We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #54 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2nd time around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is our second time around at this place. We stayed for 7 nights. Quick Rundown:
Pros:
1. Quiet, if that's what you are into
2. Quick to get around from room, beach, Reef, restaurants and spas
3. Service with more than just a smile. They remember you all the time.
4. 10 minutes from airport
5. The food is really yummy!!!

Cons:
1. Renovation ongoing, could be a damper due to noise
2. WiFi a bit spotty in the lobby area. Not sure about the room WiFi.
3. Menu doesn't change at the restaurants

Room Tip: The top floor (6th) of the hotel has balconies only with the choice of either the ocean or the lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Aroundad

Thank you for sharing your experience in Westin Cancun!we are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our internet our IT department is improving the WIFI in our lobby.

We hope when our plans bring you back to Cancun you will stay with us again.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    990
    428
    193
    132
See reviews for
638
1,057
129
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Ive stayed here because I had to extend my stay and my previous hotel was fully booked.

This hotel is far far south and has nothing close by it, but there are a few things that made it special.
1. Property, located far south gives it that sense of privacy and having an -almost- private lagoon on the orther side makes it really cool
2. I got upgraded to a Pool Level room, which was really convenient
3. perfect, PERFECT for business conventions, i was not in one but there was one going on and everybody seemed confortable

CONs.
1. Rooms are not suites
2. No free WiFi which is not uncommon but I will always mark it as a con
3. Service was a little bit below the Westin Standards

Will give it a try again for a longer stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Alex V

Thank you for your preference at Westin Cancun!
We are pleased to know that your stay and thank forfor our feedback regarding the service I will verify what happen.

We look forward for your next visit!

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Hotel is very nice. We stayed in the Royal Beach Club section and I loved it. I liked the fact that we were in a different and exclusive section in the hotel. Made me feel special. We even had our own pool. Service was excellent. The staff was always friendly and polite. I have no complaints there. Cleanliness was great. Food was good. Overall we had a fantastic 7days. One thing and the only thing I didn't like from the hotel was that the room felt very humid. But then again it's very humid in cancun. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittykat90745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Kittykat90745

We would like to thank you for your preference at Westin Cancun! We are please to know that you enjoy your stay specially our Royal Beach Club.

We look forward for your next visit.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my two last nights in Cancun. I had already spent 7 days at the Emporio. This hotel is really old. I stayed in the first floor in a room with two queen beds and a porch. There is no way I'll class this property as anything beyond a 2 star. An Econolodge bedroom is probably nicer. The walls are bright white. Felt like old hospital rooms. The little fridge in the room was locked. I am a Starwood Preferred gold member but in their system it was showing I wasn't a gold member. Even when I showed them my account information from the website, I still had to persuade them to give me the gold benefit which was free internet in the room. I did not get a room upgrade though. The internet was on and off, that's a common problem in all the properties I have stayed in Cancun. If you want to stay at the Westin in Cancun, don't stay in this property. Go to the Westin Lagunama. It's a newer and nicer property.

One great thing about this property I stayed at was the Sea and Salt restaurant. Food there was delicious. Am vegan and the chef made an excellent vegan pizza. Their breakfast buffet is also really good but it will see you back by about $25 US ($300pesos). They were a few options for vegans.

Will I stay in this property again? Absolutely not. If I were a college student going to Cancun for Spring break I'll probably stay here but not at this point in my life. My last 2 days here ruined my wonderful week of vacation. I even managed to get really sick drinking the only glass of Mai Tai drink I ordered in their pool bar. The one glass of drink caused me to start throwing up and I felt weak till I returned to the US.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank BAngelU U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear BAngelU U

First we would like to apologize regarding the incidents during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback, I share your comments with our departments heads and an action plan was made to avoid the occurrence.

We hope you respond our direct message in order for detail information.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We spent 5 nights here, checking in on 8-15 and out on 8-20-2014. Weather was hot and humid as expected but beers at the pool bar were icy cold and our room's air conditioning worked extememely well. Our room was plenty large enough for the two of us with King Sized Heavenly bed, the bath was clean and well stocked with great water pressure for refreshing showers. Housekeeping staff was good although I don't think they consistently swept as there were water bottles that had missed the recylcling can still lying on the floor after one visit.

Food and beverage were generally good. Although we did not eat dinner on property as we were off exploring the myriad of restaurants in the Centro, we did eat breakfast every day (buffet), lunch twice plus snacks at the Pool Bar. Guacamole, ceviche, burger, and turkey pannini at lunch were fabulous. Breakfast was hit or miss, with one day being served tepid coffee, the next piping hot. One monrining we arrived right at opening, so you'd think everything would be piping hot and fresh, but you'd be wrong. Most of the hot food had been put out without lighting the Sternos underneath and were stone cold. Not just underwarmed, cold. Our server whose name completely escapes, brought us fresh, hot Chilaquilles, frijoles, and quesadillas from the kitchen. The Manager on duty stopped by, apologized. Check was adjusted so no harm, no foul. They could not dampen our mood on that particular day anyway as we had an up close and personal encounter with a mama Sea Turtle on the pre-sunrise beach as she was dug her way out of her crater and crawlied her way slowly back to the surf. AMAZING!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Patrick L

First we would like to thank you for your preference at Westin Cancun! We are please to know that you sleep well in our Heavenly Bed and you enjoy your stay-

Thank you for your feedback regarding our housekeeping department, I share your comment with our Housekeeper and will verify what happen.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful picture.

We hope your plans bring you back to Cancun soon.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Came to Rivera Maya for a scuba diving trip and decided to book a stay at Westin Royal Beach Club. Easy check- in, got upgraded to a room with fantastic view, pool, jacuzzi, other amenties is what I would expect from a Westin brand. I liked the beach, Club Lounge was good (both appetizers and drink selection) Location is not far from El Rey Archeological site which I visited during my stay and it was great to explore (though it's not big but it is worth a trip)

Most importantly Royal Beach Club front desk provided extraordinary service (especially
Ameyalli)- very professional and attentive.

Definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iaminov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Iaminov

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Westin Cancun!

We are please to know that you enjoy the pool, the ocean and our Royal Beach.

Thanks to your comment Ameyalli will receive from our Management a recognition for her service.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at the Westin for our anniversary for 5 days. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and had great views, and our trip was great. Concierge helped us book transportation and even sent champagne to our room! We highly recommend this hotel, what really stood out to us was the wonderful people that make the Westin great.

Room Tip: Oceanview was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Kay D

Thank you very much for your preference at Westin Cancun to celebrate your anniversary! we are please to know you enjoy your stay.

We hoe when you plans bring you back to Cancun you will stay again with us.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
7.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2.5 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#55 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
3.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at our glorious private beaches and four outdoor pools. Pamper yourself at the luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™. Or pick up the pace with countless water sports, plus tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc. and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing