We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best hotel in Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Ranked #17 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second time back to the Presidente this year, and again it exceeded our expectations. The staff is so helpful, kind and just fun to be with. They cater to your needs without being overbearing. The value for the price is good. Some locals stay over the weekends and gives the guests a great chance to interact with the locals. We've made some great new friends there. The food is good, the staff awesome, the beach the best in Cancun, and the location great! If you're looking for a "jumping place" where the booze flows, the people party all night, and you're staggering back to your room...this isn't the place for you. If you want great rooms (newly renovated), a real family atmosphere, good food at a reasonable price and the opportunity to interact with the staff, locals and management...this is the hotel for you. On many of our stays, the General Manager, Natalie has personally greeted us. All the employees call us by name and wait on our every need. Being at the Ambassador level in the IHG family of hotels, this hotel rates very high on our score card. As one TV commercial said; "Try it...you'll like it!"

Room Tip: Beach view rooms overlook the pool, restaurants, beach and sea. However, the lagoon facing rooms giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Welcome back to our hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel once again for your vacations. I am glad to hear we contributed in making your trip a memorable one. We hope to have you again in the near future, and we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 2,574 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

As this was our first holiday with our baby, under 1, we were quite apprehensive and tried to research as best we could, a suitable accommodation choice. The intercontinental most definitely exceeded our expectations. The hotel made arrangements for a cot and hot water to be sent to us everyday for the bottles. The beach had stable, crystal clear and blue waters, ideal to take young children in and the pool and whirlpool areas were perfect. The breakfast had an abundance of choices and again our son was well accommodated for by providing us with high chairs etc. Apart from the beautiful settings, by far the staff were without a doubt the main element of making our holiday so special. Every single staff member was so friendly, made us feel welcome and part of the intercontinental family. The two staff members that should get a special mention was Mariana Garduno who was the restaurant host. She was absolutely fantastic and really tried her very best to ensure that we enjoyed the holiday as much as our son. She would greet us with the most beautiful smile everyday and to this day we miss her very much. Daniel Romo who worked as part of front of house, was always happy to assist and helped us with information regarding the local area and best places to go. The information provided was spot on every time. Both staff members are invaluable to the Intercontinental, Cancun and represent the company in it's best light. The hotel and Cancun itself is a highly recommended destination for anyone with small children. If you can get over the plane journey, highly advised to get a direct flight if not you will still survive, a brill choice for a family get away.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mamta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We totally appreciate your kind comments. It’s great to see you liked our rooms, restaurants and beach. Thank you for pointing out the service received by our staff – especially by Mariana and Daniel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

If your a high point getter in IHG or an ambassador this hotel is not for you. It's nice, pretty, and has a quiet good beach, but the noise level in the rooms and the customer service of management is horrible. I had an incident the first day of a 10 day stay and the manager Nathalie was nothing but rude and unprofessional to me and I am a long time IHG member, and have stayed in my share of inter-continental's around the world. My advice is do not stay here, but if you do, you can get good deals on trips if you talk to Octavio or Raul. They are sales men for a timeshare type thing in this hotel, but they will be straight up with you and give you good local advice. Very Friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sad to hear that you perceived the noise level of our rooms too high. Regarding your incident, I understand that you do not agree with our hotel’s policies but these are not unique for any global hotel chain and are shared to our guests.

Once again, I am truly sad that we did not meet your expectations because we always strive to please our guests during their stay.

Sincerely yours,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Well run efficient hotel. The rooms are very modern. Internet is slightly patchy but works even by the pool. There is even a charging point for your laptops by the pool, which is very handy if you are out by the pool all day.

The beach is fantastic. Clear blue water etc and not as much waves. Jet ski available for hire but a little pricey.

A couple of shops and cheap cafés across the road. Plenty of buses into town. Airport transfer 300 pesos. No cash machine at the hotel

Overall a very pleasant two night stay at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and impression of the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us what a positive experience you had.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cancun.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had the chance to enjoy this hotel last September and we were very happy with the service.
Location: When you travel to Cancun you must be aware about the weather from August to November. However, during the rest of the year you might get some windy days. This hotel has a fantastic position avoiding all problems with the weather. No waves and a wonderfull blue ocean with white sand in front of you.
Service: We were upgraded to Club Lounge and we were amazed with the kindness of all hotel team. Every day they were aware about my Gluten Allergy and always they had something prepared for me. 10 out of 10! The only negative is the service at the beach, with few waiters walking around. Still I will keep maximum score for the hotel.
Price: The rate is always changing but the food and drinks price is a bit high. But since you are on vacations in Cancun, that’s the price on the majority of Resort’s around.
Facilities: Beach is wonderfull. Pool with the jacuzzi’s are phenomenal. Restaurant’s a bit dated but with a great service. Parking for free, including valet. Lounge is not so big but has nice hors d’oeuvres and breakfast.
Room: Good size with an integrated bathroom. No Jacuzzi, just shower. Nice amenities and a big bed with great comfort. Sorry, but we didn’t check the channels.
Special thanks to Victorio for the kind attention during our stay! We definitely expect to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EduardoStruve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you sincerely for commending our service team in this regard. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to Presidente InterContinental Cancun in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Presidente but overall it was a nice and pleasant experience. The hotel staff was very friendly. The bell men, in particular was wonderful. He gets a gold star for his knowledge and positive attitude for live. Unfortunately our room did not come with a wifi connection. Make sure to verify that your rate and room come with wifi. The hotel shop was nice for convenience. The beach is supposedly one of the best beaches in Cancun. With clean powder white sand, and a very large beach front it's hard to argue. This quite business friendly hotel was perfect for us. The rooms are clean and have a contemporary feel. The mini bar was locked and is calibrated on weight. So don't plan on storing anything in there, because you will be charged! They offer a $20-$25 breakfast buffet that was very good and I would recommend. If your looking for a party crowd this is the wrong hotel for you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of at Presidente InterContinental Cancun.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've stayed at intercontinental properties before and have always been very happy with my stay. This would not be a property I would return to again.

We booked a one night stop over for three of us. We got a great price on the internet for the property. We weren't expecting the penthouse but felt we got a room down in the basement with lighting to match (horrible). We had asked for an extra bed to be brought in which wasn't done and we didn't have enough towels for the three of us. For the average hotel, this might be acceptable but a property such as an intercontinental?? Disappointing. The room was just average with an odd frosted bathroom door, not a fan.

The property overall, the grounds, are very nice. The beach area is also very lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deepblueinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Deepblueinfl,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with your room accommodation. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.6 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
9,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#31 Business Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $199 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing