We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good the second time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Second stay over spring break with the family. What a great time. We ended up with the exact same room as the first trip. Can't remember the room #, but it was a one bed. suite on the club level. The club level personnel are first rate and they were very accommodating. Being on the club level feels like it's almost an all inclusive.

The suite was nice and spacious, could use some updating. My wife and i did the Dining with the Chef in the resort's incredible gourmet kitchen. The food was great and Chef Rory was quite the host and entertainer. He kept the vino flowing all night. We took advantage of the nanny service for a couple of nights for our 7 and 5 year old and it worked out great. Although there wasn't as many kids activities, our kids had a great time at the beach, pool, cooking class, and a small game room. Overall, a great resort and we're thinking of coming back next spring break.

Room Tip: Spring for the club level, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adnat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

Nothing like the Ritz-
Amazing service, great food, classy-

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsregino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

For a birthday present I took my husband for a 2 week stay in Cancun. We stayed at more than one hotel while here but the Ritz Carlton was far and away my favorite. The property is quite stunning, but it is the service that makes the difference between a good property and a great property and this is a great property. Seriously, the service at the Ritz Carlton was amazing. Completely unobtrusive yet you always had what you needed or wanted exactly when you needed or wanted it almost as if by magic. Some upscale properties seem a bit snooty but this was not the case here at all. The staff were just incredibly friendly and helpful.

The hotel is extremely beautiful and the room was very comfortable. We had a beautiful terrace overlooking the ocean where we loved to sit out and enjoy a cold drink in the evenings before going out to dinner.

They have a dinner on the beach with individual private cabanas that is simply not to be missed. Seriously, please do not miss this as it is truly a must do experience while staying at this hotel.

I give this hotel 5 stars while wishing I could give it 6 but alas....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tammynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here from June 3-9, 2011. I scrubbed TripAdvisor regarding Cancun because I had never been there and I wanted to select a place that my wife and I would enjoy for an entire week. We are in our early 50’s and didn’t want a noisy, crowded beach hotel or all-inclusive resort that was running amuck with children. That’s what we needed a vacation from! After looking hard at the JW Marriott, I ended up using Marriott points to book a stay at the Ritz Carlton, Cancun after reading a number of reviews from experienced TripAdvisors who were impressed by the beauty of this property and its high level of personal service. In other words, I avoid reading tabloid-titled reviews such as "Horrible"...."Don't Stay Here"...."Worst Experience Ever” because it insults my intelligence, especially if it's the one and only review the member has ever written. In our opinion, this is absolutely the finest overall experience we have ever had at a hotel anywhere. True, it was our first stay at a Ritz Carlton, but we have also stayed in high-end Marriott, Hyatt, Hilton and Westin properties during our 30+ years of travel (business and pleasure).

Transportation

Take the hotel’s transportation from the airport. It costs the same as the independent limos. We rode in a brand new Chevy Suburban driven by a very courteous driver.

The Property Overall

The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun is a stately, elegant Spanish Colonial style hotel. With its multi-colored Italian marble floors and elevator facias, crystal chandeliers, high ceilings, elaborate wood trim and classic paint schemes, it is a truly timeless design. The hotel is spotlessly clean inside and out. Even the aroma in the air when you walk inside is alluring. There are a few soft contemporary themes such as the Lobby Lounge and Viking cooking school kitchen. According to a behind-the-scenes tour (recommended) the hotel has 365 ocean front (or view) rooms and 1,200 feet of new white sand beach that was replaced due to the destruction of hurricane Wilma in 2005. After shutting down for a year, virtually everything in the hotel was replaced (inside and out). This complete renovation would effectively date the hotel at about 5-6 years old although built in 1993. The pools are absolutely beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs.

The Rooms

We paid an additional $100 per day to upgrade to the Club level, which occupies the 8th and 9th floors. It’s very much worth the money. The rooms are elegant with high ceilings, extra comfy bed, furniture and ice cold A/C. The bathroom is exceptional in size, design and trim. It has a large, two-sink vanity with a loaded tray of pamper goodies such as the Ritz's own Bvlgavi soap, shower gel and shampoo. You can buy it from their website and trust me, you'll want to if you can handle the price. The shower is lined with natural white marble and there is a separate reclining tub and toilet closet. The clothes closet is especially large with a keyed wall safe at no addition charge. The Club level rooms are attended to twice per day (regular cleaning and turn down, which includes a tidy-up as well). This service is likely offered throughout the hotel, but you may want to inquire. Some reviews have been critical of the tube television versus a flat screen in the room. The way the huge armoire is divided inside, it simply won’t accommodate a flat screen. No big deal because there are only a few English language channels anyway and just how much TV do you plan to watch at a fine hotel with a view of some of the bluest Caribbean water on the Yucatan Peninsula? Be sure to request a “beach front” room. Otherwise, you’ll be facing the inside of the “U” shaped building.

The Service

This sets the Ritz apart from any other property we’ve stayed in. In fact, Ritz Carlton Hotels (99% owned by Marriott) has singled this property out to rate the highest in satisfaction surveys regarding personal service. The employees in the Club lounge, restaurants and poolside café greeted us by name every day and made sure we were satisfied with everything.

The Restaurants

The hotel has several restaurants from the 5 star rated Fantinos and The Club Grill. The Caribe Bar and Grill serves all outdoor areas with excellent pizzas, quesadillas and burgers. Casitas serves only at night in reserved beach cabanas (recommended). The Club level includes privileges to the Café El Mexicana, which serves a magnificent breakfast buffet spread much like a cruise ship, but higher quality. The omelet bar chef will make Eggs Benedict upon request and I had them twice. All of the assorted breads, jams and jelly are homemade on site, much like everything else. We were told that beef is about the only food item that is brought in. According to the hotel, all produce is grown within 50 miles of Cancun. All of the fresh fruits and vegetables were excellent. We ate dinner in all but Fantinos and The Club Grille and were very satisfied with the quality and value. I highly recommend the Kobe beef sliders or the huge Kobe beef burger (I dubbed it the “Kobe Kong burger”) served in the Caribe Bar and Grill or Lobby Lounge. Truth is, you can just about order what ever like from any restaurant even if it’s another restaurant’s menu. This sort of thing is proof positive that “it’s all about you” in every corner of the resort.

Local Dining

Although we didn’t feel the need to, we ate out twice. We walked about ¾ of a mile to the huge La Isla outdoor mall on the bayside of the peninsula. You’ll pass Luxury Avenue mall on the way, which we were not impressed with because it had a lot of vacant space and was mostly dark inside. La Isla, is probably the nicest mall in Cancun with expensive stores to browse. We had pizza at Pizzaria La Pizzarra in the outdoor food court next to Hooter’s. Lively place that’s not too expensive. Another night we walked across the road to Harry’s Steakhouse. It’s one of the top three in my book. Just a cut above Capital Grill and Del Frisco’s if you catch my drift. Besides the perfect steaks, the architecture and elegance of this restaurant is unique and a must see.

Have Fun!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Travelman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I commenced our vacation with the Chef's Table experience. Chef Rory was not only a pleasure to spend time with, but also a wealth of information about food, spirits, culture and fun facts. The food was unbelievably good. We loved every single dish. The entire experience was absolutely delicious. We will definitely be coming back next year for more. If you have one thing you want to splurge on, this is it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank vinceandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Just spent 5 wonderful days at the Ritz. Superb service, by the second day almost EVERY employee was calling us by our name. Stayed on the club level with our 3 and 9 year old and it is well worth the extra money! They charged $50 a day extra for our 9 year old. However, excellent food throughout the day and complimentary drinks as well as outstanding service make it a must!!! I ordered a mojito at the pool bar,.... Ouch $18 plus tip. The rest were ordered at the club. While we choose to eat out several nights, we could have easily lived comfortably on the food, drink, chocolate fountain and desserts from the club.

We just moved to another 5 star hotel as a Movie Studio took over the Ritz for a 2 week trade show and oh my god, what difference in quality, service and while we are paying the same amount, it is like a 3 star hotel compared to the Ritz! The Ritz rocks and your best alternative is the JW Marriott. If you are looking for quality avoid the Fiesta Americana Coral Beach which unfortunately is where we booked the second half of our holiday thinking it would be a great place for the kids.

Room Tip: Service to the max
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FORESTBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My family and I just spent 12 incredible days in Cancun, Mexico, at the Ritz Carlton; what made this trip particularly memorable weren't the wonderful beaches, great food, local beautiful attractions such as Puerto Morelos or Cenote Tax Mahal or even Chichen Itza; no, it was the friendliness of the locals and, in particular, the level of friendly and professional attention we received from the folks at the Ritz.; Victor, Manuel and Ricardo at the lifeguard station; Oliva, Sergio and Ernesto at the Outdoor cafe; Samantha and Adelfo at the Club Grill; Nijela and her team at the Cafe Mexicano; Miguel and his colleagues at the Concierge desk... congratulations guys! You made an indelible impression on a family that has traveled over 100 countries; you surpassed our expectations and contributed to making our Mexico experience one of our best family trips ever! We are looking forward to being guests at your hotel very soon again! Jean Chiotti and family

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
6,020 reviews
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
1 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $300 - $1,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing