We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$332
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$337
$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$817
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
$465
$356
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$803
$676
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$384
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$506
$427
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$508
$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,702)
Filter reviews
2,702 results
Traveler rating
1,583
730
216
101
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,583
730
216
101
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungele capgreat beachhotel zonecancun resortcalm waterswhite sandbreakfast buffetocean viewbusiness centerbeach barbus stopthe general managerplenty of chairsplaya del carmenadult poolcoco bongo
Filter
Updating list...
1,095 - 1,100 of 2,702 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Presidente with my daughter during her mid winter break. The beach was great with plenty of chairs available at all hours of the day. It was also quite and relaxing, not like the obnoxious hotels with the heart pounding music that are more luxurious and are all inclusive but lack in class. Also the beaches at those hotels are about 1/5 the size with most of the guest congregating at the pool.

The rooms are modern and the maid service was great. The breakfast plan which we purchased when booking this trip is definitely worth it.
The staff at the front can be a little more personable and should be updated on the on goings in Cancun. We were told that no restaurants take travelers checks but found this to be not true after we converted some of our travelers’ checks to pesos. Keep in mind that most money exchange places charge a commission fee when converting travelers’ checks to pesos.

Also we were told by the staff at the front desk that we would have to pay a 35.00 exit fee per family at the airport upon leaving but again found this not to be true upon leaving Cancun. On a positive note we would like to send our sincerest thanks to Delia who works with the activity/tour group for recommending great restaurants and being warm and personable. She also provided us with a map of the hotel zone and a brochure listing most of the Cancun restaurants with menus. Maybe she can give the front desk some pointers on improving their people skills….
Would we stay here again? yes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp_xyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to “su casa” in Mexico.

Sincerely,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

On arrival the hotel looks a bit dated from the outside but once indoors the lobby and communal areas where beautiful. Combined with excellent front desk staff the stay got off to great start.

The room was fairly basic, with hard beds and extremely thin walls. I'd accompanied my wife on a business trip and we literally whispered to each other as her colleague was staying next door.

The toilet goes off with the power and unfortunately noise of a jet engine on take off - I'm sure ours woke the neighbours up as I know theirs woke us up.

As a consequence I struggled with the jet lag having travelled from Europe which exacerbates the problem as I was 'taking off' early in the morning having been woken up by several other early 'take offs'. Do you see the problem?

We enjoyed a sea view room but with no balcony there was no real reason to stay in the room and make use of the view.

The breakfast at the hotel is wonderful with different and varied hot dishes every morning on the buffet and excellent choices a la carte.

Wonderful pool and beach area with water sports.

Also bus stop right outside the hotel for hopping around. The addresses for most places are given as a distance along the main drag e.g. 7.5km Kukulcan for the hotel so easy to spot when to get off. Also bus drivers very friendly and helpful. Taxis bit expensive.

The hotel is normal ie not all inclusive - a huge bonus as the quality of the food and beverage was very high and reasonably priced which when combined with the great service made for a wonderful hotel experience.

Unfortunately the lack of sleep caused by the hotel literally being 'under the flight path' means I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure its possible
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyBigTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
.
Thank you for choosing the Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort and for sharing your experience with us

We are really sorry for not exceeding your expectations. We do believe each comment give us the opportunity to improve and will work on it.

Thank you for providing your feedback.

Sincerely,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here in February 2013. A great place to go for a get away and relax. I must say it became the best resort I've stayed in, in cancun after meeting Sharim Pelaez. She is incrediably kind and makes the best omelets in cancun. We felt she was our own personal chef because of her special attention to her guests and our special orders. She had us running to breakfast every morning even after having a late nite meal, Ha! ha! Thank you Sharim for helping to make the Intercontinental Cancun a perfect 5 star resort! Can't wait to get back. Oh!, also they really do have THE best beach!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the sixth floor. You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear about your excellent stay.

We take great pride in our Club InterContinental Lounge, we are delighted you had the chance experience them.

Thank you also for mentioning one of our employees by name; we will recognize Sharim for providing service excellence

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Cordially,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We like to stay in small, local hotels and guest houses when we travel. However, we had been in and out of Cancun Airport, CUN, numerous times and had never bothered to actually go into Cancun. So for our last night out, having driven down to Palenque, we stayed here. We get points on Intercontinental.

Lovely property, huge, well cared for, tons of people-two days before Christmas. We had a room on the concierge level, or whatever the hotel calls it. However, the happy hour didn't start until 7pm ????? and breakfast was served after we left for the airport next morning. The room was really wonderful, private balcony, huge comfy bed, all the technological comforts. Beautiful bath with shower and soaking tub. Lovely.

We had a quick lunch on the "beach" which was palapa to palapa full of families and couples for the holiday. Three shrimp tacos and an ice tea-$25 US. What else would you expect? Three pools, one a "quiet" one, which we had never come across. Nice idea. Other than that, it is one gigantic hotel with lots of facilities. We didn't try the other restaurants but went to a place on the strip for dinner.

All in all I think we had the Cancun experience. Not for us, but apparently lots of people enjoy it! Takes all kinds!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52,761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your remarks about our hotel. We totally appreciate your kind comments. It’s great to see you liked our rooms, restaurants and our lovely beach.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you're looking for a beautiful beach nice pool overall good service, updated rooms this is your place. I stayed here two times in the last five years and we are definitely going back again. Rooms are modern clean and the overall hotel appearance is very nice. This is not your typical Cancun spring break hotel its more low-key families looking for a quiet place to stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank AXS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your positive comments and great ratings regarding your recent stay at our property.

I am happy to see that we delivered clean rooms, friendly service, and convenient amenities that you have come to rely on when traveling within the InteContinental Brand.

We appreciate your loyalty and welcome you back to stay with us any time.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews