We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing end to our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #66 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel! Stayed here for 2 nights in January. Plenty of pools available and our room was huge! Enjoyed the food at the restaurants and we also liked that this was one of the first hotels on the hotel strip in cancun. Great location, super clean beach, and plenty of lounge chairs available every day. Would definitely recommend. My only complaint was when we needed extra towels they never came. It was much quicker to find the cleaning staff and get it directly from them rather than calling the front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to leave us your opinion about your stay. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experience be assured that your comments will help us improve. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,458 - 1,464 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

As an SPG Platinum member for many years now, I expect a lot from hotels in the chain and this one hasn't let me down. The staff is extremely nice and willing to help. We stayed at the Royal Beach Club, so wouldn't know what the rooms were like on the other wing, but these were amazing, had a great ocean view and they will drive you with a golf kart if you're not willing to walk. They have several restaurants, cafes and pools. The Spa service is fantastic as well as the therapists there! The only minor complaints are the location (one of the last hotels down the Hotel Zone, far from everything) and they prepare the worst cocktails during the 'hors d'oeuvre' at the RBC lounge.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the Royal Beach Club, with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nusenovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest:


Thank you for posting your review. We are very pleased to hear your experience with us and that you had the opportunity to relax at our Heavenly Spa. We hope to welcome you back in a near future and provide a fresh Westin Experience.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my family at this hotel. They have two properties, the main hotel and the more upmarket spa hotel further along. We stayed at this second place.

The room we were initially given was on the garden level, which I didn't like at all as anyone could see into the room, or walk in for that matter, and I have always liked to get fresh air when in the tropics. The room that they moved us to when we complained was on the 1st floor over the dining area, in the corner, with a seriously restricted view--so our ocean view in both cases was a bit of a misnomer. Also, there was always noise from people hanging out and talking in the restaurant--it was almost as if they were in the room with me.

The room was clean, though a bit dark because of the angle, and the hotel is a bit old, so it was a bit tired. The coffee making facilities were a plus as it was also good coffee, and the ice machine produced an abundance of ice.

The internet facilities worked perfectly.

Food offering was okay--not particularly good, not bad.

The pool was very small, and not at all interesting, just kind of rectangular and boring. One nice thing, however, was that the beach at this part of the resort of Cancun was much wider than at other places, so that was very nice to have so much sand almost to ourselves. Also, this resort has a "beach" area on the lagoon side, making it I believe the only hotel to do so…you might not think that this matters, but because the sun sets on the lagoon side, and there is a nice bar area there, you can not only get the most of those last hours of sunshine, but also have a nice drink while doing so.

I think the other reviews have it spot on--worth staying here if there is a special deal, but otherwise, not.

Personally, I liked the location as one of the first/last hotels along the strip as it means fewer people on the beach, less traffic, etc…but some people prefer to be closer to the action and restaurants along the strip, but I don't also because the strip is noisy.

Room Tip: Go for true ocean front and insist on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here twice in the space of 5 days and the staff is very friendly and ready to help whenever possible. Got recognised the second time with a great welcome and pre booked room ground floor overlooking onto the beach... Amazing choice! Even the restaurant staff is very attentive and helpful. A relaxed atmosphere in the over 40year old westin. even when busy doesn't feel packed. I would recommend it for all of you with a relaxing break in mind. (Rooms 1131-1129-1127-1125 are the best as have French doors onto the patio overlooking the beach)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cdcworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear your experience and we hope to welcome you back again in a near future.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a week long vacation in the Cancun Merida area we stayed (me and my wife) stayed for our final night Westin before heading home to San Diego.
The check in was a breeze with no problems, the front desk agent was very courteous making conversation about our vacation and hoping that we liked it and return again.
HE asked us where have we been so he can make suggestions about other places of interest.
Beautiful beach, great pools,i will return hopefully soon.
Gustavo Perez was our c\i agent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enrique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review. We are excited to hear about your stay with Westin Resort & Spa Cancun. We take very seriously the comments that our guests do and I assure you that we recognize the hard work of our colleagues, like Gustavo, as we strive each day to achieve our guest expectations.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I came with my daughter in December 2013- she had a few days off after working 25-7 for the past 14 months as a new lawyer..She desperately needed a vacation and the Westin Resort and Spa Cancun gave us theeeee best time possible. WE have been to almost all of the Starwood beach resorts so have something to compare this to.. May I say that this is a terrific place in every aspect. The property itself is so conveniently located- easy to get to from the airport.
And on a beautiful section of the beach- where it curves around so it is so nice iful to walk up and down the beach, easy to get to restaurants in town and nice location if you like running.. The property itself is just lovely- the pools are very pretty with comfortable chairs and umbrellas, the beach is beautiful – with really nice huts to sit under.
We had one junior suite in the regular building and one room in the Ambassador building- both beautiful, clean, well-kept and appointed. Loved the regular room as it had a lovely balcony. And great to stay there because you have the most outstanding service from all of the staff and you have a most delicious, beautiful, plentiful complimentary breakfast including champagne!! And then at 6 pm you can come back and have drinks and gorgeous, delicious appetizers!! All served by theeee most lovely staff members.. they couldn’t be nicer, friendlier or more helpful. In fact, all of the staff was just lovely- from check-in to the concierge group, to the staff in the restaurants, the spa, around the pool.. everywhere! The General Manager and his administrative person are just so lovely too! Every request we had was honored, and some were even anticipated!
The food in the restaurant was beautifully presented, delicious and most plentiful. I got to play tennis on the roof- which has turf courts- new to me but fine. All the arrangements were made by the concierge staff which was perfect! WE had massages at the spa which were delightful! Every part of the resort is well-kept, from the grounds, to the pool area, the rooms. My daughter and I enjoyed every moment of our visit to this resort .The only downside—we had to leave after four days… I can’t wait to come back!!

Room Tip: rooms with the balconies are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthiabg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for posting your nice comments. We are very pleased to hear your experience with us. We hope to welcome your family in the near future for another relaxing and fun Westin Experience.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed 2 nights (Jan 10&11) on a stop over to Belize. It's pretty much the closest hotel in the zone to the airport. The rooms are ok for the price, but wouldn't pay over $70 for them. The hotel staff is very pleasant, and always share their name with you. They are very keen to look up your name when you go into a restaurant so they can address you personally. You are a 2 minute walk to the turnaround bus stop to take you into town, which is great to know when to get off in the middle of the night when it's dark. ( the bus costs $1 US)
The food is pretty good and averagely priced for Cancun. They do have a meal plan, but we didn't participate ( the buffets looked a bit sad) but I didn't taste them.
Down the beach 2 properties is the Sun Palace, where we are staying in 5 days, it looks Great, so I will post my review when I finish that stay.

Room Tip: You may as well face the lagoon side as there are no balconies and the windows don't open, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allanshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Services Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

We are pleased to hear your experience and we thank you for your feedback regarding our associates as they strive day by day to meet the expectations of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Thank you

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
7.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
7.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 176 in Cancun
2,174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
7 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevlard Kukulcan KM 20, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#47 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $135 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. Our our glorious resort in Cancun, Mexico features private beaches and four outdoor pools. We offer a luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™ as well as opportunities to enjoy many water sports. Tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips are all available to you at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Starwood, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing