We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience in our 30 years wedding anniversary” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience in our 30 years wedding anniversary”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We purchase this hotel thru Expedia and paid extra money for Royal Beach club room with ocean view and of course a king size bed. Instead we got two small beds with partial ocean view, and next to the elevator room.

Room Tip: Highest floor, king size bed, full ocean view, away from the elevator noise. Royal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazem12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Services Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for allowing us to hear about your holidays, we apologize for the inconveniences and not meet your expectations. We hope you allow us to improve your opinion in a near future visit.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    1,088
    486
    228
    149
See reviews for
713
1,190
140
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Considering we were looking for a hotel, and not really a resort this was a great surprise. We met up with family in Cancun and found this hotel online. Christmas/New Years season is VERY expensive in Cancun, so this was a steal for the season. Friendly, fun, very good for the price we paid. The buffets are ridiculously priced, so my conclusion was that I'd probably go for an all inclusive deal at one of the bigger resorts next time and once the sun starts to set the pools are too cold to go enjoy, but the day time was a blast, the staff very friendly and the atmosphere positive. The elevators are a bit scary. My only complaint is that we were a group with two families. One was put in the Regina (with free breakfast) and the others were not, and thus we weren't even in the same building.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your family vacation. We love to know that you had a great vacation and wonderful family memories.
Please not that Club Regina is an independent Resort, not affiliated with Westin. Next time you visit us, we invite you to reserve a Room in our exclusive Royal Beach Club Tower, as it offer additional amenities such as a private lounge where all the guest staying at the RBC Tower enjoy a complimentary American breakfast (buffet style) and a 2-hour evening cocktail.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future for another Westin Renewal Experience.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The posting for the Westin Resort & Spa, also called the Westin Regina is belated, but honest.
I stayed here three nights March 2013.
Full disclosure I am 59 yrs. Old and did not travel to Cancun to drink & party. I’ve flown over the beaches so many times, they looked so beautiful from the air & that is why I decided to stay in Cancun.

The Positive –
• Beach. Plenty of chairs and space, did not have come out early to reserve a chair. If the winds are heavy so is the surf, but you can take a short walk to the end of beach where the Club Med is and the surf is not an issue.
• I did not experience the “no sun” issue during the afternoon, but the sun is much higher in March than Nov. or Dec.
• Pool Area is Lovely – Clean, plenty of chairs, it overlooks the bay, pretty mellow when I was there. The water was COLD.
• Room – I was upgraded to a room with Balcony overlooking the bay at no extra charge. The room was a bit dated, but clean and relatively large. TV worked fine. Bathroom was clean, also a bit dated.
• Check-in at 9 PM after a 4-hour bus ride was swift and courteous. If you choose to not use a porter, ask for good directions to your room, as this is a large resort.

Negatives –
• Complimentary morning coffee & tea appears to not exist. Come on Westin…you can do better.
TIP: Ask the front desk if there’s coffee other than in their restaurants and they pointed me towards the “Beach Club” area of the resort. Outside the Beach Club restaurant they had Complimentary Coffee & Tea set up. It’s not that easy to find, but persevere.
• Furniture in the room was old and the drawer’s stick.
• Location – The resort is at the far end of the Hotel Zone, this is another reason I chose to stay here BUT I believe it might not be the best for people who want to be closer to the “party scene”. However there is a convenient, CHEAP bus that runs all the time right outside of the resort that’s will take you anywhere in the hotel zone and into Cancun City.
• Restaurants – I ate dinner at the Affecifes Restaurant one night. The food was not terrible, the service was fine. I also had dinner at El Palmar another night; they were offering the Chinese Buffet. It was GROSS. If you are not on the resort’s meal plan, take the short bus ride to La Isla Mall for decent restaurants or Cancun City.
• One day I returned to my room at 4 PM and it had not been cleaned. I called the front desk and informed them and they asked, “Do you want it cleaned now.” Of course I did! Most hotels would have offered a free drink or meal, but the Westin saw fit to not offer anything.

In my opinion, the Cancun Hotel zone is not truly Mexico. It was built for foreign tourists and you can tell. That said, if you need a couple of days to chill at the beach, and you don’t mind the resort atmosphere you will have fun, but don’t expect a four star experience.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the upper floors facing the lagoon have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the detailed reviewed. You are right the location of the hotel is great; as we have 4 outdoor pools overlooking either the Caribbean Sea or the private lagoon beach with awesome sunsets.
We are very sorry to hear about the shortages you experienced on the service. We shared your comments with leader of the Housekeeping Team, the Director of Food & Beverage and the Executive Chef. We consider all of them an opportunity to help us to improve and give a better service to all of our guests.

Happy Holidays!

The Westin Cancun Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Cancun. The hotel staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet a bit pricey, but kids were free so it worked out. The hotel is at the beginning of the hotel zone, in a quiet area, so nothing walking distance (restaurants or shops). Beach/pool area wonderful with lots of chairs and umbrellas. Poolside music, games, swim-up bar. Some beach activity from vendors - parasailing, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a very nice comment. You are right we are a beautiful and relaxing resort. We hope to welcome you back again really soon.

Happy Holidays

The Westin Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a very nice resort. The beach is beautiful. The staff is so very nice and accommodating. The resort is very dog friendly, which we really appreciated. Now we can go on vacation with our dog and stay at a wonderful resort in an unimaginably beautiful part of the world. THANK YOU Westin Management for providing dog lovers and their pets the opportunity to enjoy the natural beauty of Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zucchilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice post about our Resort and our Staff. We assure you we´ll recognize all of them and that´s what it makes us happy, to serve our guest and go the extra mile for you. We hope to welcome your family and your dog back in the near future for another relaxing Westin Experience.

Happy Holidays!

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The good: the setting is great. And the staff has been super friendly. The food has been adequate. The not-so much: the hotel is beat. We have been here exactly 24 hours and here are the list of issues we have contacted the hotel over...1, there are ants in our room. 2. The sliding doors do not close so the sun shines in through them in the morning. 3. Our phone doesn't work and we have asked to have it fixed 5 hours ago, still waiting. 4. The wi-fi is horrible! 5. After asking for an ethernet cable for our lap tap, it took several hours and requests to get one 6. We requested our mini-bar be unlocked so we could use it as a refrigerator....took several requests to make it happen
Other issues: 7. Public bathrooms need updating and attention 8. The place is really in need of some serious renovation for the money you pay here 9. There are no balconies 10. The carpets are worn, torn and filthy
As SPG Platinum members, we expect better from SPG. If you are looking for a very mediocre resort on a beautiful beech, this is your place. It is certainly not up to the standard SPG has set for its guests.
We have 5 days to go...hoping it will get better:)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ahsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very detailed review of our resort. We have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it with our team. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence.

Please accept our sincerest apology for your disappointing experience.
This is certainly not the memory we intended for you to take with you. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please call the hotel at 52+998-8487400 and ask for the Guest Service Manager and we will be more than glad to follow up with you.

Happy Holidays!

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel was horrible. The rooms were old and looked as if they hadn't been remodeled in over 10 years. Starwood put us in this hotel after a bad experience at the Puerto Vallarta hotel a year prior. Part of the concrete roof fell off from about six floors and destroyed four tables by the royal beach club as we were walking to royal beach club pool. We were lucky we were not killed. I would be embarassed to send a customer to this hotel especially after having trouble at another hotel. I have tried to contact the lady in corporate that set us up at this hotel over a dozen times and have yet to hear back from her after almost a year. I am giving the Puerto Vallarta hotel another chance in January and have asked to be upgraded due to our horrible experience at the past two hotels we have stayed in Mexico and have been told if we want we can cancel our reservation at hotel by the reservation department at the hote. The staff is very nice in Cancun but the manager in Puerto Vallarta is unbelievably rude. Both these hotels need MAJOR HELP!!

Room Tip: Royal beach club is the only decent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing about your past experiences in our resorts; your opinion as a very valued guest certainly assist us through our continuous process of improvement.

We are glad that you enjoyed our staff friendly attitude during your past stay; it is also great to inform you that we have started our rooms renovation works but this is a long time project and we appreciate your kind understanding on this regard.

The maintenance issue that you mentioned was solved immediatly and be assured that we will be sending your comments to our corporate offices.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Replenish your spirit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.9 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
3.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
1.1 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#44 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at our glorious private beaches and four outdoor pools. Pamper yourself at the luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™. Or pick up the pace with countless water sports, plus tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing