We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #4 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
DownEast and Acadia Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

this plase is where to hang out for New Years eve. We have stayed here three times around the that Holiday. They have a great beach party with a dance floor over the sand beach with cocktails. The food here is delicious.

Room Tip: stay in the cocierge level its wort the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    409
    132
    61
    37
See reviews for
680
1,129
75
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My guest and I stayed here for two nights with Club Level accommodations July 9 thru 11. Upon arrival, I can tell you that I don't think my own Mother has ever greeted me so warmly!! Once we passed the gated security, the treatment I received made us feel like celebrities. We arrived a bit before check in but it was no problem. In fact, we did not even have to check in as we were whisked away to the Club Level immediately only to find more friendly staff with cool towels and sparkling wine. Like I said, Mom never did that!!!. The process could not have gone smother and after a few formalities, the very pleasant Alicia Munoz and Jocelyn Garcia directed us over to what was a beautiful presentation of luncheon goodies, along with any beverage of your choice, and I mean ANY, but more on that later. While I do think the extra costs are justified simply because if you were to pay for drinks, food and snacks during the day, poolside, it would most likely be more than the additional cost to upgrade but the selection of food could have been a bit more robust. The room was an ample, king sized room, well decorated with marble bath and separate shower. The view from the room was beautiful. The pool area was clean and the staff was very attentive. The beach had more than enough lounge chairs for the guests and a HUGE shout out to one of the employees on the beach. Eduardo Ake Ku was outstanding in the performance of his duties. We didn't want for a thing and he made sure we were comfortable in every way before he left us. He should be recognized for his attention to detail and personal service. Lastly, our greatest shout out goes to Rene Ramirez, Club Concierge Manager. When I tell you this individual made sure his guests were provide with not just a hotel stay but memories for life, its probably the understatement of the year. As I said earlier, at the Club Level they made sure you had any beverage you wanted. Well, my guest wished for coconut water, however, the staff said they did not have it and that they were sorry. We understood that such last minute requests could not always be honored, thanked them and went to the beach for the afternoon. Not more than an hour later, Mr. Ramirez, dressed in his suit and tie, followed by another employee walk onto the beach with coconuts that had been just cut down from a tree and opened with straw attached to gain access to the water!!!! Now, my friends, THAT is what you call service at its best!! I could not be more pleased or impressed with my stay and my only regret is that I cold not stay longer.

Room Tip: Pool View, which provides you with ocean view as well. The higher the floor the more private the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SNP1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved my room, balcony, the view of the Caribbean Sea, the staff are ever so friendly, polite and helpful. It surprised me that the wifi is not included as standard especially in this day and age. However, a lovely treat to myself and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

we have a wonderful stay at the ritz. even though some of the reviews gave us a pause, but the hotel was fantastic. yes, there were a couple of facility issues, but the service was excellent, the attention to detail was much appreciated. yes, food is expensive at the hotel but it was pretty good. we had dinner at the chef's table, which we enjoyed immensely. basically, it was a private dinner with a chef at the ritz's culinary center. worth the $150 per person. my husband especially enjoyed the wine pairing. we were able to drop off our daughter at the kids club for a night out.

if you like the ritz experience, i would caution booking tours with the ladies in the tour agency at the ritz. or you will need to be very specific about expectations of the tours. we went on a tour recommended by the tour ladies, and it was disappointing. i did let the hotel manager know, and he suggested that we always work through the concierge.

there was a stinky smell on the lobby of the floor we stayed at, but it was not to bad. that's what i mean by facilities, some days there were folks fixing a leak on the tiles, and on the last day, our room also leaked. but even with these flaws, i would still recommend the ritz. the location, service, quality, are unmatched...and you pay for a peace of mind. the ritz is consistent with its high level of service, we've stayed at the ritz across the world, and we will continue to do so. there is really no need to worry when you're at the ritz. and that's why i enjoyed the vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abitofsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

After missing the ferry to the island we were stuck without a room for the night. We checked into the Ritz and I did not want to leave. It was perfect. The staff was so professional, and attentive to everything we needed. We decided to swim at 12 because it had been a long day and a maintenance worker went and got us a big stack of towels without being asked. He did it with a smile and he disappeared until we were done our midnight swim. The next morning we had room service deliver breakfast poolside. The food was excellent! I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I don't imagine the hotel has a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is a bit strange – the staff is very welcoming and sincere which you expect from a Ritz Hotel. Out stay was ok but I had expected a better experience from the hotel. It is an old hotel with a strange set up. I suspect that Ritz did not build it but rather bought and renovated many years ago. There are atriums with jungle plants, totem poles and two styles of rooms – older old lady style and newer better designed rooms. There are at least 5 types of water in each room – like Russian roulette – some are complimentary and some are $7/bottle – but no direction to let you know which is which.
The pool is heated either by sun or furnace to a temperature which is certainly not refreshing. Its hot water which doesn’t help cool you down when you are sitting in the hot weather. The Hotel is in Mexico and after 4 days I still couldn’t figure out how to get Mexican food – the restaurants are the same but they change names during the day and menus – for some reason we felt like having Mexican food while in Mexico but it was not available at night. It is available if you sit on a terrace in one place and order off the menu… I think.
During the day, the beach is great – very nice beach and the water is refreshing. The service is not very good – but I suppose good for Cancun. I have noticed that service is much better in Myakoba and Cabos. The staff is very nice if you ask, they will do anything but at other resorts you don’t have to ask for a towel, umbrella, water, etc.
The wifi is a full day activity. Everytime you try to connect, a screen pops up and asks you to buy a subscription. Once ordered, it happens again and again throughout the day on each device. I had two devices and my wife had one. We spent over an hour each day buying subscriptions and never had a good connection. Maybe its best to forget about the wifi and enjoy the beach - I think thats the message. Upon check out, you are charged for each access - like 25 devices for each day...I still cant figure it out. Most other hotels in this rpcie category dont bother you to pay for wifie and it works.
If you go, ask for a room that is modern and don’t wait for service – ask for everything. The concierge is great and they will help with everything with a big smile. After coming home, Im not sure I was actually in Mexico or some strange hotel time machine.

Room Tip: modern room with a view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RR22RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora R, Executive offices at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience and observations about our hotel. I'm glad to see that overall you enjoyed our service as well as the warmth Mexican hospitality of our Ladies and Gentlemen. Your feedback is much appreciated; I was sorry to hear about the inconveniences with the Internet connection and the confusing bottle water offered in the room, I will address these issues with our Systems manager as well as our rooms’ division director to prevent these issues to happen in the future.
We truly appreciate all your comments which I will share with the management team and I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I am at a lucky stage I life where I have my choice of hotels. I tend to favor high end brands because as someone still heavily engaged in working, when I shut down I don't want to lack for much. That means I want to feel like I lack for nothing by way of service. The staff and management of the Ritz in Cancun make you feel like you are the only guest they have.

I recommend - highly - that you stay on club level, floors 8 and 9. Floor 8 is easier because that is the floor the Club is on. You have your own concierges up there and a substantial staff that looks after you while you view the ocean out the windows and enjoy 5 separate settings. I was there four nights and spent time I might have otherwise spent in the room in the Club. I got to know the staff up there. They even helped me with my Spanish.

The fitness center is substantial. The spa wasn't as robust. The rooms and hotel itself is not new in any respects and could use an eventual updating. But the service will dazzle you so much that physical shortcomings are not relevant.

Room Tip: Go club level and go 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cashnickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,709 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing