We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and then some...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #5 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
oz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing and then some...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I don't think I can put to words how amazing the hotel and service was at The Ritz. We were treated so well from the Bellman to the Maids. We stayed on Club Level and enjoyed all the perks. The food served on the Club Level is awesome. From Breakfast to the chocolate fountain each night everything we at was fresh, well presented and delicious. You could basically just eat there for your whole trip if you don't want to leave the property.

I can't give enough compliments to the hotel and staff. They were truly amazing. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you want quiet get a room overlooking the Adult pool. All rooms face the sea so there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheglobeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    392
    129
    58
    37
See reviews for
642
1,090
74
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in a beach front suite on the 5th floor. Contrary to the unfortunate traveler below we did not have anything stolen and the staff came in 3 times a day to tidy up/turn down/freshen room. We had 1 1/2 bathrooms in our suite which was convenient for our family of 5. We ate everynight at Casitas by the beach and LOVED the view and laid-back atmosphere. Ernesto was very friendly and enjoyable to talk to. We had breakfast on the ground floor, the buffet. I, personally, did not have the buffet as I eat light in the morning, but it as perfect for my three kids. My youngest girl does not eat much either and the staff made a note of this and did not charge for her. We had lunch at the pool and drinks delivered on the beach, thanks to the wonderful Manuel (and many others!). The staff was so friendly, warm, and smiled all the time. This was the best trip I've ever had and I miss it SO much. We did not get wifi (wanted to disconnect), but we did do quick checks on email in the lobby, which was free. We were so comfortable, relaxed...the perfect vacation. I noticed that the Ritz was the only hotel that had ample umbrellas at both the pool and the beach, which was important for us due to need for shade (skin cancer past). I hated to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

just be careful we just came back,from cancun please don't leave valuables out in the room we just find out some one of room service stole a LOUIS VUITON belt from my wife. we stay at room 5031, i love the ritz carlton hotels but this time i will think twice , and for the money go to the MAROMA BEACH OR THE MAYACOBA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

After a lot of research on resorts in Cancun we decided to go with the Ritz-Carlton in Cancun. We had many choices, including a few all inclusive resorts, but we decided that we wanted to go with quality. This hotel did not disappoint. From the second we cleared customs at the airport and found our driver (Ritz provided SUV) the relaxation began. Upon arriving at the hotel we were ushered to the Concierge level where we sat at a desk and checked in. cold beverage and wet towels with a pleasant scent were provided. We booked the concierge level because we wanted access to the lounge and all the food and service it provided. Also the rooms on this level are located on the top two floors. We went with an ocean front King sized bed room with a balcony on the 8th floor. The room was really nice and the the view was to die for! We had our two small children (age 7 and 5) with us we opted for a roll away bed to be provided for one of our children. The beach and pool area are fabulous at this resort. We opted for a cabana for the week we were there. It was expensive, but well worth the price. We dined almost exclusively at the in hotel restaurants for dinners. They were spectacular! I would highly recommend them.

Food in the Concierge Lounge: This is the reason to go with concierge level. The breakfast & lunch offerings were great and provided more than enough selection to allow us to not have to eat at a restaurant for those meals. I wouldn't rely on it for dinner, although the selection was great for before dinner appetizers and after dinner dessert. There was alcohol, juice and soft drinks available all day.

Service: This is really why you stay at the Ritz. The Service is second to none. If you ask a Ritz employee where the restroom is, they don't tell you, they walk you there. If you ask them for something, they get it for you. I really cannot oversell this. If you want a great service experience, go to a Ritz Carlton.

Ritz Kids: Our two children wanted to do the Ritz kids program. They really enjoyed it. The "teachers" were very attentive and they did art projects, went swimming in the pool, and generally had a great time. We felt very comfortable leaving our kids at Ritz Kids. The last night they had a Kids Night Out (Friday night) and the kids played games, had dinner and watched a movie with the teachers. This allowed my wife and I to enjoy dinner at the sushi bar. I would highly recommend Ritz Kids!

The only issue we had all week was that our cabana was "used" a few times at night during the week by a few of the spring breakers from another hotel. After reporting it to the cabana management our towels were changed immediately and it was swept and cleaned. That really wasn't the Ritz's fault other than they should check the cabanas first thing every morning for this type of thing.

While a proper stay at the Ritz Carlton will set you back a little, if you are looking for a great vacation in Cancun with superior service, unbelievable beaches, 5 star food and nice accommodations then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

From planning to arrival to departure, this was a wonderful experience.

Now, I don't necessarily like Cancun on the whole, but this isn't Cancun if you stay on the resort and don't wander off too far.

The website offers great packages in the shoulder or off seasons. Packages from the mid-200's including breakfast and resort credit. Taxes, etc. extra, but it makes for a real value.

We had ordered an Ocean View Suite and were given the Ocean Front Suite. Front row, high floor, right on the beach. Perfect.

Upon arrival our driver let the guard know it was us, and that info was efficiently passed on to the reception staff who greeted us by name. A real welcome.

Our room was ready on arrival and we were shown up right away. Welcome drinks were offered and delivered to the room.

The two rooms in the suite were furnished with everything one might want or need. Nespresso machine with pods and instructions for those not familiar, accessible wall outlets for your electronics, comfortable sitting room, desks, extra bathroom in the entry, the signature Ritz beds and bathrooms. They really have it all.

From restaurant suggestions to help with the menu, all of the staff were eager, well-informed and professional. Our pool lunch waiter, Diego, was on his game with any request we had, as well as a great understanding of the entire menu.

Something as simple as changing cash at the front desk was made simple, and they offered the best rate in the area.

The breakfast buffet, which was included in our package, was a gem. Lots of fresh excellent choices, and plenty of variety from Mexican specialities to American standards. All cooked up fresh and presented excellently.

The pool and beach staff are equally eager and friendly. One single drawback was that there is no Tanning Butler as found at some properties. Also missing were the big pumps of sunblock made available at many other Ritz properties.

At departure, we were thanked, and welcomed back for our next visit. We will be back. Thanks to all who made it a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: If you can get an oceanfront room, please treat yourself and do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My fiance and I decided to stay at this hotel, and we had an amazing vacation. We were here for 5 nights and we stayed on club level, which is definitely the way to go. The service was exceptional from the moment we were picked up at the airport to the moment we were dropped off. The staff is awesome, and everyone is as friendly and helpful as they can be. We did not have one negative moment or experience the entire time. Being on club level, food and drinks are provided, as they are included in the cost of the room. Each meal was more than enough to keep you full. We both ended up eating way too much, but it was all very good and very fresh. The margaritas were awesome as well. There is seriously no need to spend money anywhere else at the hotel if you stay on club level. The rooms were very nice and clean. The bathrooms were all updated and very clean as well. The service is unreal, but you can never go wrong with a Ritz. I would especially like to thank Angel and Luis up on club level. They were all very generous and welcoming the entire time. We definitely look forward to returning in the future. Thank you for an awesome vacation!

Room Tip: Club level is the way to go. Food, drinks, service, and rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were rather underwhelmed by our 36-hour stay at this hotel: there was nothing 'wrong' per se - just the general sense of being in a grand old hotel that's a bit down on its luck and feeling rather tired.

On the plus side, the service, rooms and food were perfectly decent.

On the downside, there were little items that niggled: $20 a day for wifi access (this cynical practise should be banned!), $50 to use the Kids' Club facilities (which we were only informed of after our daughter had spent the morning there) and a freezing cold dining room where the staff seemed unable to control the a/c despite multiple requests from diners.

I note that other TripAdvisor reviewers rate this hotel as amongst the best in the area ... in which case I fear that this visit to Cancun (our first) may well also be our last!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,573 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing