We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot go wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed 4 nights in Ritz and we loved the hotel so much. We cannot wait to go back during winter vacation.

Here are couple things that we liked.

1. Service is impeccable. The level of service is better than Four Seasons in Maui, which we stayed 5 days three years ago. The staffs were so nice and friendly all the time.

2. The restaurant was fantastic! Cafe Mexicana is the one we visited at least 2 times a day during the stay. LOVED their food!!!!! I could not belive we can enjoy such a great dishes with very inexpensive prices. Dishes normally runs 13-19 dollars and it is the best restaurants in terms of the taste, value, and service.

3. SPA: we loved it so much. Each of us tried different and new massage and they were the best massage we have been recieved for last 5 years. They treats you so well too.

4. Room service: even the food in the room service was fantastic.
It is also inexpensive compare to hotels in States.

Couple things that we do not like:

I have no complaints at all abour anything in this hotel.

Let me think.

Oh, the internet use was so expensive!
For one day of wireless internet, it was 25 dollars.

Also, in-room movie was expensive too. I paid 17 dollars to watch a movie.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank drbdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,412 - 2,418 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

The Ritz in Cancun was perfect as always. This is my 2nd time at the Ritz and 8th overall in the last 5 years in Cancun. My family of 7 were very happy with the service and the special attention that only the Ritz can give you. The most amazing part was how they handled the upcoming Hurricane. They kept us informed on the daily travels of "Dean", and still made us feel like there was no danger. The food continues to be great and the hotel is spotless. Looking forward to going back in November...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank glenn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We had a great time at the Ritz in Cancun. We've stayed at Ritz properties in St. Thomas and Grand Cayman as well and overall this was our favorite. Friendly staff, great food (although of course very pricey), and a beautiful beach - there's not much more you could ask for.

Cancun was not our favorite destination, but the hotel is fantastic!

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Raleigh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Our week's stay at The Ritz Carlton Cancun was exceptional. The hotel was stunning, the staff so attentive and the beach simply picturesque. Restaurants - the Sushi/Sashimi Counter was superb - thanks to the wonderful chef, breakfast was always a delight and the seafood banquet was amazing. To our surprise there was a Krups espresso machine in our room - just like we have back home. Outside of just pure relaxation, you can enjoy some wonderful activities outside of the hotel. Recommend swimming with dolphins, although put aside a whole day for this activity. We had several work functions to attend during our stay, with the last being a formal evening so spectular it will be one of my lifetime highlights. Would love to say we would return, however the 30+ hour journey one-way will be what prevents us. Tony & Linda, Sydney Australia

Stayed: April 2007
5  Thank Sydney_Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Not much that can really be said except well......its the Ritz. My wife and i stayed there in Aug and unfortunately had to cut the trip short because of hurricane Dean. But I will say this. The two days we were there were AMAZING. The hotel leaves nothing to chance and prides itself on pampering its guests to the fullest. And not in a "fake" way. All the staff were beyond superb. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome and comfortable to say the least. The hotel itself is flawless. Super clean and well kept. I was amazed to see workers up at the crack of dawn hand scrubbing tiles at the pools (which are amazing by the way). The food was some of the best we have had anywhere in the world. i ordered lobster on the beach and got a 24oz tail that could barely fit on the full sized plate. Of course it was prepared perfectly. Again this was at the Ritz beach grill. The other restaurants were simply incredible. Everything about this hotel is TOP NOTCH. The room views, service, beds, oh and yes....I cannot end without letting you know that the spa is by far the best we have ever experienced anywhere in the world. We will never stay anywere else in Cancun. Amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Richard5210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We were so pampered at the Ritz-Carlton, I don't know if my wife will ever want to go anywhere else. Everyone from the Frontdesk, Bellboys, Concierge, Towel guys, Waiters, Room service were so helpful! The room was perfect. We liked this place so much that I brought the guest survey questionnaire back home to thank them.

I read the review below about the internet. It is prohibitive, but they only have 4 computers available. We concluded that this high price (it's high everywhere in Cancun - why is internet more expensive in Cancun than in Tulum where the rate goes for about $1/hour?) must be to prevent people from just sitting around the computers. My wife had some important business to take care of - making a document and emailing - and the business center people were genuinely very, very helpful. AND it didn't cost us an arm and a leg.

If you are looking for a place to make your stay in Cancun special and romantic, you don't need to look any further than the Ritz.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LAcomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

First of all, this place is NOT STUFFY. It is elegant, beautiful, and on, what I consider the premier beach spot in Cancun. The spa, the lobby, the bell men, the front desk, the restaurants, even the beach grill, all knew our names, and were completely genuine. Some of the Ritz's in the States should send their staff over for some good training.

This place is not over priced, either. Drinks and food were a good value and offered excellent choices.

I have nothing but rave reviews. I would recommend this place to ANYONE!

PS - the Turtle Release Club was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CasperBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,989 reviews
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $308 - $1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing