extra pillows (haha) and bottles of water and housekeeping showed up with not only the pillows and the water, but also with more towels and blankets. the rooms were a bit warm, even at the coolest temp, but it was adequate (i suffer from heat flashes so this is a subject near and dear to my heart). keep your balcony doors shut!

Now, for the downside of this place. There really isn't much "to do" here at night. we were both pretty bored. also, since this hotel doesn't allow "spring breakers", there weren't a lot of college kids here.

that being said, it is a great family place and there were many young children...and quite international also, judging by how many languages that i heard.

we had services in the spa that were ok. nothing bad, nothing great (i'm also a massage enthusiast). however, the spa facilities were amazing. do NOT miss the outside hydrotherapy pool and showers and, if you need, the very quiet, indoor space that provides a place to get away from it all.

bring your kids (not your tweens, teens, nor young adults) a few good books, and relax in this superior jewel of a resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RockT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for your review!

It is great for us to read that you enjoyed the customized service from our staff in the different areas at the hotel and that you felt pampered. That is what really counts for us.

We feel so happy to know that your culinary experience at our main buffet was fantastic as well; we will keep the hard work to maintain our high quality standards. It is also great to know you had a pleasant time relaxing by the amazing beach and the pools, and the fantastic spa areas!

Regarding your comment about the entertainment at night, please let us explain that every day our animation staff organize an outing to go to certain night clubs with our guests in Cancún. During daytime tickets are sold, and at night they wait our guests in the lobby ready to go out and have fun!

We appreciate your recommendation to other travelers to visit us, and it would be a pleasure to have you as a guest again at Iberostar Cancun.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our 4th or 5th all inclusive. The Iberostar was suggested by a travel agent that we used while booking last minute. Later in the review, I will talk about the absolute importance of using a travel agent rather then booking online.

Arrival Check in/Room: We arrived at approximately 11 am. The hotel lobby is huge and luxurious. We were greeted with a drink and spoke with hotel staff. We had preplanned what we wore because we knew there was a chance we couldn't check in until 3pm. The front desk was helpful and stated that our specific room (Pool and Balcony view) was unavailable at the moment. We were offered and upgrade to stay in the villa. I declined because what I had read was that the view from the balcony and pool were amazing. The villa offered a partial view. I spoke to some Canucks later that were offered the same upgrade and stated they had a partial view but the Villa was larger and beautiful. Approximately an hour later our room was ready. The room had a closet,safe, decent bathroom and a great balcony with the view we desired. The beds were comfy. Every room in the hotel has a view, so if you want to save a few bucks skip the balcony. For us the balcony an pool view were worth the upgrade.

Beach/Pool: We have been to more expensive Sandal Resorts. There pools don't compare with the size and beauty of the Iberostar. The pools are large, so if you want to be by the more lively infinity pool where the bar is so be it. If you have a family or want more piece and quiet smaller pools and a childrens small waterpark are available. The thing about Cancun is resorts are crammed next to each other. Iberostar is not like this at all. The beach is huge with Cabana's and beach service. If you like waves this is your place. WARNING: If you want a prime pool or beach spot you are gonna have to get up early and "Do what the Roman's do" and put your towels on a couple chairs. It is annoying? Yes but it happens at every all inclusive. Even if you don't get up there was always plenty of places to sit and enjoy the day.

Food: The buffet's were adequate and plentiful. I agree with other posters that food safety, including cross contamination is something that needs to be addressed. However, we were still satisfied with the buffets. It is true you need to reserve specialty restaraunts asap. Some will be booked, just go to the conciegre in the mornings and get your name on the list they will find you room. The French restaraunt was far and away the best meal we ate. The Japanese restaraunt was fun as it was Hibachi style. The food was average. The steakhouse is a miserable mess. The meat including the Ribeye was embarresing. I enjoy some fat on my Ribeye, However I couldn't even cut any part of the meat. Also, the chef cooking the meat either has no idea how to cook or doesn't care. The Iberostar should be embaressed they allow that poor quality of meat to be served.

Service: Without a doubt the service from employees is some of the best we have ever recieved. The star friends do a superb job of getting or at least asking everyone to get involved in the numerous activities. The pool bar service was top notch. I rarely waited but I also tip on every drink. Housekeeping was top notch and the room was always done on time and spotless. Even the buffet service was always friendly. Take this for what it is worth. I always tip everyone because I believe good service deserves it and I think it enhances my vacation. I tip the housekeeper on day one about 15 bucks. Anything I requested from housekeeping I always got, immediately. Remember the person pouring your water in the morning will be serving you later at the bar. They remember.

The only major issue we had is the air conditioner for the whole resort went out for two days. I don't doubt the resort did everything they could to fix it ASAP but two days is not reasonable. I had read other reviews where they had issues as well. The other bad was the previously mentioned Steakhouse and some minor food safety issues.

We learned the importance of booking through a travel agent. The travel agent did some amazing things including finding us a direct flight, cheaper rate, room upgrade without paying any extra. We also recieved a 400 dollar credit after returning home! If you book through expedia or other travel sites resorts don't care because it is a large organization. We found that booking through an agent who has been to the resort carries a lot of weight. The resort wants you to be happy because the agent will send them more business. I can't speak highly enough about our agent Rachel. If you are interested in her contact info send me a message. Look at prices and call her, you will be shocked. I have no affaliation to her and don't know her personally.

We took the public bus during the day. No issues just tell the driver where you are going.

We are from the midwest and travel quite a bit. If you are looking for a place that has top notch service, the best pool and beach in Cancun this is the place for you. Feel free to send me a message with any questions.

Room Tip: Pool and Balcony room views pay for the upgrade, you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bluelineMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on your most recent stay at Iberostar Cancún. Your comments on your experience with us help us give a better service to guests.

We are delighted to read your comments and learn that you enjoyed the restaurants; the food and especially that you were satisfied with our service. Regarding the Steak House, we have already passed your comments on to our Executive Chef. We aim to serve the best quality to our guests so we will keep working on that. Concerning cross contaminations concerns, they have already been addressed. Please rest assured that food safety is our main concern. We count with an internal Health & Safety Department and get periodical audits from an expert external company, as well as visits from tour operators and governmental organizations. Thanks for this feedback!

About the inconvenience with the air conditioning we want to offer an apology; it was something unexpected but our maintenance team worked to resolve the problem as soon as possible.

We look forward to having you and your family back soon and show you our improvements!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time staying at the Iberostar Cancun. great location, quiet area but easily accessible to nightlife if required. Extremely friendly and efficient staff, Great food selection and well presented. Would have liked a non-smoking area outside. Managed to get into all the restaurants during our stay. They appear to have two sitting sessions during the evening which seemed a bit odd. Particularly liked the Japanese restaurant, quite a unique experience.
Great pool area, well-kept grounds, plenty of beds and space. Evening entertainment good.
Good sized room but due to fault of the travel agent we thought we had a room with balcony so bit dissapointed. The standard rooms only have 'French balconies', not much more than a big window.
Not one complaint, except I had to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soniaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Firs at all we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar to spend your vacations.

We are so happy to know that you and your family had a nice experience and enjoyed the restaurants like the Japanese, as well as the service and attentions of our staff.

Hopefully we will have you back soon on your next vacation.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We made our reservation only 5 weeks before we left. Just 2 couples. Flight from Chicago was great, shuttle at the Cancun Airport was on time and not crowded. Short trip to the Iberostar and very quick check-in. We wanted rooms close together as our party was 2 sisters and their husbands. The front desk said it would only take a minute to change our rooms to be close together. Presto it was done and our rooms were ready. We all thought at the end of 5 days of great weather that the Iberostar was just the right size. Not too big and yet not crowded. Never had a problem finding a chaise on the beach or by the pool. Arturo, David, & Louis kept pool and beach activities light and fun. Socorro kept our room in excellent shape and the towel art on the bed each day was awesome. All the staff was very freindly and helpful.The food was very good to excellent. Some people might not like everything at every restaurant but there are different tastes for everyone to try. I have been to 5 all-inclusive resorts and the Iberostar buffet was the best one I have seen. The variety is very large. Between the 4 people in our group we plan on going back. The only thing I would like is a little larger shower.

Room Tip: South rooms overlook pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all, we would like to express our appreciation for sharing your comments about your stay at Iberostar Cancun.
Thank you for providing a review from our services. It is pleasant for us to know that you could enjoy the service given by our staff, especially Arturo, David, Louis and Socorro. We are glad the assistance you received from our staff at the reception to relocate your rooms was fast and efficient.

We truly look forward to having you back soon, let us know whenever you are coming back; we will be thrilled to host you.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
9,754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
5.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 176 in Cancun
10,251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,101 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 176 in Cancun
4,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $249 - $943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing