We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Cancun You Rock!”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Iberostar Cancun You Rock!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Dear Iberostar,
My family and I just arrived home to California after a week stay at Iberostar Cancun. We cannot tell you enough what an EXCELLENT/FUN/MEMORABLE vacation this was for us. The "Star Friends" (Erika, Viktor, Jesus, Francisco, Arturo, Juan, & Edy) just to name a few made this vacation one to remember. We had so much fun participating in on stage games, pool activities, beach volleyball, and other fun games. We will definitely be recommending your resort to people we know traveling to Cancun.
We would have liked a larger variety of restaurants, but all had GREAT Food & Service.
Thank you so much for making this trip one we will never forget.
Until next time...John, Dalena, Jalena, & Jacquelyn and Austin

Room Tip: OceanView Room has breathe-taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,743
    1,076
    374
    97
    66
See reviews for
1,719
1,461
106
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I had fun at Iberostar all the people were really nice and the star friends were really fun to talk to. They wanted to know how your day was and made you feel comfortable in a different environment. My personal favorites were the drinks and the men that worked around the pool; Arturo Gama :). I hope that i can go back someday and experience it all over again. Great job Iberostar and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eshia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights in July 2011 in this hotel. The hotel was part of the Hilton chain at the time but Iberostar bought it since then.

The hotel is located 15-minutes cab ride away from the airport which is quite convenient. The main tourist city centre (Plaza Kukulkan, restaurants) is only a short ride away which means that it is easily accessible but the noise and crowds will not interrupt your holiday. The building looks like a concrete pyramid but it clearly maximises the number of ocean-view rooms which is great. The foyer and reception with marble floors looks elegant. Our room was clean but looked a bit like poorly. The stone floors made the room a bit “cold” but I understand that carpets with such high humidity would be a bad idea. The bathroom was small but it was clean. The fact that the vanity mirror area was outside of the bathroom but separate from the bedroom was very convenient.

The `Spices` restaurant was very casual and food was average, same can be said about the pizza restaurant. Middle category that I would expect from an all-inclusive hotel. I ate fish tacos at the pool bar and they were delicious. The pool was great, catering for all ages and looked straight out to the Ocean.

Unfortunately it was pouring down all day from our second day onwards. Given that we were stuck in our room, we tried the gym which was well-equipped and not crowded at all (table tennis also available). As there is not much to do generally in Cancun when it rains, we started thinking about Plan B on our second day. The hotel manager, Maria Banza was amazing and we are so thankful to her. She spent at least 1.5 hours with us cancelling our tours, cancelling the next leg of our trip and organising a trip to Hilton Los Cabos (where the sun was shining!). We drove to Chichen Itza on the last day and in the meantime she completed all of our bookings, organised VIP check-in for us in Cabo and even offered not to charge us for the nights that we did not spend at Hilton Cancun. Best service from a Hotel Manager!

Overall the service was excellent, the beach and pool was great, the rooms and restaurants were average but – in good weather – you are set to have a good time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Overall I liked the resort, but it's not a perfect place to travel with the baby (mine is 15 months). We couldn't enjoy kids pool because it was not heated,he weather was quite chilly, though the main pool was heated. The shower is rain kind ,it's good but not flexible, I had to hold the baby all the time while in shower. The sea is great, but too wavy for the kids of any age. The cribs are OK, the sheets were clean. On the day of arrival we were given the box of milk to put in the fridge, that was convenient. On December 31 we had to have reservation to enter the main buffet, but they let us come without it, and offered yogurt for the baby and some other light food - thank you. The personal was very good,especially in the buffet and STARS team. The only complains are for those slow ladies on the guest service and our apple vacation representative.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were there Dec 24th through 30th, 2011. Enjoyed the experience a lot. We had a room with Balcony and front desk accommodated our request to which side of the hotel we wanted it to be at. The room was decent to good. The balcony was nice sized too. Mini bar including beer and bottled water which was included in all-inclusive. (that way we observed no nickle and diming). Drink choices in lobby and other bar areas were good - not top of the line, yet better than average. We personally found the staff to be as friendly and helpful as much as possible given the 99% occupancy during the holiday time. Food choices were plenty and good as well. The Pool area and Beach is really good.

Getting reservations at the gourmet restaurants was a hassle - but not to be unexpected in a resort. Except - most of these restaurants were half empty at most times - so Iberostar should consider increasing capacity. The whole card for towel scheme was archaic - and fellow travelers squatting spots early in the morning was something one observed and then played along. Having said that we always found a spot -

I think Iberostar having taken this over recently would have to adjust staffing levels - there were some spots of perpetual long waits or no/lo service. Concierge desk was always swamped (even though they were as helpful as they could be and always with a smile). The pool area had spotty service - but drinks were never more than 20 yards away.

The internet access was tricky - only in lobby - sometimes did not work etc. But the whole point of a vacation is to not be on the computer :)

The music/noise from the lobby was a little bothersome - but that was also due to the fact that we had such a full day that we hit the bed by 10:30 - 11.

So all in all - we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I recently visited the resort from Dec 25th to Dec 30th with a group of 35 for the holidays. This is my third visit to Mexico this year and my first at an Iberostar. While there were some highlights of this trip, (mostly the people I traveled with and the beautiful weather) there were many issues that could have been avoided if the resort had their act together. I realize that it was Christmas week, an insanely busy time to be in Cancun, and that they had been open just a month, but with sister resorts in the area, the opening should not be used as an excuse. This is a long albeit, honest review.
TOWEL CARDS: What a pain this was! You received one towel card per person and if you lost the card, you had to pay. The funny part about this is that the towels were awful…thin and worn…not something anyone would want to take home! This also led to what was the worst chair saving I have ever seen at a resort. People would place their towels on chairs beginning at 6:30 AM!!! Yes, you read that right. The first day, you could not find a chair after 8:30 but then they got smart, and brought out some extra chairs. Forget about getting any shade though..those were gone by 7! Now, I know when a resort is full that this happens but usually, if a seat is unoccupied for a long period of time (which was very common here) the towels were removed and someone else could use the seat. However, because of the whole towel card issue, no one wanted to remove someone else’s towels (understandable) which resulted in prime seats on the beach and around the pool empty for most of the day.
LONG LINES: You have to wait in line a lot at this resort (not what I like to do on vacation). First, we waited in line at check-in. While I was with a big group, only half of us checked in together, ½ hour before official check in and only one room was available. So, they told us all to come back in ½ hour. Wait in line, get to desk, room still not ready. Come back again….wait in line, you get the picture. Every time you needed something from the front desk, you waited in a long line. You also waited in long lines at the buffet if you wanted to have anything cooked for you and then there were the reservation lines.
RESERVATIONS: Upon check-in, this was never mentioned but we knew about it because of TA. (As a matter of fact, they tell you NOTHING about the resort upon check-in) You wait in line (see the theme) only at certain hours of the day to try to make a reservation at one of their restaurants. You could get one reservation and then were told to come back at another time to get another, yes, more lines. We were told on numerous occasions that a restaurant was booked but when you went by it was more than ½ empty. The gourmet was the worst. We actually did get a reservation for two one night. We asked if another couple could join us (the tables fit four) and we were rudely denied. Mind you, the restaurant was only at ¼ of its capacity. Also, you could not just walk up to a restaurant and add your name, no reservation, no entrance, period.
ROOMS: Basic hotel room, you could tell this had been a Hilton. They had a small mini-bar with sodas and beer and a flat-screen TV. The bathroom sink area was great with lots of space but the toilet and shower/bathtub were squished together and made it hard to maneuver. The shower had a half glass wall so water goes everywhere. Unlike others, we never had issues with water pressure. We were originally given a double (after our long wait) but after much haggling and waiting, we were given a room on the 8th floor. It had a great view (see pictures) but no balcony…just sliders that opened up. As stated earlier, we were with a large group and what was odd is that some singles received king-sized beds while many couples were placed in doubles. They just didn’t seem like they had a clue. A few of our party were place in the villas and while the ocean front rooms had excellent views, the rooms were basic like ours. At night, you could hear the lobby bar music coming up to the room but I think it wasn’t as noisy b/c there aren’t as many rooms on the 8th floor.
RESTAURANTS: Buffet is available all three meals. Personally, I am not a buffet person but don’t mind it for breakfast. Not a fan at dinner even thought their shrimp was delicious. We never made it to the gourmet after they were so rude to us but one couple did and said the food was good.
MEXICAN: We were able to get two large reservations at this one (after many waits in lines) and they let us put our tables together so 16 o f us could eat together (it was at 9pm and NO ONE else was in the restaurant). The apps are buffet but you can order off a menu for your main meal. The waiters were very good and made it a fun experience. Most people liked their meals but the fish dishes were the least favorites.
STEAK: Once again, we had a late reservation (9pm) so they let us put a bunch of our tables together so we could eat together. Apps again were a buffet and you ordered your main meal. It was someone in our parties b-day and they had the mariachi band sing and the waiters made a special hat and drink for him. This was fun and the staff really made it so. My husband and I went back just the two of us our last night and had a good experience again. We were pleasantly surprised that the tenderloin was decent since that is not always the case in Mexican resorts.
JAPANESE/HIBACHI: It was set up before we arrived at the hotel that we would all eat here one night together so they gave us two hibachi tables (there are four in all) The hibachi show was the worst I have ever seen and the food was just okay. The highlight was that we were all together.
LUNCH could be at the main buffet, a smaller buffet at the Mexican restaurant on the beach, or at a burger/bar between the pool and main buffet. They made excellent burgers here and you could always find a member of our group having lunch here.
A highlight of the trip was the cappuccinos. Both the lobby bar and the burger bar made excellent cappuccinos. We couldn’t get enough of them.
Overall, the fish was very disappointing here. Besides the shrimp, I really didn’t have any seafood I enjoyed and usually on our Mexican trips, we tend to stick to the seafood because it is usually so good. At the buffets, they would have the fish sitting out to be cooked to order with no ice around it. Big turn off for us.
BARS: The entire bar staff were very friendly but the liquor selection was very limited. The top vodka was Absolut and only at the lobby bar could you find Don Julio. No cranberry or grapefruit juice could be found on the property at a bar; in fact, we took some extra grapefruit from the buffet one day to add to our drinks. We were very disappointed in the overall quality and selection of the drinks.
SERVICE: In the restaurants and bars, the overall service was good. At times in the buffet, it was difficult to get coffee etc. We NEVER had service around the pool nor on the beach, NEVER! Everyone in our group tipped and I don’t think it made much of a difference. The front desk/concierge were not the most accommodating but I really can’t blame them..this seemed to be a management issue. The dinner reservations should not be with the concierge b/c there was ALWAYS a long line here. Also, they had a business center way down by the conference rooms which cost money and no printer. We tried numerous times to get to print our boarding passes and luckily, we hit upon the nicest person who let us go behind the concierge desk to print them (but then disappeared…no printer working in that room….had to go to front desk…line…printed them there..what a pain)
BEACH: The beach is beautiful with soft white sand. The waves are big and if you are not a strong swimmer, you need to be careful. The lifeguards had us all swimming in small areas because of riptides but they constantly were blowing their whistles which could get annoying at times. There was some trash washed up in various places that we saw them pick up in the morning. Very few vendors on the beach this time.
POOL: This is one of the nicest infinity pools I have seen. It is huge and has a large pool bar attached. We are not pool people but found ourselves in this pool every day. They also have a great kid’s pool with a lot of cool things going on.
ENTERTAINMENT: At night, there is a piano player/singer in the lobby bar and shows in the theater. The theater is huge and well done and the shows are typical resort shows, entertaining but not spectacular. The STARS crew was very active; I don’t think they ever sleep. We saw them every day on the beach trying to get people to join in with dance lessons, beach or pool volleyball, etc. They were also around every night to encourage people to go to shows. They were one of the best entertainment crews that I’ve ever seen working the rounds. There is also a small sports bar upstairs from the main lobby. They had Monday night football on and did karaoke etc in there. I have two main complaints here….not much to do at night. It would have been nice to have music/dancing etc down near the water. They have a beautiful space that they do not use. Also, there were no newsletters or handouts to let you know what was going on every day. There seemed to be a lot of activities going on but you wouldn’t know unless you walked upon it or ran into a STARS member. They need to advertise what show was occurring each night rather than just word of mouth.
GYM: Small for this size resort. 3 elliptical (bring your sunglasses if you work out in the morning) 3 treadmills though 2 were broken all week, a few machines, and 2 bikes. There was a trainer (?) there in the morning who seemed to just chase you down if you walked out with a small gym towel (seriously). They had a water bubbler but would run out of cups. You had to ask for spray to wipe down the machines…really. The views from the gym were beautiful looking out at the ocean on one side and the golf course on the other.
We had a wonderful time because we were with a group of friends, we had wonderful weather, and the beach/pool were awesome. However, I don’t like to stand in line when on vacation.
OVERALL, this is a 3 star resort. There are a lot of little service items that they need to fix: reservations, lines, towel cards, pool/beach service, etc. As my DH said, “They just don’t seem to be accommodating” and that sums it up!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank jneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We just came back from a stay at Iberostar Cancun. We traveled from 12/31 - 1/7. OUr stay was phenomal. This was our 10th all inclusive trip with Apple Vacations. The hotel lobby is beautiful when you walk in. The staff was friendly and couertous. The food was good, but much more seafood options than regular food, but we still enjoyed it. The pools and entertaintment staff is great. Jesus was a great guy and really knows how to entertain. The only downside I can think of is maybe it could be a little more cleaner. Overall, the trip was great and we plan on coming back again in the warmer months. Stan & Margaret from Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelingCouple60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,923 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing