We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great surprise!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JC Capitan

JC Capitan
Ranked #327 of 939 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were stranded in Cancun due to the Winter Storm Nemo and moved to the Westin Resort and Spa from our timeshare. We passed the sign for JC Capitan and I remembered reading good reviews so we had our concierge book us a reservation. What a fabulous meal we had! The seating is all outside and we had our own palapa for 6. The service was incredible and the food was outrageous. I had read a review that said eat the shrimp fillet, and boy was that person right. It was delicious and fresh! All of the food was great and we had one of our best meals of the trip. Even our kids enjoyed it. It was even nicer because it's not in the main hotel area so it wasn't too busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Where else can you find good food and a caution crocodiles sign but JC Capitan. End of the pier dining is very memorable and a very comfortable spot

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter, TX
Level Contributor
181 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Six of us had dinner and everyone was happy which is feat in itself. Good drinks, food and the tab was fair. Place faces the west so it's nice to watch the sunset. I had the shrimp filet which was different.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarnivoreGunter_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had dinner here on our last night in Cancun and really wished we had gone here earlier in our stay because we would have gone back several more times.

Unfortunately,we missed the sunset,which I am sure would have been amazing.

The food was very good. My husband had the stuffed chicken and I had a couple of starters. Both were very good.

The service was great and the staff made us feel welcome.

After our meal we were treated to a sniffer of almond tequila.......I don`t even like tequila, but this stuff was amazing!

I highly recommend anyone to visit this gem.

Please do not wait till your last night, you will want to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntiemame1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B C Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Different, rustic, and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We walked there from our condo. It is a nice secluded little place and parts are right over the water on the Lagon. We picked one of the small tables out near the end of the board walk. Lovely sunset. There is 2 other places right out at the very end that would be a very nice place for a couple of couples. Food was Good. Service was good. View was Good. The setting was what we liked.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cubankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JC Capitan also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to JC Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing