We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Ranked #17 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my third time here and it once again failed to disappoint. The rooms are clean and comfortable, especially the beds and pillows. The hotel personnel was very helpful and made our visit comfortable. The concierge Adolpho was exceeding helpful and willing to go beyond his responsibilities for us. The food is very good and the servers as well, particularly Refugio and Roberto among others. The only negative aspect is the WIFI, which is not all that dependable and sometimes very slow, an item they need to address. Other than that, you can enjoy one of the best beaches in Cancun here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Antknee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing comments regarding our customer service. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and Adolfo, Refugio and Rodolfo went out of their way to assist you. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

Please be our guest again.

Kind regards,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

After having been to Mexico City for a week and staying at Playa Del Carmen, Tulum and Merida we had 4-5 days to spend in Cancun.
I must admit we were a bit disappointed when arriving at the the hotel. The reception lady was not really friendly (fortunately it was just this lady), they told us we cannot get a room with a king size bed although we had booked one and the hotel seemed a bit old, worn. They did however upgrade us to the 5th floor to a deluxe room which had 2 quite big beds. I cant say anything bad about the room - it was spacious and very clean. In fact the cleaning lady attended the room twice a day which in the end kind of started to irritate - l like my bed undone..
There was no internet in the room. Well there was but they charged a fortune. Instead you could use the business lounge or sth like that which was complimentary on the ground floor - this was actually positive as it meant you didnt spend hours surfing..
What is great is the beach - it's huge for this hotel. We one day went for a walk and some of the other hotels nearby have literally 5 m of beach.

Room Tip: Doesnt really matter whether a lagoon or ocean view - both are great to my mind and presumably you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort.

We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your comments on TripAdvisor; believe me your feedback is really appreciated.

I'm glad you enjoyed your room, our facilities and service; our purpose was to make you feel comfortable.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely yours,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I was not impressed overall with the hotel. With all the many choices In Cancun I thought the Hotel missed many opportunitys to make me want to come back. We got to the Hotel early and knew it wasn't check-in time. We had friends already checked-in and used their room to change and stow luggage until our room was ready. We were told they would put our room on the express list and it would be clean by 12:30. We returned to the desk at 4:00 and were told our room was still not ready. We were pretty tired from our traveling and wanted to nap before meeting our group for dinner. Front desk said it would be 15 more minutes and gave us a voucher for a drink as I was not happy. After refusing to give us the keys (avoiding another wait at the front desk) she said she would "do us a favor" and give us the keys and let us know at the bar when our room was ready. No follow-thru. We went to the room ourselves and it was clean for who knows how long. Housekeeping was spotty. One day no coffee ,another did not replenish water bottles. No cream or sugar for coffee the following day. Service at the beach was great! Our party of 8 really didn't wait for service and food and drink came quickly. Beach area was very nice. We were given a Garden room on the 1st. Floor. The patio space was a disapointment I thought the fact that the Ocean-view rooms were not available left us with no other choice but to take the Garden view room. Two plastic chairs facing a stone wall was not my idea of a garden room. It could have been very nice with some potted plants and decent furniture! Check-out was slow and wasn't thanked. I really felt this Hotel did not live up to a four star and was only average. Would not come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmcbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort on TripAdvisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the experience you had at the hotel was not up to the standards we strive to provide to all our guests. I will address the deficiency in service that you encountered and will look into where the lapse occurred to take corrective measures to ensure this does not happen again.


Sincerely,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Cancun Intercontinental Presidente was just marvelous! The complement of service staff was attentive, polite, and efficient. The front desk staff was welcoming, helpful, and spoke fluent English (Eva and Mauriao were the best resort front desk staff members we have ever encountered!). Our ocean-view club level room was clean and beautiful, the views fantastic.

The European Plan that we chose offered delicious continental breakfasts, and a variety of filling treats each evening.

The beach at the Presidente is truly the most splendid in the hotel zone. We even had strangers staying at other hotels tell us so!

Our second honeymoon after 35 years of marriage was most special due to the quality and professionalism of the entire staff of the hotel. We plan to go again next year.

Room Tip: The ocean-view club level rooms are definitely worth the slight upgrade cost - just fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had the opportunity to visit our hotel during your “Second Honeymoon”. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our resort amenities, cleanliness and service.

Thank you for the wonderful recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We remain at your service.

Warmest regards,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent vacation last year at this hotel and really like the Club Floor and the beach. So I am coming back. I will be staying at the Club Floor from Feb 13th for 8 days again. I would like to ask regarding WiFi pricing at the club floor. I have heard that it is 100 pesos per day. Is it per device or can we use 2 devices for the same price of 100 pesos per day? Thank you.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank for your comments; we really appreciate your loyalty and we are so glad for your return.

We have sent private message to your TripAdvisor inbox with the information required.

Please don't hesitate to contact us for further assistance.

Best regards,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a week-long stay at El Presidente Intercontinental where we vacationed with our 15 month old daughter. While the hotel looks very simple, almost 80's-ish from the entrance, they've done a pretty complete remodel on the inside, making the very large and impressive lobby as well as the guest rooms super modern, but still comfy.

This is a more family and business-focused hotel. There was a mix of Europeans, North Americans (we felt like the minority) and Latin Americans. We didn't see any "spring breaker" types, the restaurant and bar scenes were very mellow and tame, and we often felt like we had the place pretty much to ourselves (we asked about this and the hotel told us we were in a quieter week, but they were still at 70%+ capacity).

The staff throughout the hotel was fantastic. Super friendly, helpful, just about everyone spoke perfect English and everyone was helpful and friendly to our little one. The staff as the restaurants are especially great, attentive but not overbearing, good with suggestions, and super friendly. Adolfo at the concierge desk was awesome--he always came through with a great restaurant suggestion, explained the bus system, and helped us get into our room when we arrived before check-in time.

We had a basic king room booked (with Priority Club points) and were upgraded to an ocean view, which was lovely. The room is clean, modern, updated and pretty spacious--even when we had the crib in there with us taking up extra space. There's a little mini fridge in the room (technically the mini bar) that we found it super handy and had enough space to store milk for the kiddo as well as our occasional leftovers.

We spent a lot of time at the pool and the beach, both of which were constantly being attended to by hotel staff and were always sparkling clean. There's no loud piped in music like we saw at other Cancun hotels we walked through--the whole area is very tranquil. The beach is beautiful. This is by far the best beach in Cancun for small children and/or swimming as it faces north and is sheltered from the rough surf. There are lots of chairs with shade, palm trees, gorgeous white sand, and always a waiter on hand to bring you fruity drinks, lunch, or anything else. The pool is very nice too. There's an adult only pool set towards the back of the pool area, but we spent our time at the main pool. The main pool entrance has a gradual set of steps that are great for kids, though not quite a zero entry situation.

The food at the hotel is pretty good too. DInner at the main restaurant (forget the name...outside by the beach) was really tasty and featured lots of Caribbean inspired dishes (we ended up eating here 2 nights, plus most mornings for the buffet breakfast). For lunch, there's the pool area restaurant with a pretty good variety of items, and there's also a coffe/sandwich spot inside the main lobby bar area.

We'll definitely return to Cancun, and would absolutely stay at the El Presidente. Thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed in the low rise tower (close to the elevators) and found the ocean side view to be beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiscovt212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent trip to Cancun and for writing such a nice review about your stay. Our goal is to provide a unique experience to each one of our guests and ensure they are 100% satisfied with their stay. I am glad to read that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope to see you back on your next visit to Cancun.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

A luxury resort with spacious and clean modern rooms. There beach was fine white sand, lovely manicured grounds , beautiful pools one in a quiet zone . I stayed 2 nights as a Priority Club Rewards member. Received special treatment from friendly and helpful staff. They had good security. The only negative would be that it was very expensive to eat there. I walked or took the Hotel Zone bus for about 8 pesos to othere place to eat.

Room Tip: I was given a room with a Garden view which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing comments regarding our customer service. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and our staff went out of their way to assist you. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed all our amenities.

Please be our guest again.

Kind regards,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.6 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,073 reviews
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#31 Business Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $193 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing