We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2004

Wonderful experience at the Ritz- Carlton. Elegant property with excellent maintenance and clean, modern rooms. Friendly, helpful staff who got a kick out of my limited Spanish. Always greeted with a "Buenos Dias". Wonderful pools and hot tub adjacent to the clean, wide, white sand beach. Don't miss a trip tho the fitness center. All types of modern workout equipment. They bring you cold water and spearmint scented moist towels during your workout. Steam room and private showers and dressing rooms after that. Breakfast buffet is wonderful although pricey ($80 US for 3 people). Concierge is very helpful with directions and dining reccomendations. American Express travel agent on site for trip bookings.

10  Thank ClubMedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,700 - 2,706 of 3,112 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2004

We have been at the Ritz for the last six days. This was our first time in Cancun. I read all the postings on tripadvisor.com about this hotel. They were right. This is truly a unique hotel. The staff is by far the friendliest I have ever experienced!! I have stayed at several Ritz Carlton hotels in the past and this one is the BEST!!
The staff calls you by your name as they encounter you on the property. I have no idea how they remember your name but they do.
The concierge floor is the place to stay. You get a great breakfast and lunch each day. We ate dinner out each night. Tip the concierge floor servers for better drink service.
Friday night seafood buffet at the El Cafe Mexicano at the Ritz was wonderful. An incredible selection of Mexican coastal seafood. We ate the Mexican buffet at the El Cafe Mexicano Saturday. It was very good.
Warning!!! The ocean is not your Florida variety ocean. There is a very strong rip tide. Familiarize yourself with the RED and YELLOW flags on the beach. Look for the shallow yellow flag sections.
The beach side huts are great! 70 dollars a day but well worth it.
Great pools and facilities. Did not try the spa but heard from other guest that it was great. This is a place to relax and enjoy the tropic life. Very quiet Hotel for the quiet crowd.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Texas9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2004

To be brief, this hotel was like all other Ritz properties that I've been to--impeccable. Rivals if not beats teh St Thomas property.
Located in the quieter area of Cancun, a short trip down the road from the hotter night-life hotels, we enjoyed the peace and quiet. Of course the hotel is pricey but you are papmpered nicely.We had a studio/suite with the usual high-class amenities. The 2 pools are very pretty and warm, and the beautiful blue ocean is spectacular. Food was great also. The gift shop, even with the exchange rate, was just too overpriced for clothing.

  • Stayed: February 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FurtiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Westchester, NY
17
Reviewed May 21, 2004

My family just returned from 5 days at the Ritz. We stayed on the club floor where we had a ocean view room. We can honestly say that the Ritz is a close to a perfect hotel as we have ever stayed at.
A few notes: 1) Travelling in May is great, the hotel was not crowded at all, which made the service even more wonderful. 2) The kids club people were very effecient and friendly. We had no problem leaving our 4 year old daughter there. 3) The beach and water are beautiful, however the surf is a little rough. 4) The concierge, I probably abused them, but they kept comming back for more. They felt like they can not do enough for you to make your stay perfect. 5) Free 10 minnute massage on the beach, (yes free). 6) Expensive, yes... There are tons of beautiful hotels in Cancun. Most, if not all are cheaper. If you are looking for class, superior service, good food and relaxation, you can't go wrong here. It is worth every penny. However, if you do not need all of the "professionalism" and are looking for more activities, you will definately find a very nice place in Cancun, just not the Ritz. The Ritz is definately in its own world in Cancun. They are the standard. (ps. if you have not been to Cancun before, or if it has been more than 5 years, GO!!! Its Great. You can be a single or a family and both enjoy this place. They definately know what they are doing down there...)

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2004

My wife and I just returned from 4 days at the Ritz. It was excellent! The hotel and staff are terrific. All of the staff - from the doorman, to the maids, to the concierge, to the waiters - were very friendly and gracious. The facility is also great. We had a standard room - which was huge and featured a large inset balcony with a nice view of the ocean. The pool area is also very nice and only a few steps down to the beach and ocean.

A few specifics: 1. The convenience store across the street is a good option for purchasing your cervecas. We kept a small cooler by our chairs - so we didn't advertise it - but the staff even would stop by to fill up our cooler with ice. Drinks from the bar were not surprisingly on the expensive side- but very tasty.
2. We had friends staying at Le Meridian - which is two hotels down on the beach. The Le Meridian is also a very nice property with a cool pool - and is about $50 cheaper per night for a similar room - but we (and our friends) enjoyed the Ritz experience more. A few examples - at Le Meridian they were obsessed with towels - guests have to sign for each towel they use and return that same number of towels. The Ritz brought as many towels as you wanted without any questions. Even though the pool is larger overall at Le Meridian - it sits perpendicular to the ocean - so that if you are at the top pool, you are 70 yards from the ocean. The Ritz pool is not as big - but it sits parallel to the ocean - so you are never too far away. Also, the Le Meridian pool stays open only until 6pm (and they had hotel employees with walkie talkies making you feel uncomfortable after 6 down by the pool). The posted sign at the Ritz says the pool stays open until 11pm. The bellman said you could use the pool 24 hours if you wanted to.

3. The Ritz is perfect if you're looking for a relaxing vacation. There were a few private parties going on in the evening - otherwise the pool and beach were almost eerily quiet. We sat on the beach for a couple hours after sundown each night and we were the only people there. This was exactly what we were looking for. But - if you want water polo games, limbo contests, volleyball, disco, etc. then you should look elsewhere.

Overall our experince was "excellent". The Ritz is obviously not cheap - but for a short vacation the facility and staff would be hard to beat. This is the nicest hotel we've visited during our years of travel.

8  Thank MarkMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cheltenham, England
111
Reviewed May 9, 2004

My first time in Cancun and my first time at a Ritz-Carlton. Fantastic service from all the staff. Facilities first class, position on the beach A1. The 10 days myself and my partner stayed there were very peaceful indeed. It was on the pricey side but you get used to those sort of prices living in Engalnd. If you are on a bit of a budget after forking out for the room try the little store over the road from the front door. It's a quarter of the price for drinks in there! If your not a great swimmer stick to the pool. The sea has quite nasty rips. One perculiar thing they do is make you sign after every drink or snack even if you are round the pool all day. They don't seem to want to let you keep a tab open. Only a minor gripe. On the whole though our stay was great but if you're looking for something fairly lively where the other guests are of a younger age, go somewhere else. It's a very sleepy place.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
19
Reviewed April 29, 2004

The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun was fabulous! I have to say we ended up at The Ritz after 4 nights at a different and awful resort from up the street. We enjoyed our stay and they staff was very curtious and eager to please. When we arrived the doorman, "Welcomed us home". It was a nice touch. It was always one of the staff's "pleasure" to help us or to serve us. Let's be real here, you get what you pay for and The Ritz is more expensive than most of the other resorts. If you are looking to get off "cheap", this isn't the place to stay. We found it very quiet and peaceful. The beach was beautiful and not very crowded. There was always servers to bring drinks and food. The pools were never very crowded and it was always very peaceful. The room was wonderful and the bed was very comfortable. The pianist in the bar was wonderful and he took requests. It was a pleasure to hear him play. The only negative thing I can say is the breakfast we ordered from room service was just mediocre. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Cancun.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
6,188 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#6 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#7 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $318 - $1,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing