We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Beach Club is very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #66 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Royal Beach Club is very nice”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Westin Spa and Resort has two hotel areas, the main area and the Royal Beach Club. I highly recommend the RBC. We looked at rooms in both areas and went with the RBC because the rooms were a bit larger and nicer, and breakfast buffet and evening drinks and "appetizers" were included. I put appetizers in quotes because we anticipated light appetizers to nibble on while having a drink, but what they had was really a moderate dinner buffet. It is not a cruise-ship style orgy, but we ate there 3 out of the 4 nights and enjoyed pasta salad, chicken salad sandwiches, chili, fruit, yogurt, and bite sized desserts. Another nice distinction between the main area of the hotel and the RBC is that the RBC does not require you to use towel cards. A minor drawback of the RBC is that it is a bit far away from the main lobby and the main pool, so that can be a bit of a walk. The RBC has its own pool, though, so we did not find this to be a problem.

Room Tip: Go with the RBC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

It is great to know all about our guests experiences. We are glad you enjoyed the privileges of our Royal Beach Club.

We hope you visit us once more in sunny Cancun.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    1,134
    513
    247
    160
See reviews for
770
1,245
148
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

as an airline employee it is easy for my wife and I to take a 3 day trip to Mexico. Westin Resort & Spa was the perfect spot to warm up for a few days. Great staff, beach, and easy to get the bus to the Cancun hot spots.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronniet94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us in sunny Cancun, we hope serve you again and again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you're looking to get away & RELAX, eat & chill, the Westin Cancun is an awesome choice for your vacation! We stayed there in January 2013, in the Royal Beach Club section of the hotel - definitely worth the additional $... all rooms are oceanview, the beds were super comfy & the PRIVATE pool was barely used by anyone else besides ourselves! The service was *fantastic* all week -from the front desk staff, to the waiters, to the spa employees. Our room was clean, pretty modern & QUIET! (minus the sound of the ocean waves - which I would never complain about !!)

We opted for the All Inclusive option & the food was great - but only buffet was at breakfast. Ordering off a menu for lunch/dinner wasn't a big deal, but meant that food took a little longer to be served (so don't show up for lunch or dinner totally starving! LOL).... the gym & spa were both fantastic & beach was beautiful. The resort is secluded, quiet (no disco, no nightly entertainment) & there are more than enough pool/beach chairs for everyone, so no waking up @ 6am to fight the crowds & reserve your spots ! Same goes w/booking the specialty restaurants - no fuss. We would definitely go back & stay at this hotel again ! If you're going to Cancun to PARTY, then this definitely is NOT the resort for you! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Glad you were able to relax at our Royal Beach Club with the comfort of our Heavenly beds, just like you mentioned we have plenty of sand, sun, and beach for our guests to unwind. We will definitely make note of your comments to ameliorate our service. We hope to have you back at our property on your next getaway!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we got out of the car wow what a breathtaking view. There were many friendly staff members there Eager to assist us. It was my wife's first time In Cancun, The best part was Witnessing her expression as she saw the water for the first time As she stepped out of the car. The staff is excellent the rooms were clean we felt very safe. The hotel also has five swimming pools And has a kids club. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which will take you all over town for about $.50 And these buses even have Wi-Fi!! There's a fresh fish restaurant in walking distance From the hotel Called Rio Nizuc restaurant. I highly recommend this place it's right on the beach and they catch their own fish. All in all my wife and I love this Hotel and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JESUS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed at the Westin Resort Jan 10th to 17th 2013- all inclusive.. it was exactly what we expected - the hotel does need a little TLC- it is simply a little older.. the rooms were always very clean, beds amazing (Westin Heavenly beds) the food was great! Sea Stone restaurant was excellent! Our highlight must have been our server during the days Bernardo- thanks so much! we hardly had to ask for anything while he was there -always had things taken care of for us brought us lunch right on the beach.. always with a smile and a story! if you are looking for a relaxing week away this is a great property.. away from the busy Cancun strip but close enough if you wanted that experience..close to the airport..we will definatly go back to this property! Beach was beautiful - white sand beautiful ocean- very rough while we were there..

Room Tip: we were upgraded to the 6th floor since we are also Starwood prefered guests and there on our mini-H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read your wonderful review and to know that you had such a relaxing vacation enjoying our Heavenly beds, food, service, and ocean views. We will pass along your comments to the rest of our team. We invite you to visit soon.

Thank you for your feedback,

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time in Mexico, stayed here at part of a North American business conference. The resort has a nice beach that is always being groomed and raked. Being from Atlantic Canada, I've honestly never been in warmer ocean water before.

The room was okay, clean but very white. It lacked the colour I expected to see in Mexico. Unfortunately it rained for most of the time the conference took place, so down time was either in the room or at the bar. There weren't any particular issues with the room - it was cleaned daily around 4 or 5 and had a wonderful view of the ocean. Maybe I'm spoiled from other trips that I've been on but I noticed the small stuff like rust on the shower heads (so much that you couldn't point it in a different direction) and broken light switches. It was nothing that I couldn't look past.

The resort buffet restaurant was really good and I wish I had broken from the pack to try the other restaurants on the premises. The staff were friendly and the place was immaculately clean.

The bars were stocked and had everything that I wanted. I found the pool/beach bar loud with Americans yelling about football. I knew they were Americans as they made sure to shout their states at each other. I guess loudest state wins? ... But I digress.

The convention rooms were well air conditioned and had PSAV on site for audio/video requirements. All of the group events in the evenings seemed well planned and with lots of room to mingle and have fun.

For a conference, I'd highly recommend this resort. It's a wrist band resort to indicate if you have an all-inclusive stay. If this were a personal vacation in Cancun, I'd probably move closer up the strip or think about Playa del Carmen. I can't say that if the price were right that I wouldn't be back, I just prefer more pool and relaxing and really looked forward to more traditional Mexican flair.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to know that your conference went very well, too bad the weather wasn't on your side during your trip, we invite you to come back and visit in the future whether it is for another business conference or a family getaway.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments,
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A slightly quieter part of the Cancun hotel scene. Great friendly staff, especially Carlos the fun time guy! You need to check out the two specialty restaurants, they provide completely different fare from each other and the main dining room. We enjoyed our week stay with three other couples and would certainly return for future vacations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredTbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our property and that Carlos, our fun activity guy made your stay fun! As mentioned we have a variety of restaurants with totally different concepts for our guests to enjoy.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you on your next visit to Cancun!

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
8.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
664 reviews
13.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
3.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
7.1 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#46 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at our glorious private beaches and four outdoor pools. Pamper yourself at the luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™. Or pick up the pace with countless water sports, plus tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing