We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PUTTIN’ ON THE RITZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“PUTTIN’ ON THE RITZ”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Ritz, though it, and Cancun, are everything I try to avoid in a resort.
Cancun resembles the tackiest part of Miami and even predominant language of both is Spanish. Like Miami, Cancun also has the world’s worst immigration, with intolerably long lines.
The Ritz is a big formal old building with 375 rooms, built in the style of the original Boston Ritz plunked on a wide white beach. With the sea beyond.
The building and the rooms are totally devoid of anything to indicate it or you are in Mexico.
The property is 20 years and management has said all will be redone in 2014. It is in need of it
Eating tacos at Casitas, or on the sand at the beach was the high point of the stay, though breakfast buffets were world class.
The club level was spacious and there seemed to be ever changing snacks available most of the day. Very pleasant.
The building was deigned with airy lobby and central core that makes one fell expansive but the corridors to the rooms were LONG.
The staff took what would have been to me a drab experience and lifted it to the cloud. They were very friendly, very accommodating and always made me feel welcome, though at times they came over as slightly obsequious. The staff is always to me the sign of good ever present management..
Bottom line, if one chooses to try the beach in Cancun, they should Put on the Ritz.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    403
    132
    60
    38
See reviews for
666
1,103
75
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at this property twice now. In June 2012 my then-six-year-old son and I spent four nights here. I booked via Fine Hotels and Resorts and got a good off-season rate with the fourth night free. In August of 2013 we returned, this time with my husband and six-month-old daughter. This time I booked via my Ritz Carlton Visa and utilized one of the three annual club-level upgrade certificates that are included.

Both times we enjoyed our vacation. The food on the club level was delicious, though since we stayed 7 nights the second time we began to see repetition after the five-day rotation began again. The pool was never crowded and the beach very nice if choppy. My son went to the kids' club for two days during our first stay -- they kept him busy with crafts, swimming, face painting, etc. even though he was the only kid there one day. We both enjoyed the baby turtle releases every sunset during our August visit.

Both times I pre-booked car service through USA Transfers, which were safe, affordable, and professional.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank karolinatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family of four just returned from Thanksgiving week at the Ritz Carlton Cancun. The hotel is modern, having been rebuilt after Hurricane Wilma. We stayed in the Ocean View Suite, two adjoining rooms with a central living area. The rooms were superb, exactly what you expect at the Ritz. The balconies were a little small, with four people on one balcony a squeeze. We stayed on the 8th floor, with the lounge. The lounge and private concierge service were worth the extra cost.

The two pools are marginal, no swim up bars and nothing fun. The ocean the week we stayed was very rough, with limited swimming possible. The high winds also meant that parasailing and jet skiing activities were either not possible at all or highly curtailed.

The casitas on the beach are available for an extra $125 for the day and we enjoyed them three days. They easily accommodate a family of four, providing protection from the sun and wind. Service was excellent. I especially enjoyed getting to know some of the Mayan staff members and learning about their culture. The staff overall are fabulous.

Food is very high quality and expensive. We took advantage of the Amex dining plan and had a late breakfast daily at Café Mexicano. Dining outdoors on the terrace was great. I recommend the fresh lobster quesadillas! I recommend NOT having a private casita for dinner on the beach. You can get the same experience, almost, by dining on the terrace and avoiding the $125 casita set up charge for dinner. Keep the cash and splurge on a nice bottle of Argentinian or Chilean wine!

Room Tip: The hotel is "U" shaped. If you want to be directly on the water, go for the ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in July (Northern summer) as part of a group. Perfect location along a lovely stretch of beach. One in a long long line of hotels hugging the beach. Lots of tourists as one would expect!
The decor, look and feel is that of a traditional city high class hotel of the early 90's transported to the beaches of Cancun. Perfect for the Ritz Carlton brand - a very reassuring and strong brand.
I was quite lucky with my room - in the corner of a right angle, with an over-sized balcony that overlooked the pool and beach. Couldn't get enough of the view!
Room was simple but luxurious at the same time. Traditional marble bathroom and amenities.
Room service charges were exorbitant - but hey, there's not much choice elsewhere so take it of leave it! Lots of taxes here :-)
Beach was well looked after, service was excellent and the food was standard - didn't really stand out.
Enjoyed the stay - would return if the price was right

Room Tip: Most if not all of the rooms face the ocean - love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaVictor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have gone and stayed at many Ritz Carlton Club levels, but the Ritz Carlton Club Level in Cancun had the best customer service, by far. Everyone knew our name, remembered what we liked to drink, attentive and helpful. The service by the pool was fantastic. As soon as your stepped onto the pool deck, some one was coming to you with towels to set up your chairs. The guys were always around if you needed to order anything. In the middle of the afternoon, scented ice cold face clothes were handed out to refresh yourself. Small frozen fruit pops were also handed out along with ice cold fresh fruit juice. We used the hotel's transportation back and forth to the airport and our driver was friendly and courteous. We just came back and I can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: The club level is well worth the price. The ocean view rooms are basically ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been here before at least in three ocassions, we decided to go again and celebrate are 15th wedding anniversary expecting excellent service and tranquility as usual. We always stay at the Club, but this time It was unavailable. We didn't find out the reason until we arrived. A weedding from the owners family was taking place and It lasted for at least 4 days, this afectted service and restaurants as They were'e closed due to events...so good by peace, good service and tranquility! Guests from the wedding where smoking inside rooms for three consecutive days and smell passed to our room and security and reception did nothing.
Everything was awful and we were about to leave but Miguel Aragón (bell boy) took are complaints to management and We were able to change rooms with an up grande. Also, service was terrible at pool and beach as extra staff was not hired and waiters had to work extra shifts with Very little or non extra pay. After taking to manager at the pool Luis Rodríguez everything changed positively. It is a pitty being mexican myself, to see how owners here are not comitted to guests, service, and business; always putting their own priorities. Fortunately for the hotel some staff are still excellent and embrace the Ritzcarlton service idea. Positive points: the club grill with chef Tyler is a must go and my girls loved going with Karla at the Kids Camp.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Ximmar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrived again at this magnificent resort after not being here for a while. We were greeted by smiles, cold towels to freshen up and a drink on the house, you feel welcome and important. All the rooms in this charming hotel face the ocean. The rooms are very spacious and the beds very comfortable. We had a great terrace with a great view of the multicolored ocean water in Cancun. The have a wonderful beach of soft sand and excellent service. Their Concierge floor has many amenities that change during the day, nice wine and spirits complement the good food that they also offer you!. They have a real good Italian restaurant, among several other eateries My wife was very happy with the Spa and the beauty parlor. Free Wireless internet is available at the bar. If Cancun is in your plans, this is a good place to stay, we will be back for sure...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ovelisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5,625 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 182 in Cancun
2,028 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 182 in Cancun
5,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#6 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing