We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“Great Resort”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was at this resort on a girls getaway for 5 days. Iberostar Cancun has the perfect vacation! It has one of the nicest and largest beaches of the strip. What impressed me the most was such friendly staff and how they always want to make sure that you are happy with the service. I cannot say anything negative. From the check-in to the bars, to the entertainment staff, and all the staff we met at each one of the restaurants, and room service; this resort is for sure a "5" STAR!!! All of their restaurants are great, but make sure not to miss the Steak House. It is extraordinary!!! Special thanks for the great service of: Javier, Adolfo, and Candelaria. The entertainment staff are great! Thank you Arturo, Jesus, Victor, and Sunday. They make sure you have a great time from morning with fun activities to the evening with great shows.

I look forward to my return with my husband and children.

Susana P.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Allow us to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for your review and recommendations on tripadvisor. We are very happy to know that your time at Iberostar Cancun was great and your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for giving us credit on special points like the service. We feel so glad to hear that our staff could help to make your vacations unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again on your next visit to Cancun.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,847
    1,119
    389
    103
    75
See reviews for
1,824
1,496
109
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is perfect if you want to relax. You're close enough to the action if you want to partake, but far enough away to have peace and quiet.

+amazing beach location with plenty of palapas and lounge chairs
+the restaurants that require reservations were pretty good
+the buffet had plenty of options, especially for breakfast.
+the grounds were very clean and well-maintained
+within a $1 bus ride to shopping, restaurants, and dance clubs
+the lobby bar had all sorts of top-shelf liquors and a cappuccino machine

-the buffet, which is the only option for lunch (outside of the outdoors restaurant which serves hotdogs, hamburgers, and fries), got old after a while. it'd be nice if they had more options.
-the rooms were clean but could use some updating, especially in the bathroom. the shower sprayed water everywhere and wasn't very big.
-there wasn't much to do at the resort at night besides hang out in the lobby and go to the shows put on by the staff...so don't plan on dancing or finding much to do after dinner.
-their wine and champagne selections left much to be desired

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMK628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Even though we had to leave one day early because of hurricane Sandy back home, this was truely one of our best Cancun visits to date. I have been to Cancun at least 15 times over the years, but this was our first stay at the Iberostar. Fantastic!! The building and grounds are beautiful, the service was great, the food is very good, but the people who work there make the trip the best. From the reception desk to every bartender/waiter/maid....all of them make you feel right at home. We had a room with a balcony facing the pool area with the ocean to the left, it was a great view to wake up to every morning. The buffet was great, but if you want a reservation at one of the other restaurants, you have to make them early. On Friday, I was told the steakhouse was already booked through Sunday. We did have dinner at the hibachi and the food was good, and the chef very entertaining. We're already thinking about a return trip to Iberostar for a nice winter vacation...hopefully there won't be any major storms to cut it short because we loved every minute at this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed there for 10 nights in Oct. Me and my wife, and our two boys, ages 4 and 2. We stayed in a Junior Suite, room 631.
We rented a car and drove there from the airport. Easy to get to, and not many people rent a car, so parking was no problem. They have a secure parking lot, but make sure you tell them you have a car so your room key is able to open the gate.
Check in was easy, and the room was everything we expected. Clean, beautiful, and the balcony was big and with a jacuzzi from which you could see the ocean. The architecture was well thought out, so that you have amazing privacy out there. Having an extra room was also welcome. 10 nights with the kids... without getting too graphic, having areas of good privacy was highly appreciated. The cleaning staff: they did a very good job. The only minus was that we had to ask them to clean our jacuzzi one time as it got a bit dirty.
Our first night we took our kids to the Japanese restaurant. Not a good idea with such young kids. They did not want to eat the food, but the staff was nice enough to bring some hot dogs and fries up for the kids. The rest of the days and nights, we ate at the buffet restaurant. The service there was great, and the selection was so large that our boys did not have any problems finding something to eat (they are very picky). And for us adults, we always found something truly tasty to eat.
Our oldest was old enough to be able to stay at the Kids' Club. Victor runs that show. He must be awesome, as our boy just wanted to stay with him all day. You can drop your 4-12 year olds there from 10:00 to 17:00. They go to the pool, do arts and crafts, watch movies, play games. My boy really wanted to spend his time there.
Victor also runs a short but fun "show" at the theater area at 8PM where they get to dance and play some games. We only made it to two of them at the end of our trip because either the kids were too tired or we were too tired to go earlier on. We kind of regret this now. On one night there were only 4 kids, but Victor runs the show like a professional, and does not let his energy go down even though there may only be a few kids there. The only regret is that our 2 year old was too young to go to Kids' Club. Trust me, your kids will love it.
The pools were great for the kids. They have some slides, which our kids loved. Safe as well. No deep water there for the young ones to get into trouble.
This was our first time traveling outside of the US with our kids. My first time at an "all-inclusive". While I would not stay at a resort if I was traveling by myself (I like to get out of the hotels I stay in as quickly as possible and see the sights), Iberostar Cancun was a very fine choice for this vacation.
To finish, I want to thank the entire staff there for being really nice and helpful. Our kids had a great experience and a lot of it was due to the fact that we stayed at this hotel.

Room Tip: We loved our Jr. Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank erharuspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second visit to the Iberostar Cancun. The staff is always very accomdating. The grounds are immaculate. The rooms are nice, neat and clean. The "Star" team does a tremendous job keeping activity going thru out the day for everyone This property is a true gem in Cancun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Tex99_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I spent our 29th anniversary at this hotel in July. The lobby looked like we walked into a Las Vegas hotel. We stayed at a balcony overlooking the pool. It had a lovely view. The room was very comfortable. We were there for 5 days but only at the "Gourmet Restaurant" (French) once. It was very good but the staff was not that friendly. The shows were better than other resort shows I've seen. The staff works really hard trying to get everybody to have a good time around the pool and beach. The drinks at the pool bar were very good.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Cancun for this special occasion; we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful anniversary at our resort.
We are very glad to learn that you loved our lobby and all the facilities, also we feel so proud that you found our staff to be "friendly, kind and helpful."
In regards to your inconvenience with the service at the gourmet restaurant we will pass your comment to the person that is in charge of this place to work on it, remember that Iberostar always look the best for our guest.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to provide you with another unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed 10/10/12 to 10/18/12.
Iberostar has one of the best locations in the hotel zone in Cancun. It owns the large territory, so the guests don’t feel confined to the building and a narrow section of the beach. Iberostar’s beach is one of the largest in Cancun and on the property there are gardens and pathways where one can enjoy a peaceful stroll after supper if desired. While walking along the coastline we have seen the other hotels’ beaches, and Iberostar’s was one of the most aesthetically pleasing, spacious and very well maintained. Sunbeds and shades are always available, any time of day, either on the beach or around the pool. There is a bar right on the beach, but if you do not feel like getting up, the personnel is cruising the beach constantly and will bring you whatever you order. Their cocktails are delicious, and, while on the drinks topic, I have to say that they offer a very good quality alcohol.
The building is an architectural gem. It is constructed so that all the rooms have ocean view, and guests don’t have to pay extra to have this luxury, which makes this hotel more affordable. In addition to it, if you have a balcony, it is completely private. While on the balcony you don’t see or hear your neighbors, and no one sees you. This is not the case in many other hotels.
We found the food to be very good. Plenty of healthy choices, always fresh. Hygienic situation there seems to be very trustworthy. We have seen workers checking the food with thermometers. They have a stand for diabetics and also offer some gluten free products. We have experienced all four restaurants. Reservations were quick and easy. My personal favorite was still the buffet, because of the variety.
Staff is pleasant and helpful. Nobody looks overworked, or unhappy. I agree with the other reviewers that the entertainment team is excellent. Always inviting but never pushy. Every day there is an evening show, after which there is a live band playing and people stay and dance and enjoy the drinks from the bar located right in the theatre.
The rooms are not luxury but very comfortable, just like on the pictures. Bathroom mirrors are built so that one can see oneself from 360 degrees, which is a nice touch.
Room for improvement: the hotel seems to be lacking the rooms with king size bed. If staying in one is important for you, I would recommend getting in touch with the hotel and get some kind of confirmation from them that you are requesting a king, because I have seen this in other reviews and I and my husband had to stay in a two double beds room. After a couple of days, however, they offered to change the room, but we did not want to bother with packing and unpacking as well as moving from 8th floor to the 3rd.
Another bothersome thing is the expensive 15 USD/24hr and low quality internet. Hopefully this will improve, as plenty of the hotels around already offer free Wi-Fi.
It is very easy to get from the hotel to Cancun and back. There are many great excursions offered which you will not regret taking.
To summarize: this is the great hotel, I think, one of the best in the Hotel zone. Excellent value for money, never felt crowded, very clean, beautiful grounds, and, of course, people that work there, make it all happen.
We would gladly return (especially if they fix the internet) and we are definitely recommending Cancun and Iberostar to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19EM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#16 of 175 in Cancun
6,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing