We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN! Don't walk..to Paradise- At Iberostar-Cancun”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our family of four-Mom,Dad,Son & Daughter made our 3rd visit to an Iberostar property. (We had been to Paraiso Del Mar and the MAYA). The Cancun resort just opened, and the staff made everything right and wonderful!!! It is so clear the people love their work and want nothing more to please you. (And they did!) The management is accessible too! The STAR friends were our kids and our favorites, along with Henry, our daily waiter at the buffet. Every STAR friend--Alberto-the Boss,Ouziel, Juan Carlos,Edy,Arturo,Jesus,Ericka,Victor (Kids Club--ADORABLE!),the Scuba instructors Barna & Elizabeth--all MAGNIFICO! We felt safe in every way and for our kids too.

There is so much food and drink-all delicious. There are activities all day, excursions (which are extra), and night time entertainment. So great.

Just go to Iberostar--it's the best. You will come back sad for having to leave, but relaxed, happy and loved by so many people.

Room Tip: Villas have most room. Standard rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,212 - 3,218 of 4,639 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

We got our package from Apple and they provided transfer to and from airport which was a plus. I booked this hotel just becasue the price for Palace resorts went way up when I was ready to book! also this hotel has it's own golf course and my son and husband played there many times during twilight fee. The nice concierge people will take you with a cart across the street and you will be treated very well if you are a golfer!!!
They need to post better and more pictures of this beautiful hotel! becasue their photos do not do justice! They lobby, the grounds, the beach the views was just perfect. Our room was a standard oceanview in third floor, great views of the pool and ocean. Tried, but could not get an upgrade :( to the balcony or jacuzzi balcony room. But we did not miss much! we were so busy enjoying the pool and beach and also they have daily activities at the pool like water aerobics, dance lessons, bingo, pingpong and may more. They have a nice gym which I only used once! They have filtered water to drink and make drinks with, so don't worry too much about the water like I was. I even took antibiotics with me, luckily did not have to use it. They have an excellent buffet with great variety. You will not get bored with it. Also there is a Mexican restaurant by the beach wich sereves late breakfast and luch and also dinner by reservasions. I must say the only reason I did not give this hotel 5 star was becasue their upscale restaurant did not provide 5 star food! They only one I recommend is the Mexican and they have two great fish options on the menu. The French and Japanease were least favorite. Don't try the sushi. But he prepared stir fry is not bad. We were happy with buffet and the Mexican. This is a great stay for a family not young party people! They do have great nightly entertaintment at the theatre for the entire family and some dance lessons at the end of the show which ends at 11:00 I am so happy I took a chance at Iberostar and we had such a great time! Do not forget to tip the hard working nice staff, from room cleanig crew to the wait staff and the sweetest omlet making lady that smiles while stands behind the hot stove all day in the buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank triphugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Six night stay here was a disappointment. We have stayed happily at Iberostars in Paraiso and Playa del Carmen for the past 15 years, visiting many times. This hotel really damages the brand. Start with extremely small bathrooms, where you could not imagine that someone fit a bathtub/shower and toilet into such a small space. Definitely not up to Iberostar standards.
We think of Iberostar as representing impeccable service; general service here in housekeeping and dining room was quite disappointing -- as though there is no management, everyone operating on autopilot. Two of six days, we had to call at the end of the day to ask that our room be cleaned, even though we had the 'please clean' sign out since mid morning. Repeatedly had to ask for towels and water.
The dining room service was entirely random. Sometimes you may have a person greet you and show you to a table, other times it was every party seat yourself. You may wait for 15 minutes to have a waiter arrive to your table to take a drink order. Rather than a waiter assigned to your table, five or six different waiters will wander by at random. We got the distinct impression that no one was in charge of the dining room -- no supervision or assurance of service that distinguishes other Iberostars.
At checkin, there was no effort to explain the specialty restaurants, and at checkout, not even the simplest question, "Did you enjoy your stay?"
The beautiful Cancun beach, general well kept if simple grounds, and acceptable food were redeeming positives, but not enough to convince us that this Iberostar is worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamlyTravlr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Just returned after a 6 night stay at the Iberostar, Cancun. I have to couch my review by saying that this was our first time in Cancun and first stay at an all inclusive.
The good - The pool, the beach, the 'public areas' are stunning, the theater, the cigar bar, the buffet, the staff
Areas for improvement - the rooms, the gourmet restaurants, the front desk and concierge, service,

All the public area (4.5 star quality) and bathrooms (3.5 star quality) have been updated,. The rest of the rooms are looking pretty ratty. Barely a 3 star quality.

All rooms have ocean view. Room numbers on each floor that end in 1 through 20 look over the convention center to the ocean and probably have a quieter view. Rooms 20-40 have balconies and ocean views. Rooms 40 and over look over the pool area to the ocean. Rooms with no balconies have sliders allowing for a balcony like feeling but no real balcony. The bathrooms in the rooms have been refreshed but the rest of the room is pretty much untouched from the Hilton days (perhaps with the exception of a new TV) that was pretty sad!

During our stay the resort completely opened up - nothing was closed anymore. It felt like they were somewhat understaffed and I know this weekend they are expecting a full house so I would expect it to be a bit crazy. I could tell the staff was starting to feel a bit overwhelmed.

Concierge desk was unstaffed often, and the front desk staff were not pitching in to help. We had a heck of a time getting reservations at their 'gourmet restaurants' (we never got one for the first three nights of our stay) and when we actually go in - they were never full. I was surprised to see someone who had just checked in eating there when were told that nothing was available the first three days of our stay.

Pool area and staff was one highlight - these are the same folks who put on the show in the evenings and they do a superb job of encouraging involvement and never overbearing. The evening show under the big Palapas was average, but without it the evenings would have been boring, so i was thankful for that.

Business center was non-existent and wifi service was only available in the lobby (and that too inconsistent in quality). On the plus side, this made the lobby the hub and it was always very lively. Lobby entertainment in the evening (piano and singer) was a hit or miss in quality.

Food was surprisingly good and plentiful at the buffet. The buffet restaurant was well lit and open and had a nice feel to it. Kudos to the wait staff and service staff there. The gourmet restaurants were average where food was concerned, but service and ambiance were very good.

We had a good vacation, but it could have been better. Will post some pictures soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanFam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is my third visits in a Iberostar and enjoy all 3 of them,but this one need major renovation.

1- Nice heated pools
2- Good food at the buffet but the 'restaurants a la carte' nothing special.
3- Red flag at the beach all week (nothing to do with the hotel)
4- Good premium drink
5- But the ROOMS: Old rusty bathtub in our first room, change in a junior suite and this one had a dirty and old jacuzzi on the balcony at least 20 years old

It's still the old Hilton and will need alot of improvement before using tthe name IBEROSTAR

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielCloutier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I booked a trip to Cancun on December 5th. The grand opening for this hotel was on December 1st. This hotel is old, and needs a major facelift! It really is nothing like other iberostar hotels. Our room was old, and kind of dirty. Most of the restaurants weren't open. We didn't have hot water in our room,except for one day. Even though we asked repeatedly to have it fixed. The hot tub on our balcony was really gross. The peep hole in our door was just a hole in the door, which they did fix. The gift shop was not up and running until day 3, but only took cash, they had no visa or interac hook up yet. Most of the staff tried they're best for the most part, except for one rude waitress, other than that they were very good. We ended up asking to be moved to an iberostar Maya Parasio, about half an hour away in the Mayan, Now that's a real Iberostar!!! We only found out we could move after hearing about it from other guests who had asked to be moved as well. So, we had 3 good days of a 7 day vacation. We spent a considerable amount of money to book this trip, so we feel we kind of got ripped off. Oh well, just getting the word out, don't waste your money on this hotel, it's just not worth it!! We have another vacation booked for Jamaica in Febuary, at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, hopefully this experience will be better, we can't afford another disappointing experience. It has a very good reputation, so I think it will be fine.

Room Tip: This is not a resort, it's just a hotel on a beautiful beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GREATNORTH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at Iberostar in December and enjoyed our time thoroughly. For being in the first few weeks of operations (since the reopening) we felt the staff, restaurants and amenities were top-notch. The resort has four dinner restaurants which provide plenty of variety for guests. We had dinner one night with a very picky guest at the hibachi Japanese restaurant and the staff when above and beyond to accommodate her.

The resort was not full of guests by any means, but we enjoyed that aspect of it. There were plenty of chairs by both the pool and ocean and there was never a need to get up early to find a spot by the water. The pool also had a separate area for kids (connected to the larger pools) along with an activity center. We don't have children of our own, but thought it would be a good environment for a family vacation. We went to one show during our stay and it was entertaining. Not quite Broadway, but it was fun and a good way to spend the evening.

If you go, make sure to check out the Cigar bar and don't forget the room service is included with all-inclusive stays. As the title of this review says... we will be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, but only a few have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2cTheworld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,509 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,956 reviews
1.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#16 of 177 in Cancun
6,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $246 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing