We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Timer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Cheltenham, England
111
Reviewed May 9, 2004

My first time in Cancun and my first time at a Ritz-Carlton. Fantastic service from all the staff. Facilities first class, position on the beach A1. The 10 days myself and my partner stayed there were very peaceful indeed. It was on the pricey side but you get used to those sort of prices living in Engalnd. If you are on a bit of a budget after forking out for the room try the little store over the road from the front door. It's a quarter of the price for drinks in there! If your not a great swimmer stick to the pool. The sea has quite nasty rips. One perculiar thing they do is make you sign after every drink or snack even if you are round the pool all day. They don't seem to want to let you keep a tab open. Only a minor gripe. On the whole though our stay was great but if you're looking for something fairly lively where the other guests are of a younger age, go somewhere else. It's a very sleepy place.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,584 - 2,590 of 2,974 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
19
Reviewed April 29, 2004

The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun was fabulous! I have to say we ended up at The Ritz after 4 nights at a different and awful resort from up the street. We enjoyed our stay and they staff was very curtious and eager to please. When we arrived the doorman, "Welcomed us home". It was a nice touch. It was always one of the staff's "pleasure" to help us or to serve us. Let's be real here, you get what you pay for and The Ritz is more expensive than most of the other resorts. If you are looking to get off "cheap", this isn't the place to stay. We found it very quiet and peaceful. The beach was beautiful and not very crowded. There was always servers to bring drinks and food. The pools were never very crowded and it was always very peaceful. The room was wonderful and the bed was very comfortable. The pianist in the bar was wonderful and he took requests. It was a pleasure to hear him play. The only negative thing I can say is the breakfast we ordered from room service was just mediocre. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Cancun.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
210
Reviewed April 29, 2004

Our stay was in April-2004. The rooms are perfect and it appears that all rooms provide a fabulous view of the water. The staff is very friendly. The club floor is perfect and offers great eats - water and drink are available, however, need to be requested. Dinner in the casual dining area was okay - they use too much mayo in their meals...be cautious. The beach is incredible and the availability of towels for chairs is very close to the beach. The water was too rough, however, a full time lifeguard was always on duty. People feel they want to challenge mother nature and the constant blaring of the whistle became annoying. The pools are fabulous. We had a wonderful time and would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2004

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank lcookster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed February 12, 2004

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2004

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BillVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Barbara, California
18
Reviewed January 7, 2004

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,989 reviews
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $299 - $1,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing