We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and relaxing”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very nice place to vacation just got back. Last week. Great beach, clean rooms, good night entertainment, Doris does a great deep message on the beach, and the star group is very energetic and cordial. Sunday, Isabel, and Sandy were very nice "Stars". Volleyball, Polo and other games were good because of the right amount of players. We had no kids but the person in charge of the Kids club was GREAT! Close to the airport, take the bus for a buck into the city or shopping centers. It was nice that all of the rooms have an Ocean View. Free internet in lobby. Just have to figure out how....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gregoryLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable vacation at our beautiful hotel. Thank you for acknowledge us about the excellent service that Doris, Sunday, Isabel and Sandy provided. We will make certain to congratulate and thank´s them for his great work and commitment.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again and provide you with the amazing treatment you deserve, see you soon at Iberostar Cancun.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,590)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,818 - 2,824 of 4,590 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Iberostar Cancun. Aside from the fabulous weather that we were blessed to have there were many great things. The Star Friends staff worked tirelessly to ensure we had a great time. They had many fun activities at the pool and beach and were very friendly. They also socialized in the evenings at the bar and put on a great show at night!! We have to give kudos especially to Sunday, Arturo and Sandra for making us feel extra special. They are amazing at what they do and Iberostar Cancun should be proud to have them on their staff!
My only complaint, the place was spotless but in the public bathrooms a lot of times there was no soap and paper towels.
Thank you Iberostar, for a fabulous trip!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review. We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. We thank you for choosing Iberostar Cancun for your vacations, it means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals as a company.
We take note about your comments regarding the public bathrooms, we will share your comments with the person that is in charge of this area in order to work on it.
We await your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Resort was very nice but the food was horrible. We didnt sleep well because the people in the room next to us were loud. I played at the golf course four times, it was nice but the food was very bad there too. The last night we ordered pizza from Poppa John's because we couldn't eat another meal there. All the employees were very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Dmcslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your feedback.
We feel so proud to know that you enjoyed the facilities and you like the service that our staff provided.
All comments and suggestions are very important to us as it helps us know how we are doing in terms of service and facilities. We regret to hear that you did not like the food, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. This is not the image that we strive to have with our guests.
We appreciate your comments and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed 12 nights at the Iberostar Cancun in room 722 (with balcony). My wife and I travelled from London and are in our late 20’s. To summarise:

Positives:

Star Friends (Animation team): They are amazing, they work so hard right from the morning through to early hours in the next day. They arrange many activities such as rifle shooting, archery, bowls, darts, beach and water volleyball, water polo and other random activities. They conduct the evening shows which are great. Magic show was amazing. After that, they organise karaoke 3 nights a week and then hit the clubs every night. We went clubbing with them a couple of times, and they really look after you and organise a VIP area for you. FYI, entrance to the club is about 50 USD, which include an open bar.

Rooms:
Good size rooms. Balcony rooms are nice, although we never sat out there. One side of the hotel only has the view of the beach, whereas the other side has the beach and pool.

Pool and Beach:
Beautiful pools and beach. The main pool is heated, although it was cold on the first 3 days of our trip – too cold to make use of swim up bar.

Staff:
All the staff were very helpful, especially the front desk and concierge. We were offered a free upgrade. Waiters and the barmen were very attentive.

General:
Free WiFi available in lobby. Hotel is very modern, lovely décor. Good location, not far away from the night life, about 10 mins. The local bus goes all the way to downtown, where you can go to Wal-Mart or Mercado 28 – the best place to buy souvenirs.


Negatives:

Food:
It was cold, even in the Mexican restaurant, which is one of the speciality restaurants. Japanese was great, loved the Chef’s tricks. Gourmet was excellent too. Never tried steak. I did get bored of the food after a week, so ended up visiting the local restaurants.

Room service:
Room was sometimes cleaned as late as 3pm. I do not feel as though the room was dusted and our mini bar and drinks were never replenished. I had to ask reception for water, only once I tipped the maid, did she start replenishing the drinks.

Sun beds:
Unfortunately sun beds were being reserved early in the morning, the day beds would go first and would often remain vacant for up to a couple of hours, even though towels are only collectable from 8am. I wish they would remove peoples belongings before 8am as its not fair.

Pricey:
The laundry service is so expensive, you might as well buy new clothing rather than use their laundry service. Also the spa was expensive too, charging about 150 USD for a one hour massage!


This hotel was great, only minor flaws, I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ashah11083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this amazing review with the positive and negatives points about Iberostar Cancun.
We feel so proud to know that you liked the facilities and you had the best service from our amazing staff. We loved to hear that you make an especial mention to our concierges and front desk staff, we will congratulate them.
We would like stress our most sincere apologies that your vacation may not have been everything you would have hoped for. We are very sorry that we could not fulfill all of your expectations this time with some of our services. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration as we try to improve every day. Please be assured that corrective measures have already been taken regarding this points. We would love to have the opportunity to change the perception with the little details you had with another visit in the near future. We would love to host you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was pleased with the service, food, cleanliness, and activities offered at Iberostar Cancun.
This hotel offers great value for you money. Employees are trained well and are very helpful and polite. About the only complaints I have is that there was not a tennis pro available and there was no pool table. The beach was beautiful but the surf is rough and there is a strong undertoe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank tennispr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the Iberostar Cancun. Your feedbacks on your experience with us are very valuable it helps us give a better service to guests.
We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we also thank you for pointing out possible areas of improvement within the hotel so that we can act consequently. We are sorry that you didn´t found a tennis pro and the pool table, we will share this comment with our entertainment manager in order to work on this. We truly look forward to having you back soon, we´ll be thrilled to host you.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I traveled with a group of 5 wonderful women celebrating a "decade" birthday the first week of November. I can't say enough about this beautiful paradise on the beach! Located about 15 minutes from the airport, we arrived in the lobby before 10 am. Yummy drinks were brought to us, and we were actually able to check into our rooms immediately. The Iberostar Cancun is by far the most immaculate resort I have ever stayed at. The security and safety at the resort is such that I would feel totally comfortable traveling there solo. The staff treat you like royalty!! Special thanks to Francisco, Caramelita, Arturo, Alberto, Hugo, Gabriel, Jesus, Brisa, Javier, Marlon and too many others to mention. The birthday gal was serenaded by the Mariachi band and they even took special requests. The wait staff is so impressive. They can't do enough for you. On our last morning before heading to the airport, our breakfast waiter surprised us and came outside to our table with a bottle of champagne!!! We've previously gone on cruises together, but no more. This was the ultimate vacation and all-inclusive to boot. There's so much to do, great activities and shows! Stayed for a week and I never once left the resort. The dining options were amazing. Breakfast at the buffet was a favorite of mine as well as the specialty restaurants. We were able to get reservations at all four with no problem. My only complaint was, unfortunately, that I had to leave the Iberostar Cancun and go back to reality. We were so impressed, we are already planning a return visit!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Capecodafficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very grateful to you for your preference when selecting our hotel for such a special occasion as your friend´s birthday. We are very happy that you felt the kindness and warmness that characterizes us at Iberostar Cancun. Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible so we are delighted to know about the great time you spent in our beautiful hotel.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back; we will do our best to ensure that you have a wonderful experience.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed in Cancun 5 times, usually at the RIU Palace. The Iberostar was significantly superior. The Hotel is immaculately clean, the service is kind and hotel maintenance was there in 5 mins when we ordered a roll a away bed and within 5 mins when we locked ourselves out of our safe.
The Food was the best ever. So fresh and such a variety. All of the restaurants were great. We especially enjoyed 'Sunday', one of the staff. We were served by Sabastian and Rafael in the Buffet and were well taken cared for. Isabella at the front desk was knowledgeable. Even the bar staff remembered what you liked to drink.
The most impressive part was the beach. It was so clean. The lifeguards saved two lives in the water while we were there and that is absolutely PRICELESS!! They watched everyone in the water like hawks and were so thorough.
This was an amazing resort. Can't wait to go again. Your Hotel can make or break your trip and this one made ours.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank zadeh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your sweet review; we love hearing that your stay was Awesome!! It is always reassuring to hear that our staff made your holiday unforgettable. We will congratulate to Sunday, Sebastian, Rafael and Isabella.
And on behalf of the entire staff, we thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you soon here and have another fantastic experience with you at the Iberostar Cancun.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 176 in Cancun
9,437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 176 in Cancun
9,771 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,918 reviews
1.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#16 of 176 in Cancun
6,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $238 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing