We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itzy Bitzy Room--Good Hotel, Excellent Service, but Nickel & Dime”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Itzy Bitzy Room--Good Hotel, Excellent Service, but Nickel & Dime”
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The Ritz Carlton Cancun has its great points, and its (surprising) low points. Without repeating others here, I do have to point out that their service in general was EXCELLENT. They were speedy, courteous and kind. The maid service was hit or miss, sometimes towels and soaps were replaced, sometimes not. We requested an Itzy Bitzy Room for us and the baby and this was awesome. The room came with a crib, rocker, high chair, changing table, Avent bottle sterilizer, Avent bottle warmer and child tub. I searched the reviews here before for specifics but couldn't find anything about this room---this is a very good choice for people with babies/infants coming to this hotel. The property is small, and the common areas are small. When we were there, the beach was entirely closed down due to Cancun's efforts to replenish the beach. This didn't bother us as the pools are nice. The construction did go on throughout the night and we heard quite a few people complain (and change hotels). Keep this in mind if you're coming in December. They are not sure when this construction on the beach will end.

For such a nice hotel, it is strange that they nickel & dime you. I don't mean prices of water, food, etc., I actually mean that there are not too amenities included (as you would find at a Four Seasons, JW, Fairmont, St. Regis, etc.) The amenities which are included are not advertised, such as: (1) free internet downstairs at the business center; (2) free child play room with Wii console; (3) free bottled water at the Mexican Cafe downstairs; (4) free coffee at the Mexican Cafe downstairs in the morning; (5) free movies in the Entertainment room. The room doesn't include a regular coffee maker, which is a pain when the novelty of the Nespresso machine wears off. Nespresso pods are not refilled each morning, and for some reason could not be found in my mini bar even then I wanted to buy them. The lobby bar does not provide you with munchies (such as chips or bread or nuts) even when you order drinks. We had to pay $25/day for the use of a refrigerator in our room b/c we needed them for the baby bottles. These are small things, yes, but things that other hotels of this caliber provides when you're on vacation. (Fairmont, for example, gives you the use of a fridge & internet free. Four Season has complimentary sunblock and iced cold water poolside and bug spray for your room. Starwood brands include free internet in the room.)

Also, there are alot of mosquitoes in your room. This is not the hotel's fault, as the mosquitoes seem to come out of the sinks, etc., but just be aware to cover up when sleeping so you don't get bug bites. Overall, the service was genuine, kind and we really enjoyed ourselves. The location is great, and the bus is easy to catch from here. The rooms are older, but overall it is very clean and the sheets are luxurious!! There are tons of restaurants within walking distance. I'm not sure if I'd stay here again, but it was a good stay and I'd recommend this place in general.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,117
    421
    137
    63
    40
See reviews for
721
1,185
78
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We stayed at this Ritz Carlton December 13 - 19, 2009, Club level floor with all the perks. We USE TO always stay at a Ritz and had just left the Ritz Carlton in Fort Lauderdale (after the boat parade) to stay at the Ritz in Cancun.
Service, food and staff were great. Another review mentioned the maid service. Agreed! Never enough towels, we had to call 3 times during the stay to get service.
The beach restoration was a sight! Interesting to watch but made strolling along the beach impossible.
One evening when returning on foot from Harrys for dinner, I noticed two empty flag poles. Questioning the doorman, I was told the American Flags were removed and not allowed to be flown. I was told it was for my own safety. I took note of the other flags; France, China, Canada, Mexico and reflected what the United States has done and does do for these countries. I certainly did NOT feel SAFE in a country that would not fly my country's flag. We remained nervous the rest of the trip and I was glad to land in North Carolina to catch a flight back to D.C. I will have to admit, the men in uniform I saw in the airport in North Carolina after returning home, brought a sense of pride to me. For them, I will never stay at a Ritz Carlton (here at home in the U.S.A. or abroad) and will never return to Mexic o.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We got a last minute deal and could not have been more pleased. This was our first time in Cancun and at a Ritz Carlton. The hotel is elegant in a casual way, the staff was friendly, and the service superb. I had a great massage in the spa (be sure and try their friut juices). We arrived on a Tuesday and the occupancy rate was only about 15%, up to 55% by the weekend, so obviously the hotels have taken a big hit due to the recession. We left on the day they closed the beach for the reclamation project. I guess there's no good time to close the beach, but I would not have been happy if that had happened while I was there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebingohall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Not to just rehash all the other reviews this really is a fantastic hotel. The view, staff, food and hotel is amazing. Watching the sun come up in the morning put me into awe. And the sunset is beautiful from the Club Lounge with cocktail in hand.

The club lounge is a must. It is worth the extra cost. Just to have a place to veg out from the sand and sun for a while it great. Just to have a cool drink and read the lounge is a great place. You can also brush up on your Spanish with the staff.

This is my 6th time to the Ritz and it surely won't be my last. Cheers to the Ritz Carlton Cancun. They make it hard to leave the property.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

we just arrived (12/20/09) at this lovely beach hotel (we have stayed several times before) only to be told the beach is closed for 5 days due to a 24 hour a day beach reclamation project by the town of Cancun..

Apparently, it was meant to be done in the slow season, but politics got in the way, and the hotel claims ( we simply dont believe them) that they were only told about this yesterday (yeah, right).

So we sit in our room listening to 5 earth movers, with that annoying beep-beeping, working all night on the beach. Can't imagine how noisy it will be at the pool tomorrow, which faces directly onto the beach.

we have found another hotel from tomorrow (by huge luck), but anyone coming for the upcoming holidays, you have been WARNED!

This experience reflects very poorly on tourist friendly Cancun, and on the ritz carlton hotel.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Our stay in early December at the Ritz was again first class. We had a Club Level room, and as we have had this accommodation several times in recent years, were interested in seeing what had changed. First, the Club Level Ritz people were as friendly and helpful as ever. New manager Angelica was helpful, and assistant Ohdemaris was unusually friendly. The beverage service was as good as ever, the Pina Colada's excellent. You said you want picky? OK. No longer are Ritz houseshoes provided. The robes were there, but no houseshoes. The maids didn't automatically replenish the toiletries (if you had stowed some away in your luggage). They assumed that if you needed more soap, just go to your suitcase and get a bar!!?? For the evening snacks, there used to be a chafing dish with hot snacks...no longer this year. And of course they did away with their mid-afternoon "tea time". Used to be five food offerings a day, now just four. But if you're lucky enough to be staying at Club Level at the ritz, you can put up with these changes. I'm sure the economic situation has demanded some of them. ... It was interesting to look northward up the beach and see the restoration procedure coming. An amazing sight. It looks like the restoration will arrive at the Ritz area beach about January 1st. We were told that it moves southward about 1 kilometer a week. The job they are doing is unbelievably superb. Now fingers crossed that the next hurricane or tropical storm doesn't wash it all away.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

This was the 3rd year at the Ritz in Cancun , club level and a new manager, Angelica De la Cruz. . We were again, Mother and 2 adult daughters. It was all we expected and more. The service and food at the club level and the suite was great. The restaurants and spa and pool wonderful as usual. This time we hit bad weather and we still had the best time. The spa and fitness center were where we spent most of the bad weather days, as well as the club level for excellent service, food, drink. We are never disappointed at The Ritz Carlton in Cancun. Angelica made us feel right at home, except we do not have such luxury at home.
Can't wait to go back next year. See you next year, Angelica, our Cancun Sister.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,828 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 175 in Cancun
2,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing