We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff is great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #5 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The staff is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I travel a lot and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world. The Ritz Carlton Cancun exceeded our expectations! The rooms have recently been updated and are beautiful. The lobby and common areas are well appointed with fresh flowers and plants. It was the service however that wowed us. The staff was friendly, helpful and always available. The spa is small, but very tranquil and has a great cold plunge pool. The staff make a point of knowing your name and by the end of our stay we felt this was our second home! We can't wait to stay as this wonderful resort again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    392
    129
    58
    37
See reviews for
640
1,090
74
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have been to many fantastic hotels over the years and the Ritz-Carlton in Cancun had the best service we have ever experienced from every single employee on the premises. Whoever trained them needs a raise. They genuinely want to be helpful and make your stay as pleasant as possible and they never pass the buck. If they don't know something they find out the answer. It matters to them and they love the tourists. We actually found that on the entire island. From the guys who lovingly placed 3 towels on each beach or pool chair and brought chilled washcloths bathed in jasmine scent to our chairs to the woman who brought popsicles poolside or the maids who put my rose in a bud vase (I had put it in a water glass) to the concierge who went out of his way to plan a day we would love off the beaten path, this place rocks in terms of service. Also, the physical property is lovely--great pool, spacious rooms with large balconies, and attention to detail at every turn. The entertainment last night in the bar with Barry Ivan White was the best we have ever experienced anywhere. Seriously this guy was fantastic--used to sing with the platters and he could definitely win America's Got Talent. The sushi bar had the best sushi we have ever tasted. Some of our friends raved at the Grille and we enjoyed it, the service was great but the food was simply very good, not great. The food at the pool bar was very good-- great mahi wrap and mexican chicken sandwich. The ONLY complaint we have is the coffee was never warm at breakfast - oddly the coffee machine in our room was excellent--just wanted more of it.

The spa is very small but perfectly equipped. The service was OUTSTANDING. Never before has an attendant knocked on the door asking to enter the steam room in order to bring chilled washcloths and add mint/jasmine oil to the steam. When I asked for a bottle of water later they opened it for me and wrapped it in a napkin. When I was resting on the lounge they came and covered me in a blanket and brought a hot neck roll. Angie was a FANTASTIC masseus. Whoever runs the spa also needs a raise.

When we departed, the front desk clerk walked around to shake our hands and hand us our bill and the guy who brought up our car asked if we would like chilled water in our car for the ride to the airport. Amazing!!!

Room Tip: We loved our third floor with a large balcony overlooking the pool--quiet but great view and bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
234 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were not planning on staying here, but after a disastrous check in experience at the JW Marriott, we moved here at the last minute. Outstanding experience. Wonderful staff; always smiling and helpful without being intrusive. We were given a recently renovated room (7009), with ocean view; very nice. Food was excellent all the way around. Great breakfast buffet. Had dinner on the beach in a cabana; wonder experience, as was a quiet spaghetti room service dinner.

Coffee and cookies are upfront for you early risers.

Spa is wonderful. Pool is perfect as is the beach. There are ample pool chairs for the number of guests and the staff runs to help you set up the chairs and umbrellas. You are within walking distance of two small convenience stores.

To my knowledge there are no rooms that face the lagoon (contrary to other reviews here); you are either ocean view or oceanfront. Balconies are nice.

Bottom line: we are planning on returning in 2015.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms. We stayed here right after the opening in 1985, and they are now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great, high quality hotel for Cancun. Great service on the beach.

The property and the rooms feel a bit dated. But everything is well maintained.

They are stingy with the coffee pods for the Nespresso machine in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I just came back from 3 nights at the Cancun Ritz Carlton. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport in the middle of a lot of hotels. Room was very nice with a view of the ocean and over the smaller pool of the property. Bathroom was also very nice. Service here is generally outstanding although it took a while each day to have my room cleaned and there was a strange odor in the bathroom that management was never able to figure out how to eliminate. I was told it had something to do with under the tiles and the floor below. I thought management would have made an adjustment on my bill but they did not. Internet service generally worked very well and the staff was generally very helpful and nice (particularly at the pool and beach. Beach is beautiful and the food was generally very good.
During the stay the hotel and I think the whole area had an infestation of black horse type flies in advance of a rain storm. Thousands of these flies descended on the property. A small complaint could be that the hotel did not do a very good job of cleaning up these flies which were everywhere. I imagine it caught them off guard. Notwithstanding the few issues noted above this is a beautiful property and if I were in Cancun again I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredSiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights, primarily as a base for visiting Chichen Itza.

We have stayed in many Ritz Carlton hotels for leisure, mainly in cities. The location of this hotel was very different as it is a resort hotel.
As usual when staying in a Ritz Carlton we chose to stay in a Club floor room, with the inclusive lounge, refreshments and 4-5 food servings per day.

We had some difficulties here :-

1. We chose an ‘Ocean Front’ room, expecting it to be just that – a room fronting onto the beach/sea. What we actually got was an ocean view looking towards the sea, but with the pool/grounds between us and the sea, and without the panoramic view the literature promised. After much discussion the hotel agreed that their descriptions were misleading.

2. As has been suggested by others the hotel is, in our opinion, VERY dated. It has the feel of something from the 1980’s. We had severe problems with things like drainage in the bedroom (our bathroom flooded several times) and cold showers.

3. The vast majority of guests are from the US and therefore during US holiday times the hotel is very full. We made the mistake of visiting during Thanksgiving and the Club lounge was chaotic and really unpleasant much of the time, with hoards of young families charging around morning, noon & night. The club lounge food & drink offer however is up to usual Ritz Carlton standard, so non US holiday periods could be just fine.

So – in many ways we were very disappointed in the hotel, particularly as we had chosen to upgrade to the Club option. However …

The various managers with spoke with, and the staff were nice decent people who tried very hard to correct the wrongs and to compensate us for the disappointments. In our opinion some of the problems are not of their making – they are good people trying to do the best with what they have.

The location, beach and facilities are pretty good but expect to pay significant sums for some of the facilities e.g. cabanas. The food in the restaurants we found to be fairly good, however the price may be very excessive for some.

So – in the end we had an ‘OK’ stay. However our advice to travellers who are used to usual Ritz Carlton , is do your research before finally deciding this hotel is for you. It is very possible to have a good stay at this hotel, but as has been seen by the variety of reviews here the scope for disappointment is also great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmacOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora R, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you would have hoped. We apologize for the problems encountered with the view of the room and drainage in the bedroom, please know that we will work hard to improve our current plumbing and drainage system to ensure it is always up to Ritz-Carlton standards.

Additionally, I appreciate your positive comments regarding our hotel location, beach and staff. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We were here for a convention and did not have high expectations, but we were so pampered! We loved everything about this property ! The rooms are lovely and the is beach is readily accessible. The food is really good, from lunch at the pool to a very fancy tasting dinner! We had an unexpected afternoon of rain and the staff opened up the bar for us! The spa is 5star and the service impeccable! The staff cannot be beat!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora R, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at our resort, specially the service at the Spa and the pampering or our Ladies and Gentleman. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#5 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing