We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,568)
Filter reviews
3,568 results
Traveler rating
1,226
1,247
579
296
220
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,226
1,247
579
296
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal beach clubhotel zoneel palmarbreakfast and happy hoursea stonesheavenly bedlagoon sideclose to the airportbreakfast buffetthe main hotelocean viewcocktail hourbeautiful beachprivate poolyogurtspring breakconcierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
2,349 - 2,354 of 3,568 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Just returned from the Westin for a week. Stayed at the Royal Beach Club which I would recommend you get a great breakfast buffet and Happy Hour every night with appetizers and free drinks and wine! The beach is fabulous, the main pool is also heated you will love this. The room was spotless with a great balcony overlooking the ocean. Jesus at the pool bar was outstanding thanks Jesus!! Alicia Gonzalez one of the concierge's was just great. We ate at the Westin buffet for dinner sevral nights and it was great! The employees really make this hotel thanks to all for a great week!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

The hotel is in a perfectly quiet area. It is near the end of the hotel zone, the farthest from the restaurants and night clubs, which is a great bonus if you are with young kids or want solitude!
The staff is amazing. Rafael & Ralondo at the consierge desk are fantastic! They helped plan many dinners and made sure we felt welcome! Stop by and they will hook you up with coupons for 15% off lunch and dinner meals at the resort! As often as we wanted, we got a coupon. Loved it!
The rooms are less than amazing. They have tiled floors, which is charming when you think of old Mexico. The first room we had was moldy smelling and reaked of mildew. Three rooms later we finally got a room that didn't overpower you with the odor. All you have to do is ask and they were GREAT about letting us check out rooms until we found one that was suitable. They also gave us a de-humidifier to use. It neeed to be emptied twice a day (That should give you an idea of how much moisture is in the rooms).
The housekeepers were friendly and appreciated the daily tips.

The pools are fun. There is one large pool next to the beach with 4 other smaller soaking pools next to it. There is also one larger pool on the lagood side of the hotel. The beach is clean as they rake it each morning. NOW, getting a towel was a chore. You have to show a towel card. If you didn't get a towel by 8 am you were hard pressed to get one. Even though the hotel slowly filled up to 100% they couldn't keep up with the towels. Sometimes you would have to wait two hours for a towel while they did the laundry. Clearly they need MORE towels!

The food at the restaurnats is WAY overpriced. The Breakfast Buffet is $28USD! $310 Pesos! WAY too much. It does NOT include beverages! Water, soda are all extra on top of that. We had drinks at the bar inside and by the pool. Never did we ever feel buzzed from the drinks. They must have had minimal alcohol in them.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joby560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My friend & I spent 10 days at this hotel over the holidays. We had read all about the problems w/ musty rooms online before arriving and were a bit wary, but found the Westin to be a GREAT HOTEL! The first rooms they gave us were on the ground floors. These rooms were MUSTY/ DAMP/ and MOLDY smelling. There was no carpet in the hallway, so noise was a big problem. We asked for new rooms and were immediately upgraded to the top floor, with balconies and ocean- views. These floors are carpeted, and are very quiet. The Staff are incredible! they will bend over backwards to make you happy. No questions asked. The housekeepers, concierge, restaurant wait staff, are so friendly and greeted us by name each day. They offered us free drinks and many discounts on restaurants. We loved the pool/ beach area. Lots of nice cushioned beach chairs. One of the best on the strip. The hotel was quiet. We loved our breakfast crew ! the buffet was incredible! best fruit and yogurt and smoothies! The bus stops right in front of the hotel and made it easy to go downtown or to the strip for shopping and restaurants. We'd like to try the Royal Beach Club next time, as the cost of food is quite substantial, but you will find that everywhere in Cancun. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rita044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Myself, husband and our 13 yr. old daughter stayed here on 12/23 and 12/24 and WOW what a TOTAL disappointment.....It was a dump!! We ended up moving over to the JW Marriott for the 25th thru 30th. We have stayed at several other beautiful Westin's in both the Caribbean and US before and NEVER encountered this. We were even upgraded to a Starwood Preferred guest room and it was still awful. Our daughter turned the water on to fill up the bathtub and large paint chips from the bottom of tub all floated to the top. That ended that bath pretty quickly. The hallways smell and the carpet in the hallways are full of stains and other marks. There was this constant smell of acrylic every time you walked the hallway and we couldn't figure out what it was. We felt sorry for who ever had the room outside teh ice maker as it was so loud we even heard from our room which was halfway down the hall. Our room was on the 5th floor was like a 425 sq. foot cement block with paint on the walls. There are no balconies and the windows don't open but a small crack. Even the dressers are a cement block built into the wall with 3 drawers in them and the entire room is painted white with one white picture on the wall and lamps with light bulbs that didn't even work. The same for the rest of the hotel. The beach was nice, thank God, and the staff was really wonderful too. We ate dinner at the their Mexican restaurant which was pretty good and the morning buffet had just a ton of stuff to choose from. Sadly enough this was not enough to ever come back. I think it is time to put this Westin to retirement and start all over with a new one from the bottom up. We ended up spending the last 5 nights at the JW Marriott. It was like Buckingham Palace in comparison to the Westin. YES, it is higher in price but let me tell you it was well worth every extra dime we spent. Beautiful rooms, bathrooms and everything else that went along with it.!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellfor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

i have stayed in many top class hotels around the world... i look for quailty of service (inc business services), cleanliness and excellence in food - the Westin Resort and Spa Cancun exceeded my expectations. Access to an almost 'private' beach was simply superb but to be honest on my one day off i went snorkelling just off the hotel beach and saw some beautiful coral formations and tropical fish including a gorgeous old sea turtle. aah wonderful memories :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleSeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews