We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Fiesta American Coral Beach Resort has a beautiful beach! Not a lot of people running around either. Stayed in a Junior Suite, King Bed, Ocean View - very pleased. iPod docking station was a nice touch. This hotel is located right by Cancun nightlife. Perfect setting for a couple who wanted to relax in the day and party at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,883
    751
    181
    94
    74
See reviews for
1,290
1,335
68
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed on the Grand Club level for 9 nights in June 2013.

Check-in was good: we were taken up the 12th floor lounge for a private check-in at the desk with complimentary welcome drinks brought over to us. We were also provided with free Wi-Fi and the $1,000 coupon book.

THE ROOM
Modern and very clean with a breathtaking view of the pool and ocean. Flat screen TV with a good selection of English TV channels. Electronic safe. The minibar was stocked but there is room to add your own stuff too. There is an iPod dock but it's an old-style one and didn't work with our iPhone 4 or 5. Excellent air-conditioning.

The bathroom was a disappointment: small, no separate shower cubicle and low water pressure.

There is a coffee machine in the room but you have to pay for the coffee - I recommend bringing your own sachets, as the coffee they provide is very overpriced. You also get charged for using the sugar and CoffeeMate they provide.

There is a nice sunken lounge area with sofas and table.

We had to move from our first room because it couldn't pick up adequate WiFi signal: if fast internet is important to you I would stress this at check-in to make sure you are given a room in an appropriate location.

Housekeeping was thorough but they often didn't come unti late in the day - on one occasion the room was cleaned at 4pm and then we had turn down service at 5pm! They really need to sort out the rota as this is just ridiculous. Who wants their room turned down that early? Also, the maids often showed attitude when we were in the room and they wanted to come in. Totally unacceptable.

THE GRAND CLUB
Grand Club was amazing and well worth the money. The staff were very professional and friendly. Benefits of staying on the club level include getting a room on the top floors of the hotel (much better views), free WiFi, free gym access, access to the lounge concierge service for assistance during your stay, free breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening service food in the lounge and - probably best of all - the VIP poolside service. When you head down to the pool there is a private area for grand club guests. The pool boys here literally wait on you hand and foot: they set up the loungers for you, bring you cold towels and complimentary iced water and generally assist with any requests. They couldn't have been more helpful.

The food in the lounge was good but it is left uncovered and was sometimes too cold - management need to make sure the food is kept piping hot and should cover the desserts (as I saw flies on more than a couple of occasions). Food service is listed below:

The breakfast service included hot items (scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, french toast) and cold items (fruit, pastries and cereals).

The lunch service usually included one hot dish, such as noodles or fried rice, and then salad bowls and some pasta/light snacks plus some mousse or small cake for dessert.

The evening service was great and included three hot choices (samples from our stay included meatballs, mini steaks, chicken skewers, filo pastries) and some cold pastas/salads. Desserts were okay but not great - chocolate covered strawberries etc/spongy mini cakes.

The lounge itself was fantastic. Awesome views over the ocean and lots of space, with comfy sofas and chairs to chill out on, as well as a balcony with wonderful 360-degree views.

POOL AND AMENITIES
The pools were really nice - perfect temperature, spotlessly clean and not too crowded. There are three or four huge pools in total. As mentioned above, Grand Club guests get a private area with complimentary poolside service.

The pool bars were fantastic - swim-up bars with great choices of drinks. Prices were excellent for a five star resort. We also had food at the pool bar on one occasion: it was good value, delicious and a generous sized portion. Recommended.

The gym was good with a selection of equipment and awesome ocean views. However the air conditioning was either broken or absent as it was roasting in there during our stay.

The spa is world class. The Hydrotherapy Treatment includes a personal guide who takes you around all of the spa's amenities. You start with 20-30 minutes in the huge indoor pool with whirlpool jets and features, then you are taken to all of the experience rooms - sauna, steam room, experience showers, ice room. There is also a clay mask room where you can apply clay to your body: very relaxing and leaves your skin feeling super soft. Finally, you are taken to the jacuzzi and reflexology foot baths. Fish spa is also available for a USD$30 supplement. The spa provides complimentary waters, hot teas and snacks. The atmosphere is immensely calming with wonderful fragrances and super comfortable loungers with pillows. The changing rooms and bathrooms are immaculate and all facilities are provided - including hair products etc.

We only did the hydrotherapy treatment as the massages were a rip-off: they started at about USD$250 for a 30 minute massage. Way overpriced.

We also attended a complimentary yoga class at the spa. Recommended.

BEACH
This is a major benefit of staying at this hotel - the beach is perfect soft white sand and is spotlessly clean. Very calm waters. There is a raft a little way out in the ocean.

We hired jet skis and it was great fun but the staff are awful and pressured us in to leaving a tip - very inappropriate. Not sure if they are owned by the hotel or just affiliated but this needs major attention as they were very unprofessional.

LOCATION
The hotel is literally 5 minutes from CoCo Bongo and the restaurants and bars nearby that area. However, as other reviewers have mentioned, it's a little run-down in this area and we preferred the area further up the hotel zone nearer La Isla shopping mall.

There is a Starbucks, McDonalds and Baskin Robbins five minutes walk from the hotel and also a pharmacy and Oxxo convenience store (great for cheap bottled water and snacks) right across the street. There is a Mexican Outlet nearby but you should avoid this as it is a rip-off, prices were crazily high compared to other stores.

The ferry to Isla Mujeres departs from right next door to the hotel but note that this is not one of the ferry operator's major stops and there are only 1 or 2 departures per day and we had to return to a different port and get a bus back to the hotel. On the topic of buses, we were apprehensive about using them but found them to be great - only $USD1 per person and they are ultra efficient. Bus drivers are very helpful and will offer advice. The service runs 24/7 and is better than the dodgy taxi drivers who don't have metres and can charge you whatever they like.

BLACK DIAMOND PASSPORT
If your room package includes the $1000 passport then you'll receive a booklet at check-in. We used a few of the vouchers, which included free hydrotherapy treatments at the spa (for 2 people), 2 free cocktails by the pool, 2 free buffet breakfasts. Other vouchers were discounts - e.g. $20 off water sports, $50 off a massage etc.

Room Tip: Go for Grand Club if your budget allows, rooms on the higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank j_rich2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Fiesta American Coral Beach Resort has a long expanse of soft white sand beach as the resort runs lengthwise along the beach. The sand was the softest and coolest I ever walked on. The water was clear and warm with gentle swells so it was easy to swim to their raft. The pool is very, very large with different shallow areas for sunning and in water bar areas. The rooms themselves are large with beautiful patios overlooking the pool and beach. The bathroom was large with plenty of counter space and large mirrors. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet they offered. I would highly recommend this hotel. I had a thorough, relaxing massage and used all 10 steps of the hydrotherapy at the spa. That was worth spending an afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed Wednesday June 5 - Saturday June 8th. Loved the beach area and the location. The service on the beach is great! There's even a lifeguard on duty. We have an 8 year old so I could let him play in the waves without worry too much. The waves here are much calmer than other parts of the hotel zone hotels. We used the Travel Agent in house and she was terrific. Elena I think was her name. She helped us book the dolphin experience at the Dreams Hotel next door (walking distance), the Captain Hook Pirate dinner cruise and our trip to Xel-Ha. Her instructions were spot on and very detailed as to where we met our drivers and what to take along with us.

Our room was very nice with a great ocean view. I loved sitting on the balcony. We had the junior suite with a sitting area. Rooms are kept really clean even with all the sand we brought up with us everyday. Request high floors for the best ocean view. The room wasn't cleaned until 3pm or after so plan accordingly or ask for early service, if there is such a thing.

The pools are beautiful! It's was still low season so there weren't that many people on the property. It was very quiet and relaxing. Great for families and great for families with small children. The pools have areas for small ones to play and there's even a play set with a little slide to the water for the babies. We took advantage of the jet skis two days and loved that. They will keep your stuff safe while you're riding.

There are restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We walked to Starbucks every morning because unless you want a full buffet there wasn't anywhere to just get a muffin and a coffee until later in the day. Not sure why the coffee shop doesn't open in the morning. Or maybe it does in high season.

My husband took advantage of the spa and said it was amazing! He didn't get a lot of time to do all they offer but plan a half day if you want to relax and have a massage. The pools there are very cool! You have to at least check it out while you're there.

I would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to my friends. Unless you need loud music and crazy drunk people - then go next door to the Dreams Hotel - ha!

Room Tip: High floors with full ocean view for the best view of the ocean. West Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tburf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice property with first rate service, excellent rooms and restaurants and a marvelous private beach. We were here for 4 nights on business but of course there was time for relaxation. Great restaurants are within a short cab ride. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middleburg_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I decided to go for a 5 day getaway and chose this resort based on many of the great reviews it received. The location of the hotel is great, right next to the downtown area and night life, but also secluded enough so that when you are in the hotel you don't feel the craziness of the Cancun nightlife. The staff was very pleasant and always helpful. The room was kept well and the view from the balcony was great. The food in the restaurants was good, not great. We enjoyed better dining at other restaurants in the Hotel Zone. The beach and pool area are both well kept.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSOLIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Great room, fantastic view.

Generally high level of service.

Great beach. Huge zoned off area for swimming. If you are a sailor, you can rent hobie cat, very nice to cruise up and down the beach.

Fantastic breakfast. Huge variety, even have japanese.

And all of this for a price that is nowhere near what I would have been prepared to pay.
Good deal!

It doesn't happen very often that hotels surprise on the upside but this one did!

Was a real fiesta!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 175 in Cancun
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun

Property: Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 9.5 Lote 6 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cancun
#6 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel rises majestically in the heart of Cancun’s entertainment district. The 602-rooms present with all the class of a fine European hotel, combined with the warm and gracious service that has made us famous. Our full-service spa, invite you to enjoy the endless relaxation and adventure. Fine cuisine is available in our nine restaurants and bars. Guests may also use the large outdoor pool along with a children’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort And Spa
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Hotel Cancun
Grand Coral Beach Cancun
Fiesta American Cancun
Fiesta Americana Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing