We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Ritz Cancun! No Complaints Re: This Terrific Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Viva Ritz Cancun! No Complaints Re: This Terrific Gem”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As I find myself some 38,000 miles over the Gulf of Mexico punching out this review of our 7-night stay at the Ritz-Carlton Cancun, there are two words that describe what I am feeling right now: separation anxiety.

We are depressed for having to conclude what has been one of our most memorable vacations ever. In fact, my wife says it is second only to our honeymoon. A bold, yet appropriate statement since we travel often.

We arrived at the resort with high expectations. They were exceeded in every way imaginable. Prior to our vacation, we along with another family that traveled with us were concerned with some of the reviews posted regarding the property. Those questionable reviews were inconsequential less than 24 hours into our trip.

For starters, we upgraded to Club Level upon arrival. We were traveling with four kids under seven years of age and the additional investment was without a doubt the best money spent on our trip. Not only did they have routine offerings of fresh and delectable items that were reflective of the culture, but also it was the manner in which it was presented that made the Club Level special.

There were two women in particular that we connected with from the moment the first Tecate Light was poured, Maria and Vicky. Ask for them! They were like aunts for our children. Always making sure they had everything they needed and in the case of my wife and I, they would fill our son’s milk bottles and provide a supply for our daily pool junkets. Every time we thanked them, there would simply be a three-word answer, “Es un placer” which means, “It is a pleasure.” The crew at night was very nice and accommodating as well, but Maria and Vicky went above and beyond so many times.

Our package included a daily breakfast buffet in the restaurant. It was absolutely stellar. Try everything once. Then let your stomach try and figure out what to try again. It may take a while because this buffet hits its mark every single day. By the way, make sure and get fresh waffles. Allow me to please emphasize this last part again, make sure you get the fresh waffles.

Like the service in the Club Level, our daily breakfast enjoyed the same quality of personal attention via Marcos. He greeted us every morning with one of the biggest smiles in Cancun. After a few days, he would have iced teas waiting for three of the adults, a café latte for my wife, and three green drinks for the kids. On another morning we asked if they were going to have the taquitos again and a few minutes later he showed up with a personalized order straight from the kitchen. As my friend indicated to me at the end of the trip, everyone in the restaurant was outstanding. When we would walk through the restaurant to replenish our plates every worker would greet us by our last names. Yet we were not even in their sections. Imagine an Indianapolis 500 pit stop. Now add in the Ritz Carlton attention to personalized detail. That is how they would treat our families every morning. By the way, mimosas are part of the daily breakfast buffet. Classy touch.

The pool was a great compliment to the beach. Yards away from one another, it was a perfect alternative to the somewhat rough waves of the Gulf of Mexico. The pool didn’t have a water or sun block station similar to other beach resorts we’ve visited, but the staff would come around routinely with complimentary popsicles and cold towels tainted with the scent of eucalyptus. Additionally, for our son they provided a Pack ‘N Play whenever it was requested. The latter was clutch.

We did not stay on property much for dinner (Harry's is a must), but the times we did order from room service or grab sushi in the lounge, it always was high quality, although the sushi rolls were a tad steep in price.

The gym was outstanding and filled with modern machines. The sauna and spa were exceptional. However, once gain, it was the service that stood out. Every morning Moises would greet me with a smile brighter than the sunrise and produce a bottle of cold water while working out.

Aside from highlighting the aforementioned members of the RC Cancun team, Cynthia at the front desk was a gem as was our housekeeper Maria. Every day she would see us after breakfast and every day she had a beaming smile couched within a “Buenos dias!” A couple of notes about the room on the Club Level, complimentary internet, two (2) pieces a day of laundry are pressed for free (nice amenity), separate shower from tub in the marble bathroom and fresh towels all around. The latter was an issue at the RC in Puerto Rico during a recent trek.

If you notice, the common theme throughout this review is the sparkling service of the staff. These were all warm people who not only had great pride in ensuring that our vacation was memorable, but they were also proud that you were in Mexico and selected their property. I had visited the hotel in 2000 and we stayed at the JW Marriott in 2008, and this trip by far was in a completely different spectrum.

It truly is a great place for our families. If you’re in your twenties or early thirties without kids, then maybe a different property might suit your desires better. However, for families this one cannot be beat.

One final note, if you have any doubts about this resort, perhaps my friend’s wife summed it up best as we were checking out. In fact, we all failed to notice the bragging rights hanging on the wall by the front desk upon check-in.

It’s the AAA Five-Diamond Award they received for 2013.

Well deserved.


DATES TRAVELED: June 17 to June 24, 2013. We had 7 days of sun out of 8. Booked through Terry McCabe, Terry.McCabe@altour.com with Altour in Paramus, New Jersey.

Room Tip: We were right off the elevators on the club level. It allowed for quick access to food and drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,171
    432
    139
    64
    43
See reviews for
752
1,212
80
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Ritz-Carlton-Cancun twice. Both times I enjoyed my stay. Hotel is very good situated - close to shopping malls, La Isla shopping vilage and main restaurants. There are several restaurants at the hotel all of them are very good. The hotel breakfast is one of the best. The sea is clean and warm. In this part of Cancun there are quite big waves but even my 8 year old doughter enjoyed them. The pool is big enough. I advice everybody to rent a beach cabana. It has a very comfortable hammock and there are some snacks included in the rate. The service everywere is impeccable. The gym sometimes is a bit crowded but there are always some machines available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexTMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park7860
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you are looking for a place to be pampered like a King and Queen, this is the place you want to be. It's a five star hotel and they will not let you forget it. Impeccable service! If you are celebrating an anniversary, wedding, or birthday, make sure to email/call ahead and let them know prior to your trip. You'll get a special little treat.

Tips: Get the breakfast package. Well worth the money. Car ride from and to the airport is expensive, but you'll feel safe and worry free. When you get out of the airport, it may get overwhelming. If you are going May/June, it may rain a lot. Week before we got there, it rained for 3-4 days straight and everything was flooded. Becareful going in the ocean during this time, strong under current.

Restaurant/Night Life: At night, check out Hotel Me. They have a beautiful little lounge. Try to get out of the resort for dinner, plenty of great restaurants all in walking distance. Harry's is the best, but $$$. If you are looking for a fun experience and a great food, check out Fish Fatanga. You'll love it!

This hotel should be everyone's bucket list. Must try! Enjoy and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Park7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just came back from a week long trip with my spouse. Our stay was wonderful just as the service we received. I had stayed at the property back in 1995 and was gladly impressed that they have not missed a beat. I agree with other reviews that the rooms could use a makeover in terms of style, but they have been maintained properly and didn't notice anything broken or missing.

For those seeking privacy, we would recommend the suites ending with 23 on the north side. They face both the ocean and an empty lot which will make you feel as if you were in your own luxury apartment. On the beach, the hotel offers palapas ($125 / day) and chairs with a canopy ($25 / day). Frankly, they are away from the ocean's breeze and closer to other people. Opt for a regular chair with an umbrella and closer to the water. head towards the north side where you will more peace. In the other hand, if activity is your thing, the pool area is the place to be.

As mentioned, service was excellent. Employees appreciate your trying your Spanish (as bad as it can be) and tend to check on your more often. Either way, there's usually someone watching and you will not have to wait long to get whatever it is that you need.

Hopefully, you will not have to work but if you need to be checking your facebook and other social media, there's fast WiFi anywhere, even close to the water (at a price). Again, we chose to lock the cell phones and ipads in the safe and grab the kindles to do our reading. If you run out of books, head over to the lobby area where the WiFi is free and replenish your collection.

As for restaurants, we liked all of them. However, the Grill is far superior, with delicious cuisine, decent wine and liquor variety and impeccable service. Frankly we were surprised with the prices as our lavish dinner was at least 2/3 lower than at any Caribbean or Hawaiian high end resort. No, I'm not saying it is cheap by any means, it's just much better value.

So I'm saying 99 out of a 100 only because a snippy young man at the spa, when told that my spouse was allergic to the oil that they were going to use for the massage, insisted in saying that it was fine. I had to reach out to the counter, grab a bottle of their spa lotion and told him that I would buy the lotion so that they would use that instead. At the end, they comped the lotion and were nice about it, but that fellow really annoyed us. Some training necessary...

Room Tip: Suites ending with 23 or regular rooms with 22 for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family and I just returned from a week's stay at the Ritz Carlton in Cancun and had a very nice stay. The service at the Ritz was wonderful. Every person you meet who works at the Ritz greets you with a warm and friendly smile and you get the feeling that they really enjoy their jobs and more importantly, they enjoy serving you. The management team at the Ritz deserve kudos for creating a top notch service environment. I have stayed at other Ritz properties in the Caribbean (Cayman Islands, St. Thomas), and by far the service at the Cancun Ritz comes out on top. I would like to give special thanks to Alejandro at the Front Desk who did a very nice job of accommodating all of our requests; to Moises, our server at the beach restaurant Casitas, who made our dining experience very special; to Antonio who greeted and served us each morning at the breakfast service; and to Carlos who waited on us for lunch at the beach-side restaurant. Many thanks to these Ritz employees and to the others who made our stay enjoyable.

The Ritz property is beautiful and the accommodations are typical "Ritz-type" rooms -- and that's where this hotel could improve. My wife and I stayed here about 15 years ago and the place and the rooms still look the same. Just basic Ritz amenities with no real Cancun atmosphere. The rooms were dated and the furnishings could be upgraded. There was no mirror in the living space and only one small 3-drawer dresser. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet, but we just felt that it was time for a makeover.

The concierge service was very accommodating and every restaurant recommendation was excellent. We ate at the Casitas on property for dinner and had a pleasant evening. The menu was fairly diverse and the food was good. I suspect the ambiance and the quality of our server (Moises) made the food seem better than it really was -- but overall a great dining experience. We also ate off-property at Cenacolo Mare (twice), Fred's, La Disteleria, and Limoncello's. I would recommend each of these restaurants as each provided a nice dining experience. Some were more fun (La Disteleria), others provided a beautiful dining setting (Fred's) and others offered truly excellent dishes (Mare). You shouldn't go wrong with any of these restaurants.

As part of our room package, the Ritz offered a complimentary breakfast. This hotel puts on one of the finest breakfast offerings at a resort hotel. There was a large and varied buffet with breakfast meats, fruits, pastries, pancakes, French toast, waffles, etc. They also offered fresh, made to order egg dishes and other offerings. We ate outdoors each day and the service at this meal was excellent (thank you to Antonio and the other servers).

The only complaints we had during the week, were a few minor issues with housekeeping. When we checked in our room, it was not exactly clean at a level you would expect from a Ritz. The washcloths also had some leftover makeup stains that didn't come out in the wash. However, the housekeeping management quickly jumped on the problems and solved them right away.

Despite the minor issues and the needed updating, this was still an excellent resort -- made even more special by the quality of the service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TerpTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ritz-Carlton Cancun is one of tht hotels that you will feel like home.
Friendly staff, confortable suites, beautiful views, juicy food and lovely margueritas.
Everything contributes for leisure and confort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were there for the Thanksgiving break. It was awesome. Wonderful service, friendly staff, the food served in the hotel restaurants was excellent. The breakfast was awesome. The beach was excellent. Despite the high season, and the fact that the hotel was full, we never had to wait for too long to get any information, or the food, or the towels, or our awesome cocktails and drinks. The hotel has a nice gym and very friendly staff. The hallways perfectly decorated and the rooms were very comfortable. Excellent room service.

Room Tip: We had a room with a large balcony overlooking the central terrace and the ocean. However, a friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erjan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,880 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 175 in Cancun
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing