We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Ranked #13 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beach Haven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I loved the stay here. The room (king bed) was large and well laid out and our room had a great view too. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Breakfast is sumptous to say the least...if we were not looking at the beach we would probably have been at breakfast till lunch time! The beach is clean and well laid out with white sand (as white as it can be), a volleyball area, enough deck beds and the water is protected by a netting from the sea weed...so the water is crystal clear The pool is large and has 2 jacuzzis by the side. The restaurant is great for a dinner under the stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raven2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,


I am very happy indeed to learn that you consider our beach as Heaven, in your recent stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun.

Your detailed and amazing review encourages us to do our best efforts to make your next visit an unforgettable time.

Thank you kindly for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,377
    645
    194
    89
    63
See reviews for
625
951
98
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Presidente for two nights. The beach area is the best that I have seen in Cancun. The sand is clean and soft. Other places had a seaweed problem. We ate lunch by the beautiful pool. They have a two for one drink happy hour every night at 6. We had dinner and drinks at the bar. The menu and drinks are reasonably priced. There is no need to pay the upgrade for the club level because you won't spend enough eating breakfast and drinking in the evening to make up the $110 per night up charge. Very friendly and helpful staff. The only thing we didn't like was that after we paid for a room upgrade we still had a room that overlooked another building's roof and the windows didn't open

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,


I am pleased to learn of your very positive impressions after your stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I took a short trip to Cancun for a long weekend getaway. This is the first time I've stayed in Cancun; in the past I've stayed in resorts along Riviera Maya. Though this hotel is near the center of city the privacy of both the hotel and the beach don't feel like you're drowning in the touring hoards.

I liked this hotel because it was elegant but not garish; minimalist but not wanting; friendly but not solicitous. I ate almost all my meals at the hotel because the dining was better than the nearby restaurant chains. Visiting in mid-January there were fewer guests there so it was easy to breeze into a table, whether it was the beach deck, the indoor lobby bar, or the open air restaurant.

The facilities were kept immaculately. The hotel doors are made of cedar, I think. There was a rustic smell and feeling in the corridors which complemented the polished tile floors and chrome.

When I've traveled solo in Mexico invariably the male waiters, bellhops, taxi drivers, etc. ask where my husband or boyfriend is. Sometimes I don't know how to take the question: are they trying to determine if I'm alone and vulnerable for a shakedown? Are they traditionalist and think a woman shouldn't be taking a vacation alone? Or, are they finding out whether you would like some hospitable company to make your visit warmer. I've concluded it's the last option, and that's what it was like at the hotel and with the taxi drivers on this trip. They seemed to really care to welcome me to Cancun and Mexico. They helped me speak Spanish better. They recommended dishes that were local favorites but off the menu. They cracked jokes with me.

It was a vacation that felt like more than four days, and I'd call that a success.

Room Tip: Though I stayed in only one room I was pleased with it - Ocean view. You're not on the water but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear about your excellent stay. We work hard to maintain our facilities and ensure service that will exceed our guest’s expectations. We take great pride in our restaurants & bars, we are delighted you had the chance experience them.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Thank you again for your review and hope you return to our hotel soon.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed multiple times at this hotel and is always the best family spot in Cancun. The food is great, specially to have breakfast steps away from the beach is a special pleasure, because the casual restaurant is an open palapa on the beach. Rooms are nice and functional, but the beach, no doubt is the best for honeymooners, families or seniors. Simply walk in 60 yards into an ocean clear swimming pool with out any waves and no deeper than your waist.
Several fishes will pass along your way and just enjoy the great Caribbean view, after that the pool is also beautiful. Before leaving, have a tequila/margarita from the wide variety availablein the lobby bar. Luxury with a mexican touch.
Weak spot, check out usually is slow, the rest is fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for the classic mexican rooms, in my opinion they are nicer than the remodeled minimalist ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Presidente InterContinental Cancun and for sharing your experience with us. It is our goal to continue in the tradition of providing exceptional value and service and I am very delighted to hear that we were successful by providing it to you and your family.

We look forward to welcome you back here at Presidente InterContinental soon.

Best Regards,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

By far, InterContinental Presidente has the best beach in Cancun. The sand is soft, the beach is long. Friendly staff, like Roberto, wait on your every need. The sand goes gently into the sea, which is protected in this area from the harsh waves from the east. If your reason to go to Cancun is the beach, El Presidente is your place.

Beyond this, you will find great service. Adolfo, the concierge is a dream come true. He will get you to the best restaurants, shopping and outtrips. Sharim and Gregorio staff the 6th floor breakfast/dinner room serving nicest rooms. They are friendly and attentive. They have winning smiles and Sharim makes a fabulous Omelette.

I have led a 30-50 person conference here for six years and have found the team to be efficient, competent and friendly. There are not the distractions of an all-inclusive. Just a great time for you and your team. You will not regret your stay at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are quieter. 5th floor suites are not worth the upgrade cost, but the 6th floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at Presidente InterContinental Cancun. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We are very glad about your comments concerning our team members as Sharim, Gregorio, Roberto and Adolfo, we will pass your good words to them which I am sure will give them motivation to deliver an even better service to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon at Presidente InterContinental Cancun.

Sincerely,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I booked the hotel via a travel agent, we reserved 1 king bed non-smoking room with garden view, however, when we arrived the front desk gave us 2 full size beds in a smoking room, we tried to switch the room twice but turned out we could only choose a room with less smoking smell with 2 full size beds. Small size bed made us sleep closer but really not enough space for us to turn around during the night......... also, the curtain was a thin piece of white sheet, no double layer to shade the light, so when the sun rose the sun light came directly into our eyes in the morning while we were sleeping, no brainer we won´t come back again.

Room Tip: No view in the garden view rooms so if you really like to have views then you recommed to choose lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies because the bedding type was not what you expected on your arrival.

We have several different room types and views available in our inventory, we recommend that you check on our website for descriptions and photos when booking online, our website allows you to choose views and bedding of your preference.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will change your mind and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We are devoted fans of the Presidente Cozumel so decided to try their resort in Cancun this year and it did not disappoint. We had a King Oceanfront suite that was spacious and modern with great amenities. The view of the beach and the sea was lovely, although obscured a bit by a rooftop of the hotel, and to our disappointment, no balcony. The service throughout the hotel was outstanding! Adolfo at the concierge desk, Eva, Horatio and Nancy at the front desk were all pleasant and extremely helpful making dinner reservations, giving directions and just greeting us with a smile every day. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the service excellent. We had lunch on the beach under our palapa and the staff hustled with food and drinks all day. The beach is the most beautiful of the resorts in this area - wide and spacious with a lot of shade if you want it. The resort is sparkling clean and the attention to detail to keep it there was obvious from the men on the beach raking the sand and spray cleaning the chairs all day to staff refilling evening lights with sand and new candles every day. Twice a day maid service was great. It was nice to stay at a smaller hotel compared to the HUGE places nearby that were double the size. It made the experience more personalized and much quieter. I do agree with some of the other reviewers regarding the noise level in the halls and rooms, though. We were in room 508 in the lower tower which was just under the Club Intercontinental and every morning we were awakened beginning at 7 AM, by the noise from chairs at the continental breakfast being moved around on the stone floor. No alarm necessary. The noise in the hallways just added insult to injury but as we were leaving I noticed carpet being put down in the first floor hallway so hopefully they are doing this on all floors. Another tip: if you book a suite or club room, the continental breakfast that is included is comprehensive. You can have an omelet made, there are a couple of hot "mexican" dishes in addition to fruit, breads, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. No need to go down to the restaurant for the buffet. We were not told of this at booking so we had a suite with buffet breakfast included which was an unnecessary expense. Also included in a suite or club room is complementary use of the business center and two computers in the Club. Wireless is 100 Pesos a day so if you don't want to pay, you can benefit from the complementary use. There is no spa, just a palapa on the beach for massages but it is in the middle of the beach near the pool rather than a secluded corner where it would be quiet and peaceful. The bus stop is directly in front of the hotel so no need to take taxis to dinner or shopping - the buses run frequently and are very inexpensive. Overall, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bamcraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,


I am very happy indeed to learn that you consider as you have been in Paradise in your recent stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort.
Your detailed and amazing review encourages us to do our best efforts to make your next visit an unforgettable time.

Thank you also for mentioning a few of our employees by name; we will recognize Nancy, Eva, Adolfo & Horacio, for providing service excellence.

As you mentioned, we have already finished placing beautiful carpets on all our corridors, minimizing noise and giving an unique feature to each floor.

We also appreciate your kindly and positive review on TripAdvisor. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Property: Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing