We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite in Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #4 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A favorite in Cancun”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nearly all rooms have wonderful water views. The arrival experience is old-world traditional - very elegant and beautiful florals. It's a shame there is not a greater sense of arrival or water view when you first arrive, but that's saved for the guest rooms. Even with the number of groups and conventions that use this hotel, the housekeeping staff does a wonderful job of keeping everything clean and well-preserved. Daily I noticed touch-ups, whether painting trim or walls, replacing light bulbs, etc.

El Cafe Mexicano was a great open-air restaurant for lunch or beers in the evening. The evening casitas are certainly worth the set-up fee of $125 for a special dinner. Fantino's is a true dining experience, such service and attention to detail. Know this is a 2-3 experience, not a quick family dining restaurant. Great for special occasions. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious, with many American and Mexican foods to try.

A great team with exceptional service levels. A pleasure to stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask to be located further from the lobby. Floors 6-8 have renovated roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    431
    139
    64
    43
See reviews for
750
1,209
80
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Newly renovated rooms, great service as always. Begoña always a pleasure at concierge.
Great pool help from Orbelin, Great service from Aleks, at cafe mexicano, Rene at club level
and Odhemaris. all bell boys are amazing Cesar,Sergio Jimmy,........
See you all this summer.........

Room Tip: Very kid friendly, very secure,drivers available all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank setsgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

As usual the Ritz Carlton doesn't disappoint. The hotel, rooms, lobby, restaurants, pools, and ocean views are exceptional. The El Café Mexicano was phenomenal for lunch. The private casitas at night are worth the extra expense for a one of a kind dinner. During the day I spent my time at the beach where staff sets up towels and chairs for you and brings drinks. Our room was very nice-had a room on the 8th floor overlooking just the ocean-there was an elevator right outside our room which we never saw anyone else on b/c it was just for those "end" rooms and it took us right down by the pool which is great b/c we never had to walk all the way to the lobby just to get back up. I have been to Mexico several times and have never had the kind of food that the Ritz Carlton in Cancun served-it was some of the best food I've ever had. The seafood was absolutely fabulous. Without a doubt I would go back.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor on the "end" so our room/balcony overlooked only the ocean-it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

"It is my pleasure," are the words you will here spoken from the staff at the Ritz Carlton when you ask for anything from a iced tea to a cocktail or hanger for your room. The staff is well trained and truly happy to serve you as evidenced by handling a large group April 25 - 30, 2014. The food quality is excellent, the settings, rooms and pool alone deserving of 5 stars! The highlight of our meals was a dinner at Fantino! Although all the restaurants are good at this Ritz, Fantino with its Mediterranean cuisine and team of waiters is world class! My only disappointment in the entire property was it appeared the outside windows in Fantino and lobby area needed a good cleaning so we could enjoy the view a little more! The spa is incredible and treatments are very, very good and actually reasonably priced for a Ritz! If you like large hotels with many amenities and services, you will like this Ritz!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannak60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stay at the Ritz-Carlton Cancun every year on business. This year was excellent as usual. But I think that everyone already knows that.
The reaseon for another review is to mention an option at the Ritz that was a new experience for us. On the beach in front of the hotel are very nice cabanas that you can rent for the day. However, they are transformed each evening into private dining rooms. We entertained some friends and it was really nice. Food was excellent, service good and the setting fantastic.
I don't think you have to be a guest to enjoy this experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wotsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We are here with a very large group and we're assigned rooms 2037 and 2038. Be sure you are not assigned these rooms as the are right next to the lobby and are very loud. Further, right below our balconies is an area where people congregate at night, adding to the noise level. Our kids have been woken up every night be the noise level.

The service here is fine and the property is nice. It might be time for some renovations, but still acceptable. Nice and accommodating staff, but that's normal for cancun.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora R, Executive offices at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mr. AndrewF,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience and observations about our hotel. I'm glad to see that overall you enjoyed our service as well as the warmth and Mexican hospitality of our Ladies and Gentlemen. I am sorry to hear about the noise outside your room, your feedback is much appreciated as we are consistently looking for ways to make our guest stay more satisfying.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many RC throughout US and abroad. This facility, with outdated furnishings, incompetent staff and idiosyncratic policies does not deserve to be considered part of the chain.

The first issue we experienced was at check in. Almost every resort upon check in will provide hot, weary travelers with complimentary cold cloths, cool drinks and a snack. There was nothing upon arrival. It wasn't until we got to our rooms did we notice two beers in a bucket next to the honor bar. It was/is unclear if complimentary.

Second, RC is known for providing children with small sizes robes, children's toiletries, etc. There was nothing for our children.

Third, we requested set up for our baby. The mini crib that arrived was rusty and had hairs on it. We had to use antibacterial wipes to scrub down. On the plus side, the diaper genie which came upon request was nice but the bottle sterilizer was missing the wires, instructions and tank was not operational. In addition, I am thankful I traveled with a portable bath tub or else my infant would have been stuck.

Fourth, in one of our rooms a guest got sick. We requested a cot and was told we had to pay $50 extra a day. This was outrageous! We weren't bringing in any extra guests. We just wanted to insure that the rest of our family didn't get sick.

Fifth, we pre-reserved a cabana or casita for our stay. On the phone with the concierge, we were told it cost $167 each day and only fit two adults sitting and four adults standing. Thank goodness we didn't take the concierge advice and reserve two as we were pleasantly surprised when we found four lounge chairs in our casita. Essentially we felt the concierge was trying to purposely mislead us into spending extra money. In addition, the concierge became very difficult and told us it was preferred to rent casitas in 3 day increments. When I explained we only had 4 days at the beach he said fine. However, who says this to guests?

Sixth, we had additional troubles with the concierge: one member of. our party requested names of family friendly restaurants only to be told by him that he can only say if the restaurants are family friendly if we tell him the name. We didn't know any so he couldn't help. Another concierge suggested we go to the sushi bar on Friday nite for dinner. Imagine our surprise to show up and have it closed! When we went back to the concierge he stated he hadn't known and it was Food & Beverages fault.

Seventh, the lifeguards are putting ocean swimmers at risk. For the last four days I have observed them doing crunches, exercises, wax a surf board, chat with wait staff, guests, etc. There is no way I would allow a child to swim in the ocean with this type of lifeguard.

Eighth, last nite turn down service came at 9:30 PM. I have a room with two children and this is not acceptable.

Ninth , tomorrow there is a group who is renting out the entire facility. The resort has completely pandered to their needs and forgotten other guests that are here. We should have been notified that they are closing restaurants, using elevators for their usage, etc.

Tenth, lastly, there are things like no paper delivered to the room, free water, free coffee, free fruit, free wifi, etc. Accommodations like this really elevate a resort and make their experiences nice.

On the plus side, the beach and ocean are beautiful. The pool is the perfect temperature, the location is great.

All in all-- there is vast room for improvement and I would not recommend this hotel to any well-seasoned guest who is looking for a top notch resort.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Nyctripmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora R, Excecutive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear NYCtripmom,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments regarding your recent visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. We are very appreciative of your choice to stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, and value your feedback as we continuously strive to exceed the expectations of our guests. We are also very committed to exceeding the rigorous guidelines of the AAA 5-Diamond Award which the hotel has had the distinction of holding for 16 consecutive years, as well as the high internal standards of The Ritz-Carlton brand. I know that selecting a resort for your stay is an important decision, especially when bringing your children and you want the experience to be positive, safe and comfortable. Our ladies and gentlemen as well as our leadership are equally committed to providing you with these benefits and we will review your commentary in great detail. Please also rest assured that our attention is equally focused on all of our guests, whether part of a group or as individual travelers; the experience of every visitor is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 175 in Cancun
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing