We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likely the best on the strip... but still Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Likely the best on the strip... but still Cancun”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is one of the best Inter-Continental Hotels. Especially their Club Floor. I've stayed at this location several times when arriving or departing the Mayan Riveria area. Although the building is a little older, the rooms are up-to-date and the beach is excellent.

Room Tip: Club Floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    649
    198
    89
    63
See reviews for
634
959
99
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

After fantastic Cozemul Presidente experience this Hotel was an absolute let down. There are many many choices to stay in Cancun. But do not choose this one. After long journey from Cozemul, upon check in the receptionist informed us that they shall be charging extra $35/day for my child. I showed her my confirmed online reservation document that clearly indicated the rate with one child under 12 yr old. She refused to accept my online reservation telling me that central reservation system made a mistake. If there is a mistake then they should honor it. Yes, she did finally accepted it after my insisting on calling the manager. - Right there i had a sour experience before even i walked into the room. And i had booked ocean view (paid extra). She gave me on the 3rd floor overlooking pool. If you do intend to stay here.....recommend highly to eat outside. There is a great bus service or take a cab to the mall called la Isla. I know you want to eat local cuisine....but try this....Incredible choices. At this mall MUST EAT AT diner called MADONNA! Excellent italian cuisine with amazing decor.

Room Tip: Dont ask for ocean view...it is a rip off....ocean is way far and you end up seeing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Jay p,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations and service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
278 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Older looking from outside, but the rooms are renovated and VERY nice! We had 228 with a view into the garden. Even numbered rooms have view towards the hotel garden and those on higher floors also to the sea. Odd numbered rooms overlook Avenida Kukulkán (the main street) and eventually the lagoon behind it.

Location is perfect, you can walk to Coco Bongo and the entertainment center of Cancun in about 10 - 15 minutes. Beach is beautiful, wide with palm trees. The hotel has two big pools. I don´t know if it is because the hotel is smaller or because it was not full, but there was lots of space everywhere, free sunbeds, we did not have to fight for good spots and that felt really good!

I did not find the prices in their restaurant too high (as some reviews mention).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
602 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Hotel has a good location on the beach. The lobby is Mexican Modern. The staff was friendly. The room was large and the shower was good. The breakfast was outstanding. The breakfast was included in our room rate. The hotel is a little dated but still a good choice.

Room Tip: ASk for a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First of all, I like to say to the post by Ivan_Safronov. His post is not a hotel review, but a review of the ihg.com and their reward members. You only posted 1 review which is this to complaint about the reward club but not about the actual hotel. As a tripadvisor member, I really wish I have the power to ban your ip from the face of the earth.

Now back to topic. Before I put my review for this hotel, I am a Plat IHG member, and not a ambassador status with IC.

I book my stay last month in Oct for this month 4 nights since it was my b-day. When we arrive at the hotel, the lobby seem really neat, and nice. I had read previous review regarding this was an old hotel that had gone through a lot of renovations. The staff for the check in were very friendly, well the females only. The males give us a lot of attitude, especially the ones that work at the bars. I book a regular room, and they give me a room 1st floor with hammock balcony which was really cool. Now to the actual review of the room.

The room was hard stone/ fake marble floors. Beds were comfy enough. Everything was the IC standard, which I have been to few. The only things I did not like were the bathroom. The Bathtube were old, or broken?? it feel soft floor for the bathtube, and it will hold a bit of waters. I'm guess they did not do a correct installation or something. They also need to add a fan or air vent in there, or else you need to open the bathroom door to air out the steams or things. The beaches were very nice, and pool staff were nice too.

Also, if your trying to keep budget for this hotel I would suggest:

Eat muffin or sandwich which sells at the lobby for 350 Peso / 660 Peso.
Their restaurant price is comparable to local restaurants, so save some walk and eat there instead.
Bus is right outside, so is very easy to get to downtown or the port for ferry. 9.5 Peso each way.
If you don't want to eat at the hotel, go across to the right side of hotel, for cheap sushi (in another review.)

Also the Hotel do have breakfast for manual 8 - 14 dollars, or Buffet style of either $250 Peso or 25 Dollar which I forgot per person.

Room Tip: Old hotel, you can hear the rooms if they are a bit loud............
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbabyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is easy to decipher; awesome beach/waterfront, staff, and remodeled rooms. Club Level F&B better than expected. The singular problem for me was this hotel failed to deliver an authentic Mexican vacation experience. The lobby and restaurants were eerily quiet by day, reminiscent of a nursing home, and no real difference in the evening, other than looped American videos played in the lobby bar at night. I wonder why the lobby bar never attracted a crowd. No live DJs or Mariachi bands required, but a little effort to deliver some atmosphere anywhere in the hotel could make a real difference. Thanks Gregorio, Gustavo and others, and will return when prescribed by doctor to abstain from any and all stimulation or excitement of ANY kind.

Room Tip: Only sixth floor has balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colorado321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear colorado321,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering a world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second time back to the Presidente this year, and again it exceeded our expectations. The staff is so helpful, kind and just fun to be with. They cater to your needs without being overbearing. The value for the price is good. Some locals stay over the weekends and gives the guests a great chance to interact with the locals. We've made some great new friends there. The food is good, the staff awesome, the beach the best in Cancun, and the location great! If you're looking for a "jumping place" where the booze flows, the people party all night, and you're staggering back to your room...this isn't the place for you. If you want great rooms (newly renovated), a real family atmosphere, good food at a reasonable price and the opportunity to interact with the staff, locals and management...this is the hotel for you. On many of our stays, the General Manager, Natalie has personally greeted us. All the employees call us by name and wait on our every need. Being at the Ambassador level in the IHG family of hotels, this hotel rates very high on our score card. As one TV commercial said; "Try it...you'll like it!"

Room Tip: Beach view rooms overlook the pool, restaurants, beach and sea. However, the lagoon facing rooms giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Welcome back to our hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel once again for your vacations. I am glad to hear we contributed in making your trip a memorable one. We hope to have you again in the near future, and we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Property: Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing