We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful playa”
Review of Playa Delfines

Playa Delfines
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Cancun City Sightseeing Tour Including El Meco Ruins and Playa del Carmen
Ranked #3 of 147 things to do in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful playa”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just past the hotel zone is this gorgeous public beach. It was pretty packed, but never felt crammed just because it was such an expansive area. It really is gorgeous and gives some great views of the zona hotelera. I'd say its a must visit for those who don't have beach at their cancun accommodation but still worth spending an afternoon at even if you stay in a beach side resort.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,579
    1,233
    295
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hialeah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing dolphin encounter”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Amazing place with a great organization for all the activities. The include lunch was a blast and the activity was expectacular especially for our 5 years old daughter. We really enjoyed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice but rough waves”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Nice clean quiet beach area but with hard strong waves.Not really the type of place to go swimming

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank YogiJuancarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Area
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Passion of Christ Re-enactment on Playa Delfines”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went to Playa Delfines, a public beach towards the South end of the Cancun Zona Hotelera for the Passion of Christ Re-enactment on Good Friday. There was a large crowd of Mexicans and the re-enactment was all in Spanish. It may not have been the best re-eneactment but it was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed being in the midst of locals. The beach is very large and deep. Better than a lot of the resort beaches.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank robby-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great beach, make sure to know where to get home”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very nice and looong sandy beach.
A bit coarser sand than some of the other beaches around but still very nice.

We came from the nearby mayan ruins and decided to have a little walk on the beach towards our hotel. The plan being to walk a bit and then get back up on the road that follows the beach and take the bus home. This turned out to be a much longer walk than expected. After a little while, hotels started completely covering the area between the beach and the road. The beach is public and the road is public, but the hotel land in between is private and not open for passing through. In the end our little walk strethed in to hours before we found a little passage between two hotels where we could get back up on the road and go home.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Delfines also viewed

 

Been to Playa Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing