We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it!”
Review of Suites Gaby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Gaby Hotel
Ranked #100 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Liked it!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for about 4 days and were pleasently surprised by this hotel. We were searching for a budget hotel in Cancun, away from the beaches, and this one surpassed all our expectations.

Oscar in the reception was super friendly and helpful. Ready to help with every idea that popped into our heads; a year later I still smile when I think about how eager he was to help. If you read this - thank you!

If you are looking for a simple place in-town this hotel should do the trick

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank SigurdurMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    105
    47
    8
    13
See reviews for
40
94
48
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is NOT for anyone coming to Cancun for leisure and trying to save money by staying downtown. The location of this hotel is bad. It's a 15 min walk just to get to the bus stop taking you to the beaches...There are many hotels on the bus route and downtown for cheaper which are better options. This hotel is suited to people on business and need a place for a night or two. Wireless DOES NOT work even though they said it does...they gave me a cable but had to move my bed so it reached....The good thing is that it is very clean, new, awesome bathrooms....with big shower head. Slept well, it's quiet. I give this a 2/5 because I expected a better location for tourists. If I was a business man I guess I would be rating it higher.

Room Tip: Ask for the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oscarrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Suites Gaby is a basic hotel on Avenida Sunyaxchen. It's a small and nice place to stay, away from the hotelzone. Let me just put it this way. Oscar in the reception is a super great guy, and is willing to help you with everything you may need. The cleaning ladies are very friendly.
The location is fairly good, close to the ADO busstation and Wal-mart.

The bad part is the VERY thin walls, noisy mexican people in the hallway and small rooms.

I recommend staying here, if you are just sleeping for the night or looking for a place to stay, while you are exploring the Yucatan by bus from the ADO station.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you are exploring. Don't stay here if you came to relax on the beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELLINGCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked a room here for one night since we landed late and didn't want to make the trip to Merida at night. Simple, basic room - nothing fancy but a good place to sleep. Hotel is right across the street from Mercado 28. Nice staff, helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EugeneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked April 15 2013 in this average-looking hotel on the outside , located in downtown Cancun away from the Zona Hotelera where most of the tourists go.

It is located on an avenue called Avenida Sunyaxchen, about 10 minutes walk from the main ADO bus terminal in Cancun; this avenue in proximity to this hotel offers fast food restaurants(Mexican ones) and bar-restaurants if you dare venture for a 5 minute walk. Plenty of similar hotels in the vicinity such as Hotel Hacienda. You are also not far from the Oxxo chain, a 24-hr convenience store for beers, munchies, milk, etc.

The doorman is quite pleasant and will take your suitcases up to your room as there is NO elevator.( only 2 up floors); give him a one-dollar tip.

My room was clean with a double bed, comfortable mattress, flat screen TV with plenty of Mexican channels, chest of drawers and a closet. What I enjoyed most was a real hot water shower providing strong jets of water with glass doors, very modern.

At night, the traffic goes down and you are not disturbed by traffic ; a large room but definitely not a suite. As I needed the room for just one night before catching my next morning flight, I was quite pleased.

The only complaint : the rooms are not well soundproof as I could hear the conversation of clients in the hallway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with street view of the Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our normal place was booked in Cancun. We needed a place just for a night to go to a Pionero's game. My husband found Suites Gaby on TA. The reviews looked good.

We were thrilled with our accommodations. The room was spacious, clean, tv, good water pressure, nice staff & secured parking for our car. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany-WolrabRoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed one night here as an overnight between our flight and our bus the next day. It was perfect for that because:

1 - it's a small, basic room that's clean and recently updated
2 - has a safe
3 - super close to walkable food options and oxxos (even vegetarian and vegan options can be found a few blocks away at 100% Natural)
4 - super close to the really big market area when you can walk around to little stores and stands for shopping/art/souvenirs/food
5 - about 6(?) blocks to the ADO bus station (long distance bus & ferry)
6 - they serve a full breakfast menu with vegetarian options (some of the best chilequiles i've had so far)

Other notes: there is AC (we did not use it). Staff was friendly, though it took a little work to have someone come help us with the safe error code. The wifi was strong (4-5 mbps), but it disconnected and reconnected frequently - every other minute or so. The hotel is echo-y and has thin walls. Be prepped with earplugs if it suits you.

If i were looking for a vacation spot (like a week or so), this place wouldn't be my choice. But as an overnight while traveling, this place is really great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VegetarianViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#116 of 175 in Cancun
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#90 of 175 in Cancun
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#71 of 175 in Cancun
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#102 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#91 of 175 in Cancun
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Gaby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Gaby Hotel

Property: Suites Gaby Hotel
Address: Av. Sunyaxche Lote 46 y 47 | Mza 2 Supermanzana 25, Cancun 77509, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Gaby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Gaby has a privileged location in downtown Cancun, a few minutes walking from the bus station, to the airport, to Playa del Carmen and beach area, a few steps from the main handicraft market in Cancun "Mercado 28", malls, restaurants and bars, their facilities meet comfort for people who want to vacation but also for people traveling on business; rooms have access to free wi-fi, work desk, flat screen TV with digital box for cable channels, air conditioning, electronic safe with lap top capacity, German design windows against noise and electronic locks, Suites Gaby has a restaurant "The Turtle" where we served delicious Mexican breakfasts, free covered parking, free internet is available in public areas, valet parking and 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites Gaby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing