We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good prices and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good prices and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had a good stay at the Westin last week. I attended the Tourism Expo and the hotel was the best choice i found. It had the best rate, it was very close to the airport ( about 5 minutes) and it is the first hotel entering the Cancun area ( the convention center was located outside of Cancun towards playa del carmen).
The beach is very nice, the hotel itself is pretty, and food is good.
I recommend the hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompougnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty at Westin Cancun! We are very happy that you enjoy your stay again.

Thank you for your comments regarding Isabel, Jorge, Jesus and Haydee they will received a recognition for their quality service.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    1,088
    486
    228
    150
See reviews for
713
1,190
140
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
764 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a beach hotel with with a good attentive staff. The beach is beautiful and the pools were good with a great view over the Caribbean. I will go back as it was nice. Bed was comfortable and the pillow was good (not a brick). The morning lounge breakfast was tasty and the staff was pampering. The hotel construction is meant to withstand a hurricane on a beach but the layout was good and lots of restaurants to choose from.

Their management needs to step up and fix a few flaws, such as exposed wires on light fixtures in shower and a sloppy paint job in the bathroom. There was not a good place to hang things in the rooms resulting in people hanging cloths in their windows facing the rising sun and the beach. There was a big gym with lots of equipment but it was too hot especially for folks on the treadmill putting in some miles. The gym was hotter then the hallway but the staff wanted to keep the door closed to maintain a peaceful ambiance for the SPA which did not have anybody there when we visited. The negatives could be easily fixed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the maintenance in the property!
We verified your comments with the departments head and we are making an action plan to improve the maintenance.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoy your stay!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We love the Westin Resort and Spa in Cancun. We’ve been coming here with friends since 2003. A few years ago we actually hesitated about returning. Despite much that was still good, we were concerned that the staff was stretched thin, being made to cover more area on the beach and in the dining rooms. As valiantly as they tried, the quality of service was suffering. We are happy to report that things have improved greatly over the past two years. This spring especially we noticed a big difference—work has been done, and continues, on the rooms and facilities (which many had described as "tired") and there were more staff people around checking on things and providing excellent service. The hotel now looks fresh and clean and also seems to be operating efficiently.

We especially like staying at the Royal Beach Club where we get breakfast and cocktail hour and a balcony. We were truly impressed at the quality of the breakfasts available this year. And the evening appetizers and drinks were so much improved.

The Westin Resort and Spa in Cancun offers a great location and facilities for those like us who are not into the "Spring Break Scene." The beach is spectacular and is what sets this hotel apart. The building is low-rise and you are only steps from the beach from any room in the complex. Getting up the Hotel Zone to some of our favorite restaurants for dinner is as easy as going to the bottom of the hill and catching a bus.

We want also again to recall and commend the excellent veteran waiters Marco and Bernardo (who used to be the waiter at the beach and poolside) at the Royal Beach Club. They and all the other wait staff in the RBC dining room work hard and always maintain a pleasant and positive manner. They are a wonderful presence, hard workers whose engaging friendliness enhances the entire vacation experience. We look forward to seeing them every year and they always remember us.

Also special thanks to the following who took the time to contacted us before we arrived and upon our arrival to make sure things were good: Nicholas Cejas, Hotel Manager and Haydee Sanchez, General Management Executive Assistant & Quality Representative.

Wait staff and bartenders on the beach: Jesus and Javier were wonderful always there when we needed them but not overly intrusive.

We are already looking forward to next year's visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suz2john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Westin Cancun and mostly to give us an opportunity to prove the quality of our service!

On behalf of Mr. Cejas thank you for your comments regarding our staff Marco, Bernardo, Haydee, Jesus and Javier, they will received from our Management a recognition for their quality service.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

For me, the location of this hotel was the best part. Its at the start of the hotel strip and if you turn right on the beach and walk towards the end, the water is really calm. There is also a spot where you can go snorkeling (walk in front of the hotel after the beach ends). If you don't have your own gear you can hire it and a lifejacket for USD5 and there's a lifeguard that patrols the area where you can snorkel if you pay. We had a large room with a view straight out over the ocean, I definitely recommend this - you really feel like you are at the Carribbean. The only downside is that our room didn't have a balcony, I'm not sure how many of the rooms do though. The room was large but a little dated - as other reviewers have said this is not up to the standard of a Westin resort elsewhere. Our room wasn't cleaned on our second day but when we called housekeeping came promptly to replace our towels. The restaurant staff were excellent, we enjoyed drinks poolside and also in the lounge bar - great mojitos and they have happy hour (2 for 1). Buffet breakfast was OK and similar to what you get in most large hotels. We also ate at the Mexican restaurant and really enjoyed the food. Would stay here again if I was going to Cancun mainly because of the location.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view - if you can get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Westin Cancun!

On behalf of our Management we would like to apologized regarding the cleaning on your second day.

We are happy to know that you enjoy the view, the restaurant Arrecifes and the service from our waiters.


Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Great customer service. I agree they make it happend. I don't agree with the decisions made by the leads or upper management. They don't have an evening buffet because occupancy is low. Always surrounded by excuses made by upper management and no where to be found or substitute an item or give an incentive in return for the inconvenience. Instead you just have to feel sorry for the guys who work the floors. Being an SPG member, I would have to that it's embarrassing to say this Westin is part of spg.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Castlepine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our outlets, we apologize for the inconvenience and we share your comments with our food and beverages Managers to avoid the reoccurrence.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Beach Club. Spacious, clean rooms with balcony overlooking the ocean. Lovely pool and deck area right beside the beach. Yummy food for both evening reception and continental breakfast, with very friendly service. Only drawback- free wifi, but you have to pay for internet access. Overall, a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Westin Cancun in our Royal Beach Club!

We are very happy that you enjoy your stay!

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I visited the Westin Resort and Spa recently with a group of friends participating in a workshop. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and took very good care of us! I stayed in the building with free breakfast, free happy hour tapas and drinks and everything was great! The housekeeping staff were very attentive and friendly and the waitstaff were a hoot! Most of the staff there speaks English to some degree and this matched well with my Spanish which was a little rusty. No problems getting the services we requested or communicating our needs to the staff. The beach is absolutely gorgeous and well-maintained and I had my 6th floor room had a stunning view of the hotel district strip and the ocean. I didn't have occasion to use the hotel's concierge services to plan excursions, but some of my friends did and they had a great time going to Chichen Itza and Isla de Las Mujeres to swim with the dolphins. I would definitely recommend this location to anyone looking for a nice hotel with great service at a reasonable price point. I will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: I got a room in the 2nd building with the free breakfast, tapas and free drinks plus free gratuity f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoy your stay in our Royal Beach!

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at Westin Cancun an it will be our pleasure to assist you in your next stay.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.9 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
3.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
1.1 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#44 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at our glorious private beaches and four outdoor pools. Pamper yourself at the luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™. Or pick up the pace with countless water sports, plus tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing