We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #67 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed September 21, 2012

September is a really quiet month in Cancun, so we got a good deal staying here at their Royal Beach Club, which gave us a great room, with wonderful views, breakfast, and cocktails and canapes every day.

The resort itself is positioned right on the lovely beach with the incredibly blue Carribean sea, slightly worn in places, but very clean. It is towards the end of the hotel strip so some 20km from the centre of Cancun, but with the very good local bus service this is not a problem.

It is a vast resort with everything very spread out, we found ourselves doing a lot of walking.

Only thing to fault it on was the wifi was sometimes patchy.

All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydee S, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear guest,

We feel so happy to hear about your enjoyful experience with us. The Royal Beach Club package is a very complete and with high demand package. We are glad that it was up to your expectation and thank you for letting us know.

In regards of the wi-fi signal, we are glad to inform you that we are doing some improvements about the signal reception and we take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences that this issue might had caused you.

Thank you again for becomming part of the Westin community and we invite you to return in the near future. It will be our pleasure!

Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,687 - 1,693 of 3,220 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had to fly in a day early when before my condo's were reserved and almost wish i could have stayed the entire 2wks at the Westin resort and spa...Great hotel, pools, food, staff and most important for me location in south cancun!!! A beautiful beach cove right next to club med and the only snorkeling there right on cancun along the wall there at club med...not brand spanking new but very well kept...Had a great room and one night stay there...thanks westin!!!! One happy customer...

Room Tip: I booked this with hotwire.com for a steal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralphpacejr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydee S, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Great pleasure to have you here, dear happy customer.

Thank you for becaming part of the Westin Experience and we hope you come back in the near future for a longer stay to enjoy this beautiful place in the Mexican caribbean.

Replenish your spirit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Excellent Hotel, great staff at restaurants,pool, house keeping, etc, thanks! Front desk guys can improve their service.

Kids Club awesome! Our 6 year old daughter loved it ! Brenda thanks a lot!

Hotel is very nice, not that big what makes it comfortable for the whole family, quite enough to rest.

Rooms need an update to be at Westin standards but are not that bad either.

Will go back there every time we go bac to Cancun.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonovoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydee S, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear guest,

Great to know about your happy vacation! Thank you for your preference but also especials and public thanks to our great staff for being part of the amazing experience that you went through.

We for sure will be reinforcing our training for the front desk associates. Thank you for bringing this into our attention.

Your pictures are wonderful too. September has been so nice and the ocean looks like the largest and calmest pool in the world with such a beautiful blue colors. Please recommend this paradise to your friends, we will be happy to host you again and again and thank you for becoming part of the Westin family.

Replenish your spirit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I work for Starwood. Im suppose to get free upgrades. No free upgrades here. The manager said I had to pay extra per noght for 8 nights.Housekeeping Terrible. No soap, No washcloths, No water, No Towels. WOW!! Had to call numerous times. Night Life Boring.. The service in the Bars and Resturants GREAT! FOOD GREAT! The room like a cave no pics, no rugs, Echoing all Night in Hallways from guests and staff in AM.

Room Tip: Do not select first floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydee S, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and bringing the housekeeping matters into our attention; we truly apologize about the inconveniences that these issues caused you.

On the other side we are glad that our Food & Beverage team work and service went up to your expectations since this is a very important experience in a enjoyful vacation.

Regarding the upgrades, we try to give them to every single guest as part of our brand standards but of course that is up to the offer and demand. Since we are renovating our facilities, our upgrades inventory has become restricted in a way, but this will be only for a short period of time. We kindly ask your for your understanding on this matter and we look forward for your next visit to upgrade as you deserve.

Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I must admit that when I booked this room via Priceline (name your price opton) and it came back with the Westin I was a little bummed because I had read previous reviews on multiple sites about this resort. I got a great price on the room and decided that I would just make the best of it.

Upon arrival to the resort I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the lobby, how friendly the staff were and how helpful they were as well. The bellman took our bags and gave us a little tour of the resort on the way to the room which was much appreciated. Once we got settled into the room, I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and amenities. Honestly, after reading some reviews of the resort I expected a rendition of The Bates Motel but it was far from it. The pool area was clean, bar area was clean and restaurant area was clean as well. Make sure to get Ariel as your bartender/waiter at the poolside bar, he made our last night AMAZING!!

Also, don't be alarmed about it being at the far end of the hotel zone. The beach wasn't overcrowded and we never waited more than 30 seconds for a bus to take us down the strip on any day, no matter the time.

Thanks a lot Westin Resort staff, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taureanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydee S, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for trusting us and for giving us the great opportunity to show you our real friendly and service oriented staff attitude, a clean and safe environment in such a beautiful area in the caribbean.

We look forward for your next visit and be sure we will extend your compliments from our luggage assistants, our F& B associates and of course our wonderful Housekeeping staff.

Our pleasure!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

About 12 years ago this property, although a little bit isolated, was superb... Nowadays it's just... standard. Maintenance is awful at its best (rooms, swimming pool, public areas, etc.) and fits more into a decadent seventies mall... Service is good, rates are OK, but needs a lot of improvement on recreation areas, beach, and rooms...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MexTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydee S, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear valued guest,

We hope you are doing well and thank you for sharing your comments, both positive and negative.
We are happy to know that our service and great competitive rates were up to your satisfaction.
On the other side, we apologize for the inconveniences that you went through. Our guest's experiences are so important to us and therefore we take actions. We are glad to inform you that we have started renovating our facilities in order to provide a fresher and improved facilities. Hopefully you give us the opportunity to host you in the near future and be part of a renewed and refreshed vacation.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First things First. The Location of this Hotel is awesome. Very clean and Staff is very nice and friendly.
Transportation: At the airport, do NOT take a taxi, instead, Go for Greenline, they take about 6-7 people and you are the one who get dropped off at Westin Hotel. The price is 150 Pezos. When you wanna go back to Airport-make a reservation at the hotel desk and the price is 9$
There are buses that pass by every 5 minutes right in front of the hotel and it is 8.5 pezos. You can take the bus and go to La Isla Flea Market where you can find restaurants( Hooters, Mc Donalds, Starbucks etc...)

Snorkeling: Bring your gear, walk through the reefs. (Right in fron of Club Med) It is free and awesome. Tons of different kind of fishes out there. If you wanna walk on the reefs, watch out the Iguanas. They are harmless but some of them are half-meter long.
Emre, Gatineau, Quebec

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raskolnikov2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydee S, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Your tips about transportation and snorkeling are very helpful for all guests visiting Cancun! We feel very happy about being part of your nice vacation in this friendly and beautiful resort and we hope you visit again in the near future. Feel welcome!

Thank you and replenish your spirit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
731 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
3.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
7.3 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevlard Kukulcan KM 20, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#47 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $131 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. Our our glorious resort in Cancun, Mexico features private beaches and four outdoor pools. We offer a luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™ as well as opportunities to enjoy many water sports. Tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips are all available to you at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing