We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #65 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Westin really needs to step up to the plate with their brand. The hotel is in bad need of a make-over. The rooms are spacious but a bit cavernous. My biggest criticism is SPG Preferred Room "scam". All the rooms look the same! the first time I went, I was upgraded to a balcony room. The next and every time after, I was just given a garden view SPG Preferred Room - if that is Preferred I wonder what their regular rooms look like. Anyhow its just a scam as the Preferred rooms are the same as the regular rooms (I checked). One surprise, the food is very decent at the hotel and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSet1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments and would like to offer you our most sincere apologies. Let us explain that upgrades are subject to availability and that not all rooms are the same as we have started a long term project to renovate our rooms.

We value your preference as an SPG member and hope you give us the opportunity to show you our hard work next time.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,206)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 3,206 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sunquest and I-travel2000 are selling this resort as a 5 star. STOP if you have ever stayed at an all inclusive 5 star before, you will be very disappointed. This resort has just started offering All Inclusive and is still a Time Share property. The buffet restaurant is very limited with repetitive food every night. There are 2 AlaCarte restaurants at this resort that are pretty good. Reservations are not required.....no one stays on the resort because its mostly time share so people go out. There is also no nightly entertainment and very limited daily activities. If you want a quiet vacation this is the resort.

Most of the rooms do not have balconies or even a window that you can open. The rooms are dated and need refurbishing. There was mold in our shower and the shower dripped non stop. The pools were not well maintained and appeared to be murky. The entire resort needed a good cleaning and some fresh paint.

If you have stayed at a Riu, Iberostar or Barcelo and liked what they had to offer this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Appletree1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Please allow us to explain that we are not a time share property and that we have been working hard to improve our facility however this is a long term project, please bear with us as we would like to show you our improvements in the near future.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment and we value your opinion. We will make note of your comments and pass along your feedback in order to provide all of our guests with exceptional service.


Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Overall, good experience. Ask for Efrem to help he is great. Stay at the Royal Beach club. It is not crowded and has a separate dining room and cocktail hour. The pool is less noisy as well. The hotel is kept very clean, although it could be updated. Of course the Westin signiture bed is heavenly:) and so is the bath. This is my third time at this hotel and I find it a good value and nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleurfelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for four nights, five days this month at the Westin Ocean Beach Club, and we could not have been more pleased. The location on the south end of the island has a great beach and is away from the partying and noise found elsewhere on Cancun. Our room was very comfortable and it had a fabulous view of the beach and ocean. The breakfast buffet, which was included in the daily rate and the two hour happy hour, also included, were both good. The staff was helpful, friendly, efficient and courteous. In short, it was a great getaway break at a very reasonable price. - Note: I definetly recommend the resort's Ocean Beach Club; more modern, more quiet and private and far less noisy.

Room Tip: choose the ocean view rooms, and stay on floors four and above.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Great recommendations, thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to host your next getaway to Cancun, Mexico.

Warm regards from sunny Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westin Regina Resort in CanCun, Mexico for my birthday (October 2012). The grounds are beautiful and the staff extremely friendly. You are able to purchase tickets for tours, have access to an ATM and convert currency all in the lobby. The bed was comfortable and sheets were clean. The floors REALLY needed to be mopped and the bathroom walls and baseboards were very dirty. The toilets were clean luckily. The arched ceiling and bold blue accent wall gave the room a lot of charm and character. We sat on the beach really late at night and took-in the spectacular view of the city lights/hotel strip. We actually thought we were going to be asked to leave the beach area due to the late hour but the friendly staff never bothered us as we sipped our pina-coladas. The only issue I had was that the elevator stopped working properly and I had to take the employee stairs after getting lost on some random floor it dumped me on. This hotel is located at the END of the hotel zone so taxi rides are expensive and walking is out of the question. They have a local bus that comes by every 5-8min right outside the hotel and it will take you to the main food/club zone. The bus fare is less than a dollar! To get back to the hotel take the bus that says Regina on it (hotel is called the WestinRegina). :)

Room Tip: This hotel is located at the END of the hotel zone so taxi rides are expensive and walking is out of...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingYve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed @ the Westin Cancun Hotel & Spa 3 times in February, 2013. I did not use their Spa facilities, but they were well staffed, and offered many services, was very clean, and located right down the Hallway towards the elevators. Rooms either faced towards the bay and west, nice sunsets, or to the beach/pool. Rooms were large, marble, very clean, hair dryers, mirrors, nice
Vanity. 6th floor rooms had a nice sized balcony. 2-5 did not have one! At least 4 pools, one nice lap pool for swimming appox 25 mtrs long was opposite beach towards bay....great for early swim, and nice for afternoon tanning! Bar in between this pool and square pool facing beach. Thus 2nd pool had swim up bar! 3-4 Lil kid pools to the side were triangular shaped. Chairs/
Umbrellas all around. Multiple decks around pool. Beach umbrellas get "reserved" early by the early risers claiming them with towels! What else is new! Lifeguards on beach monitoring. Lots of waves, and current for not good for novice swimmers. Beautiful beach for walking, vendors occasionally show! Located At end of tourist strip near Club Med! Close to airport but far from Cancun Centre or tourist spots. Restaurants, etc. Nice sized bar with outside deck open till mid night ish, good restaurants, huge b fast buffet, nice lunch, never did dinner. Finally, huge lobby..where most people hang out for the WiFi. Unless u are near elevators the signal is weak! Room keys sometime time out at noon, which IS a real pain! Have Fun!

Room Tip: 6th floor only have a balcony unless u r right on beach! Wi fi best near elevators, or lobby area!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 737PilotJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback/tips and choosing The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun three times in a row! That is quite great to hear.
We will make note of your comments and will work hard in order to better serve all of our guests.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are SPG members and have stayed at EVERY type of property over the course of our traveling years. This Westin was very average. Firstly, the good... The staff were completely awesome! From cleaning staff to concierge, everyone was friendly, professional and helpful. If it weren't for the staff, I don't think I could recommend this hotel. Also the food was very good and tasty with typical prices for a hotel. Drinks were so-so, unless you befriended a bartender :)) The property was clean and quiet. Would be great for a couple looking for a sleep and lay by the pool kinda vacation.
Now the bad.... As I read below, the location was not great...I guess the bus is accessible and cheap, but I am not a bus kinda girl on vacation. So $17-20 one way to the nightlife was expensive... There is NOTHING to do at this hotel at night. NOTHING. And my #1 pet peeve was the lack of or inconsistency of internet. It was crazy. Had to go to the lobby (with every other guest.....comical) to get a hot spot. At a Starwood property, in 2013...unacceptable. And yes, there are several bars in the hotel, but usually only one is open at a time. Also, there could have been more activities during the day....pool games or contests... I was just bored. One day, I had a mani/pedi that was pretty expensive and it was actually a whole lotta nothing... rip off.
It was a lovely place to stay if you can lay around and do nothing for 6 days, but knowing that there was so much to do right up the road, esp at night, I kinda felt trapped.

Room Tip: SPG concierge? Rooms on Lagoon side are sunnier longer if you hang on the balcony....
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakesmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Greetings from The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your vacation.
We are very proud of our team for delivering exceptional customer service to you and making your experience better.

Please let us apologize for the inconveniences experienced. We take all of our guest’s comments very seriously and we take this as constructive criticism to grow and improve our services.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back and show you the hard work we have put into it.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#40 of 176 in Cancun
710 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
3.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.7 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#46 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $108 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. Our our glorious resort in Cancun, Mexico features private beaches and four outdoor pools. We offer a luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™ as well as opportunities to enjoy many water sports. Tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips are all available to you at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing