We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very picky world traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Ranked #8 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very picky world traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a very nice resort. We had a choice between FAGCB and Ritz Carlton, after reading some reviews on the Tripadvisor, we decided to go with FAGCB. We made the right choice! This resort is located in the middle of everything on the island - within the walking distance to Satrbucks, Shopping and Nightlife. When we made reservations, we mentioned that it was our honeymoon, but upon arrival did not receive any fruit baskets or anything special, that would've been a nice touch. It was a very special time for us, but we were treated just regular travelers. This means they did not go above and beyond as great hotels are supposed to do, so I took some points off for that. The west wing of the hotel is renovated, I don't think the east wing is. Any room above 6 floor will do. There is a 5(?) floor atrium and could get noisy. We ate a La Joya mexican restaurant and it was very nice. Food and service were excellent, along with Tequilla tasting. We had breakfast at the buffet, but did not like the food quality and it was messy with slow service. We ordered room service instead, and had breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea. The beach is very nice with very attentive service. Beds are very comfortable. The only problem in the hotel is the Concierge service. It was awful!!!! It is by all means the best property in Cancun, better than stuffy Ritz Carlton (didn't like the beach there and they screwed up our dinner and tried to argue with us??!!!!????) FAGCB hotel needs to have bright, witty concierges, who know their way around Cancun and who speak better English. I was very dissapointed with concierge service. They were no help and 2 times I asked them to confirm my reservations, they screwed it up. I called beforehand asking for tour suggestions, but they did not know anything. So I ended up reseraching all the activites by myself on the internet. Overall: very nice hotel, the only property in Cancun where when the car pulls up to the drive way, bell boys open car doors and hotel doors ( this didn't happen in some other 5star properties in Cancun).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmopolitan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,486
    652
    161
    83
    64
See reviews for
1,088
1,155
59
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We organized the company’s National Sales Meeting at this hotel and we were impressed by the service, rooms, atmosphere and all other hotel facilities from the conference rooms to the swimming pool.

I rated a suite on the 7th floor in the East tower. The view was spectacular; the terrace was more than a generous 500ft2, and the suite at approximately 1,000ft2 was well furnished, the king size bed was comfortable, the bathroom included a Jacuzzi and a separate shower and there were several elegant touches (i.e. a different fresh fruit platter every day and an expensive chocolate candy every night). I did not yet mention the bathroom amenities which were absolutely stunning. For the guest’s convenience, a stylish beach bag was also provided as a gift.

As a guest in a suite there is free access to the Grand Club (West Tower). It serves breakfast and then snacks throughout the day. The food is good and the offering especially, fresh fruit, plentiful. In addition they offer beer, wine, soft drinks, great cappuccinos and bottled water all day long.

Unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy the pools but they looked fantastic however, we took advantage of a reasonable and courteous pool side service. The beach appeared very clean, with very fine sand but on the negative side it looked quite narrow.

The service was what put this hotel well over the top. In all my travels, I have never encountered a more attentive, courteous and friendly staff. Any potential language challenges were mitigated by the will to please. If you like Cancun, there is no other place that I would consider.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in several hotels in Cancun... After a awful experience in the Krystal next door, I had such a pleasant surprise how different could be a hotel just across the street.

Very professional service, great room and exquisite building.

I strongly recommend this hotel. Even if it is pricier than other hotels in the region, you certainly will appreciate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank renatobraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the hotels belonging to the Fiesta Americana chain of Mexican hotels. I've stayed in many of their hotels throughout the country and you can't really go wrong with any of them, but this one is a cut above all the rest. It is a five diamond hotel. That's right - five diamonds, not five star. Everything at this hotel is top notch. It's beautifully decorated and the amenities are fantastic. The breakfast buffet, which is included with the room, is vast and has great food. Service is first class. It is located right on the beach and has several swimming pools to choose from. It is also centrally located and is close to shopping and night life. This is the place I always go when I go to Cancun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. A little pricey, but well worth the money. If you're looking for a great retreat with an incredible spa this is the place to come.

The only negative I could think of is the Cancun, Spring break atmosphere in close proximity to the hotel. But I guess that's just Cancun…

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank endlessummer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

For a five star hotel, it's not bad. The pool and beach is just beautiful, wonderfully landscaped with amazing views from the oceanview suites. There are lots of swimming pools to choose from although the way the hotel is situated, they don't all get a great deal of sun. The beach is just outside the hotel and you'll find an impeccable white sand beach. Because we were here in January it was lovely with very few people, although I can imagine at full capacity it'd get very crowded.

The rooms were very spacious, two double beds and a sofa that sleeps two small people. Would defo recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here during the week of New Year's with our 23 mo son. We were also traveling with extended family including grandparents, couples without children and one couple with a 5 and 1 year old. Everyone in our group had a great time! Some specific points of interest:

Rooms- We stayed on the 10th floor in the west tower and had a great view of the beach and pools. The bed was very comfortable. We requested a crib and received one however, the sides were so low that our son could easily climb out. One thing that made the room challenging for sleeping was the bathroom. The main area with the sink was open to the room. Inconvenient for using once the little one was asleep. The balcony was a nice feature!

Grand Club- This upgrade was definitely worth it for us! We ate breakfast here every morning and had snacks throughout the day. Breakfast was good. The offerings didn't vary much from day to day but there was a good variety (eggs, bacon, cereals, fruit). The "snacks" seemed on par with most Mexican all-inclusives that we have experienced. You can also get bottled water and soft drinks/beer/wine all day with cocktails served during the happy hour. Wi-fi for 6 devices was included as well. While we didn't take advantage of the gym access, others in our group did and said it was decent with a great view.

Pools- We only used the pool in front of the west tower. I felt that the pool was the best part of our stay! There are great shallow (2-3 inches deep maybe) ledges along the edges that were great for the little ones, even those that can only just sit up. The water spouts and fountains were a big hit too! The baby pool was nice and partially shaded most of the day. Actually, the only negative is that by mid afternoon, the pool was in the shade and it became a bit chilly to swim. The pool service was very good and the food and drinks were good too! I went each morning to reserve chairs for our group (8-10 chairs together) and found the staff very helpful and accommodating!

Beach- The sand was probably the softest I've ever felt! Many chairs to accommodate guests and service too! The water was not calm but once past the wave break it was easy to manage.

Service- Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and went out of their way to be of service. Yes, there can be language challenges if you don't speak Spanish but, I feel that is to be expected when in Mexico. We tipped at the Grand Club, the pool and our room attendants. While it wasn't expected, we felt it was well deserved and appreciated by the staff.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.3 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 3,929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 stars 5,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
3.8 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun

Property: Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 9.5 Lote 6 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cancun
#6 Family Hotel in Cancun
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel rises majestically in the heart of Cancun’s entertainment district. The 602-rooms present with all the class of a fine European hotel, combined with the warm and gracious service that has made us famous. Our full-service spa, invite you to enjoy the endless relaxation and adventure. Fine cuisine is available in our nine restaurants and bars. Guests may also use the large outdoor pool along with a children’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort And Spa
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Hotel Cancun
Grand Coral Beach Cancun
Fiesta American Cancun
Fiesta Americana Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing