We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still great but showing some wear...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Ranked #8 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still great but showing some wear...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We first visited this hotel in March 2011 and thought it was top notch. When we went back in March 2013, we noticed that the service seemed to be a little off from where it was 2 years ago. I should note that the resort was also MUCH more crowded this year over 2011--not sure if that had anything to do with the slight change in service. I also noticed that when we first visited in 2011, there was no need to rush out and reserve a chair or a spot on the beach...however while we were there this year, if you tried to reserve your spot at 6am you were already too late! I'm not exaggerating on this...my husband went out at 5:30am each day to reserve a spot/chair near the beach or pool--not something we wanted to have to do on vacation.

As we did in 2011, we requested a room in the West Tower, which has the remodeled rooms. Floors 6-10 in the East Tower were said to have been remodeled as well, however friends of ours had a "remodeled" room in the east tower and the furniture was considerably older than in our West Tower room and their room was also smaller in size. We were in room 826 in the West Tower and had a perfect view right over the pools and into the ocean. The first year, I believe we were in 326 in the West Tower and because that room was right above the lobby, it was much larger than normal. I would have grabbed that room again for our most recent trip but it was booked.

Overall, we had a great vacation at the Fiesta, however I am going to look at other resorts going forward.

Room Tip: Request a room in the West Tower that directly faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wlm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,848
    740
    178
    93
    68
See reviews for
1,264
1,317
68
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excelent, clean, service, all is perfect. The pool area is very good. Beach clean, sea clean and relax. The best hotel in the area. MUY BUEN HOTEL. Un poco caro pero vale la pena. A little expensive but is ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's hard to tell which is better..the view...the restaurants ...or the spa. This resort was such a treat for me. The beach was quite private and there is a really sense that you are being taken care of. The restaurants were extraordinary...room service not so great...and the spa was to die for! This birthday trip found me two evenings in the spa being pampered.

The view of the water...incredible..no complaints.

Room Tip: I stayed on the club floor and stayed in a junior suite with my sister...the beds were wonderful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been staying at the resort for a number of years and have always had a great time, with great food, great drinks, and great staff. This summer we decided to take our 2 smaller children (10 and 6) with us to experience Cancun as well. Although some of our normal staff has changed (we will miss you Lydia) and it seems the food in the Grand Club has changed to a more gourmet style the overall experience is still the same.
A couple of things they need to work on:
make sure at the Grand Club (which I recommend to everyone) they have some food options for the younger taste buds
continue to monitor and repair rooms as needed. First time we have had problems in this area - shower faucet kept getting stuck for the kids and the water dripped all of the time. Lights flickered when dresser and end table were bumped, and cordless phone beeped at odd hours presumably due to the battery being low.
Do not get me wrong this is still one of if not the nicest resorts in all of Cancun, with some of the best services and staff I have ever met. I and the whole family recommend giving this resort a try.

Room Tip: Go with the Grand Club. Pay a little more but the benefits out way the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MephistoSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel definitely looks better in the pictures. At first glance everything looks grandiose, but after a better look, you'll notice that the palace is falling apart and has not changed much from the early 90's. Cracks, stains, fingerprints & scratches everywhere you look and that annoying smell of mold and humidity in addition. I've spent a lot of time in the grand club lounge and have seen many couples checking in during the stay and by judging their faces they all had that first impression disappointment expressions. True that the lobby and the west wing were renovated a few years ago, but that only means repainted and even this was obviously done in a rush and done skimpy. Too bad, because the location is probably the best in Cancun. The beach is secluded and protected on both sides with barriers, so you can't walk freely to neither side of the »7«, but that also means that no unwanted visitors can come either. The sand is softer than on the main beach and it's less windy which also means calmer sea.
Can't say much about the food, because we stayed in the club room and had most of the breakfasts in the grand club lounge. But I can assure that the choice doesn't differ very much to the one in the Vina del mar restaurant. And of course, in the club you will most probably eat alone, while the restaurant is crowded. We also had a few lunches by the pool, but the food wasn't nearly as delicious and exquisite as the finger food and salads in the club. We also didn’t eat any dinners in hotel's restaurants, because they looked quite uninviting and even the concierge didn't suggest to us to dine at their hotel and rather gave us some kind of a magazine with descriptions and sample menus of the local restaurants. A lot of people on Tripadvisor complain about the beverage prices in the hotel. Well I'm sure that the majority of them are usually 3 star all inclusive resorts guests that got their moment with the low prices for the room only offers at this hotel. And then you see these exact people bringing their meals in bags from McDonald's…Anyway, I found the prices quite normal for any kind of the hotel, not only 5*. And the mini bar prices are even lower than in any kind of the hotel in Europe.
Rooms are of decent size, but they made a big mistake with refurbishing them, because they only installed a few modern dark pieces of furniture which don't match with the remaining pale colonial style inventory and that just doesn't look flattering. I would also mention the high humidity and smell of mold in the room. When returning home, I even had to wash the unpacked clothes, because they smelled badly.
To conclude - we stayed at a sister hotel, Live Aqua, 2 years ago and if you compare both establishments head to head you'll get Aqua, a modern, stylish and all inclusive property on one hand and then the FAGCB that is a dated, smelly palace that screams for renovation on the other. True, at first glance there's quite some difference in the package prices between them, but if you add the FAGCB club room cost, and the food & beverages expenses you realize that…
In my opinion the owners should close down the hotel for few months and make a complete reconstruction of the hotel, otherwise the hard working staff won't be able to compensate for the decaying hotel.
I’ve made an impression of my stay in the video (just copy the link). But remember, things look a lot better on the camera than in reality.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISgEHgun6Qw

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kindercountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Fiesta American Coral Beach Resort has a beautiful beach! Not a lot of people running around either. Stayed in a Junior Suite, King Bed, Ocean View - very pleased. iPod docking station was a nice touch. This hotel is located right by Cancun nightlife. Perfect setting for a couple who wanted to relax in the day and party at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed on the Grand Club level for 9 nights in June 2013.

Check-in was good: we were taken up the 12th floor lounge for a private check-in at the desk with complimentary welcome drinks brought over to us. We were also provided with free Wi-Fi and the $1,000 coupon book.

THE ROOM
Modern and very clean with a breathtaking view of the pool and ocean. Flat screen TV with a good selection of English TV channels. Electronic safe. The minibar was stocked but there is room to add your own stuff too. There is an iPod dock but it's an old-style one and didn't work with our iPhone 4 or 5. Excellent air-conditioning.

The bathroom was a disappointment: small, no separate shower cubicle and low water pressure.

There is a coffee machine in the room but you have to pay for the coffee - I recommend bringing your own sachets, as the coffee they provide is very overpriced. You also get charged for using the sugar and CoffeeMate they provide.

There is a nice sunken lounge area with sofas and table.

We had to move from our first room because it couldn't pick up adequate WiFi signal: if fast internet is important to you I would stress this at check-in to make sure you are given a room in an appropriate location.

Housekeeping was thorough but they often didn't come unti late in the day - on one occasion the room was cleaned at 4pm and then we had turn down service at 5pm! They really need to sort out the rota as this is just ridiculous. Who wants their room turned down that early? Also, the maids often showed attitude when we were in the room and they wanted to come in. Totally unacceptable.

THE GRAND CLUB
Grand Club was amazing and well worth the money. The staff were very professional and friendly. Benefits of staying on the club level include getting a room on the top floors of the hotel (much better views), free WiFi, free gym access, access to the lounge concierge service for assistance during your stay, free breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening service food in the lounge and - probably best of all - the VIP poolside service. When you head down to the pool there is a private area for grand club guests. The pool boys here literally wait on you hand and foot: they set up the loungers for you, bring you cold towels and complimentary iced water and generally assist with any requests. They couldn't have been more helpful.

The food in the lounge was good but it is left uncovered and was sometimes too cold - management need to make sure the food is kept piping hot and should cover the desserts (as I saw flies on more than a couple of occasions). Food service is listed below:

The breakfast service included hot items (scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, french toast) and cold items (fruit, pastries and cereals).

The lunch service usually included one hot dish, such as noodles or fried rice, and then salad bowls and some pasta/light snacks plus some mousse or small cake for dessert.

The evening service was great and included three hot choices (samples from our stay included meatballs, mini steaks, chicken skewers, filo pastries) and some cold pastas/salads. Desserts were okay but not great - chocolate covered strawberries etc/spongy mini cakes.

The lounge itself was fantastic. Awesome views over the ocean and lots of space, with comfy sofas and chairs to chill out on, as well as a balcony with wonderful 360-degree views.

POOL AND AMENITIES
The pools were really nice - perfect temperature, spotlessly clean and not too crowded. There are three or four huge pools in total. As mentioned above, Grand Club guests get a private area with complimentary poolside service.

The pool bars were fantastic - swim-up bars with great choices of drinks. Prices were excellent for a five star resort. We also had food at the pool bar on one occasion: it was good value, delicious and a generous sized portion. Recommended.

The gym was good with a selection of equipment and awesome ocean views. However the air conditioning was either broken or absent as it was roasting in there during our stay.

The spa is world class. The Hydrotherapy Treatment includes a personal guide who takes you around all of the spa's amenities. You start with 20-30 minutes in the huge indoor pool with whirlpool jets and features, then you are taken to all of the experience rooms - sauna, steam room, experience showers, ice room. There is also a clay mask room where you can apply clay to your body: very relaxing and leaves your skin feeling super soft. Finally, you are taken to the jacuzzi and reflexology foot baths. Fish spa is also available for a USD$30 supplement. The spa provides complimentary waters, hot teas and snacks. The atmosphere is immensely calming with wonderful fragrances and super comfortable loungers with pillows. The changing rooms and bathrooms are immaculate and all facilities are provided - including hair products etc.

We only did the hydrotherapy treatment as the massages were a rip-off: they started at about USD$250 for a 30 minute massage. Way overpriced.

We also attended a complimentary yoga class at the spa. Recommended.

BEACH
This is a major benefit of staying at this hotel - the beach is perfect soft white sand and is spotlessly clean. Very calm waters. There is a raft a little way out in the ocean.

We hired jet skis and it was great fun but the staff are awful and pressured us in to leaving a tip - very inappropriate. Not sure if they are owned by the hotel or just affiliated but this needs major attention as they were very unprofessional.

LOCATION
The hotel is literally 5 minutes from CoCo Bongo and the restaurants and bars nearby that area. However, as other reviewers have mentioned, it's a little run-down in this area and we preferred the area further up the hotel zone nearer La Isla shopping mall.

There is a Starbucks, McDonalds and Baskin Robbins five minutes walk from the hotel and also a pharmacy and Oxxo convenience store (great for cheap bottled water and snacks) right across the street. There is a Mexican Outlet nearby but you should avoid this as it is a rip-off, prices were crazily high compared to other stores.

The ferry to Isla Mujeres departs from right next door to the hotel but note that this is not one of the ferry operator's major stops and there are only 1 or 2 departures per day and we had to return to a different port and get a bus back to the hotel. On the topic of buses, we were apprehensive about using them but found them to be great - only $USD1 per person and they are ultra efficient. Bus drivers are very helpful and will offer advice. The service runs 24/7 and is better than the dodgy taxi drivers who don't have metres and can charge you whatever they like.

BLACK DIAMOND PASSPORT
If your room package includes the $1000 passport then you'll receive a booklet at check-in. We used a few of the vouchers, which included free hydrotherapy treatments at the spa (for 2 people), 2 free cocktails by the pool, 2 free buffet breakfasts. Other vouchers were discounts - e.g. $20 off water sports, $50 off a massage etc.

Room Tip: Go for Grand Club if your budget allows, rooms on the higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank j_rich2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
2.3 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
3.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun

Property: Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 9.5 Lote 6 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cancun
#6 Family Hotel in Cancun
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel rises majestically in the heart of Cancun’s entertainment district. The 602-rooms present with all the class of a fine European hotel, combined with the warm and gracious service that has made us famous. Our full-service spa, invite you to enjoy the endless relaxation and adventure. Fine cuisine is available in our nine restaurants and bars. Guests may also use the large outdoor pool along with a children’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort And Spa
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Hotel Cancun
Grand Coral Beach Cancun
Fiesta American Cancun
Fiesta Americana Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing