We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have imagined a better trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could not have imagined a better trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Iberostar was the PERFECT vacation destination! I really can't think of any negatives from our 5 night stay. When we first checked in our room had two double beds, rather than a King that we reserved, but they were able to find a new room for us right away, even in the limited Villa space. The food at the hotel was good, not great, but we never got sick of it. of the four restaurants the Mexican restaurant on the beach was the best, be sure to check that one out. All of the staff was very friendly and very helpful. Javier, who ran the mexican restaurant, and Omar, the bartender near the beach, were our two favorites - but we had great experiences with everyone from the bartenders, to servers, to the front desk.

The hotel was beautiful and even though they were at capacity we never had a problem finding a seat by the pool or on the beach. The night time entertainment was fun as well. We will DEFINITELY be back to Iberostar!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
7 Thank ScottCrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear friend,

On behalf of the entire staff we would like to express how much we appreciate your comments. Thank you for choosing Iberostar Cancun for your vacation.

We are happy to read your comments about your experience with our comfortable rooms, the tasty food and the night entertainment. We are thrilled to learn that our team members did well to make your vacation a memorable one; this shows us that we are on the right track in our hospitality mission to gain our guests satisfaction and loyalty.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,692
    1,057
    366
    95
    66
See reviews for
1,691
1,437
104
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from Cancun yesterday and we stayed at the Iberostar and all I can say is I cannot wait to go back. The resort was beautiful and so clean, the food was great, the staff was so friendly and accommodating and the beach and pool was fantastic! We got upgraded to the Villas when we arrived and the rooms were so spacious and clean as well as the bathrooms. I have no complaints about this trip at all will definitely return very soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us at Iberostar Cancun.

Your comments give us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our team members a job well done.

We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed our amazing facilities. Customer service and guest satisfaction is very important to us.

We hope to see you here very soon.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time @ "All-Inclusive"...Will never do anything else !! Selection of food was good, Service was entertaining, & pleasant. Grounds were in good sharp. Alittle issues with A/C one day,
but repaired within 24hrs. The nightly "live' shows were alittle "extra" that was not expected. Plenty of space & seating by the pool. (Unlike other resorts.)
Special mention of staff members... Hugo & Julio

Room Tip: Jr. Suites are the only way to stay. Plenty of room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a nice comment about Iberostar Cancun and our staff.

Nothing is more rewarding than perceiving from your words that being the first time you try an all inclusive resort, you were so happy with it and your expectations were exceeded.

We assure you we will congratulate Hugo and Julio for their good job; we will share your comment with them so that they can feel motivated.

We hope you come back to spend a wonderful holiday again very soon.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were at this hotel for 12 days since 3rd week of feb. 2013. This is our 3rd time in Cancun and I have to start saying that my husband works in the airline industry and travels all over the world and for him this is the hotel where you get more for your money. You get everything in Iberostar Cancun: fabulous service (Mexico has great hospitality that you don't get everywhere), good food, very friendly and enthusiastic entertainment staff, beautiful and well maintained place, clean. etc..

Front Desk
It was fast. They received us with a nice fruity drink. Thanks Pedro. He gave to us a nice view room, originally we wanted higher floor room but the hotel was full with a tourist forum the next day we got there. Anyway our fear was that it was gonna be noisy but it was so quiet after 11 pm even on 1st floor. All the rooms have ocean view and ours was amazing!!

Service
We can't complain.. great service. Everyone with a smile, keeping you always with drinks, it's obvious that if you tip them you'll receive a much better service. We always did and we were treated as kings.. a dollar here and there.. A little more for dinner. Special thanks for Marlon Garcia and Israel at the breakfast restaurant and Enriqueta on the beach. Great service guys, you work hard!!

Food
I'm so picky with food, second time in Cancun in Barcelo I spent the whole week sick (nothing serious but still bother being sick on vacation). Here in Iberostar I didn't have any problem. The food at the buffet was great, lots of variety, for breakfast: pancakes, eggs, salads, cheese bar, juices, cereals, etc. (we didn't try lunch but it also has snack bar where you can get burgers and hotdogs, average), for dinner you get pasta bar (cooked as you want), meats bar, salads, etc. The only issue I saw is that you have too many options to choice and you walk around with your plate that at the time you get to your table the food isn't too warm. Suggestion: a little bite warmer food at the buffet. We tryed the 4 a la carte restaurants, we loved the french one (we went twice) the lobster salad and the duck were delicious... The japanese was great too. Steak House and Mexican were ok just fine. Special thanks to Erika Hernandez hostess at the french restaurant to help us to get the reservations.

Pool and Beach
Great pool. Every morning that pool was clean and clear.. it has falls and it has a very nice design. But I tryed to swim in the afternoon and I found plastic glasess in the bottom.. not so clean, but that's not the hotel's fault. Some people aren't so clean... The beach at the hotel is beautiful, white sand and cleaned every day. Enriqueta kept us always with a drink. She works hard..

Entertainment Staff
There is always something to do during the day. The entertainment staff is a group of enthusiastic guys who keep you busy (if you want) day and night.. At the pool you can get bingo, aquaerobics, darts, spanish classes, volleyball, etc. At night they have a nice performance every night (I loved boogie nights and mexican dancers). It's a nice entertainment (not Las Vegas type but if you expect something like that, go there). Fabulous job Sunday and David from the friends staff and Liliana and Jocelyn from the dancers at night.

Various
My husband and I got a massage by the beach. It was great. Prices were a little bite high but it was worth it. So good. Thanks Brenda. The guest service was very efficient helping us with reservations, giving us information about the transat employed to confirm our flight to come back (we didn't want to come back.. lol!!) and helping me for the fabulous celebration of my husband's birthday (nice cake). Thanks Harold. I loved the paella and sangria. The had a cheff cooking around the pool a big paella (which was deli!!!), live music and dancing contest. It was a nice experience.

In general, we were so impressed by this hotel. And we agreed that what makes this hotel so special is the people. The service everywhere is amazing here. A plus is the ocean view in any room. We have been trying diferents hotels in Cancun and Riviera Maya but we decided that we found our home in Cancun. Thanks Iberostar Cancun, for an amazing vacation. See you soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delia484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate your review about the hotel and our staff service!!

It is very nice to receive comments like yours and see that our guests receive the best service and hospitality. We are also so happy to know that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities and the activities with our entertainment staff; we will make sure to share your compliments with all the staff involved, it will surely be very motivational to them.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon to your home away from home, and make your stay very enjoyable!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just returned from the Iberostar Cancun a week ago. We had a great time. Beach was fantastic and the food was good! The grounds were spotless and most everyone was friendly. A special shout out to Omar at the beach bar. He was so happy and friendly and made most any drink to order. Ask for the Omar special not so sweet. It was great!!

We upgraded to the Villa's and had a room on the second floor right on the Beach. It was very private and away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel. Really nice balcony and close to the beach. The grounds around the Villa's were really beautiful. Our room had two very comfortable queen beds and the bathroom had two showers... one was a walk in shower with large shower head.

We ate at the French restaurant twice and had the Lobster salad as an appetizer. IT WAS FANTASTIC!! Also had a steak as the main course and it was very tasty. The buffet was very good and had a vast selection of many different types of food.

I used the free Spa services which included the steam room, sauna, and quiet pool area. Everything else cost money. I think many people did not know that you could use these services for free.

The hotel offers a package to attend a club most every night of the week which my son took advantage of and had a great time. The package includes transportation to the club, cover charge which included all alcohol. You pay when you get to the club and the charge was normally $50=$70. He was on his own to get back to the hotel which normally was a $15 taxi ride.

The pool area was amazing, but personally thought it smelled a little funny from all the people that never left the pool yet lounged around the pool bar all afternoon if you get what I mean. I preferred the beach and the ocean as the sound of the waves was very soothing. I can sit around the pool at any hotel but can't sit near the ocean!!

All in all a great trip and would return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Beach front villa. Larger room and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tjmswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Iberostar Cancun, as a family hotel we are pleased to create great memories for our guests.

Our staff is always striving for excellence in service and our facilities attend most of our guest needs which make them feel like home. Moreover, the gourmet Restaurant has a unique touch of French cuisine that makes it very popular among the specialty restaurants, we are glad that you enjoyed it.

Also our Spa is the perfect place for a bit of relaxation.

Our activities team (Star Friends) always try to keep everyone busy (unless they prefer otherwise) doing any activity at the beach, the pool, watching o participating in the shows and also going to night clubs for those who prefer to know a bit of nightlife in Cancun.

With regards to the pool, generally, the higher temperature and volume of people in the pool, the more chlorine acts to consistently clean residues. Our pool assistants are constantly checking this, however we take note of your comments and have passed them on to head managers to keep an eye on it.

Once again, thank you for sharing your post with more travelers! We will be glad to welcome you back in the near future.

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a great place. Extremely well kept property ( have been around the world) and exceptional service! staff is excellent! Steak house is sub-par. Buffet is great for all meals. I recommend this property and will stay here again. Great beach and pool.

Room Tip: ask for ocean front pool view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank victor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We feel so proud to read your nice review about our hotel and our staff.

Our goal at Iberostar Cancun is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to know that you had a wonderful experience and your expectations were fulfilled.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again in any of our hotels.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just left the Iberostar Cancun today. There were 9 of us there, with a baby. We had a wonderful time. The resort is very clean and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are clean and very pretty. Not only that, there is a LOT of pool area. The food was actually REALLY good for an all inclusive resort, probably the best we've seen at one, and we've stayed at quite a few. We never had to wait in a line to eat, ever.

We would have liked to have seen some more English stations on the TV, and the internet purchased in the room was a bit patchy. However, there's free wifi in the lobby that worked well. We found the front desk staff, restaurant staff, bartenders, security staff, etc. all to be extremely helpful and pleasant. We always bring a "spongy mattress pad" for the beds, but didn't need it here. The beds were very soft and comfortable. It was also very reasonably priced. I would recommend this resort, and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting this nice review about our hotel and facilities; we are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the facilities and our spectacular infinity pools.
We will share your comment about the good food with our Executive Chef, we are sure that he will feel very honored with your recognition.

Also, thank you for remark about the service given by our staff, every day we strive to provide the best service and comfort of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please contact us before your next visit to Iberostar Cancun if you have any special request.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,739 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,683 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing