We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JC Capitan

JC Capitan
Ranked #360 of 946 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had dinner here on our last night in Cancun and really wished we had gone here earlier in our stay because we would have gone back several more times.

Unfortunately,we missed the sunset,which I am sure would have been amazing.

The food was very good. My husband had the stuffed chicken and I had a couple of starters. Both were very good.

The service was great and the staff made us feel welcome.

After our meal we were treated to a sniffer of almond tequila.......I don`t even like tequila, but this stuff was amazing!

I highly recommend anyone to visit this gem.

Please do not wait till your last night, you will want to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntiemame1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B C Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Different, rustic, and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We walked there from our condo. It is a nice secluded little place and parts are right over the water on the Lagon. We picked one of the small tables out near the end of the board walk. Lovely sunset. There is 2 other places right out at the very end that would be a very nice place for a couple of couples. Food was Good. Service was good. View was Good. The setting was what we liked.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cubankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskins, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, amazing setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Friends had told us about this place and I'm so glad that we had the opportunity to finally try it. The shrimp is amazing, service is excellent and the view can't be beat. Take the bus towards Club Med from the north and it is the 3rd stop past the public beach. Buffalo is their resident croc and he is enormous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank the4halls43525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great setting, solid service, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The setting is impressive with the feeling of beeing remote from the world, beautiful views of the lagoon.

And the service was great: it started raining and 1 min later, our table was moved inside.

But the food was just OK :
- The ceviche, of fish as they were out of the scallops one, was too watery
- Tequila selection was super short, same for wine
- The main courses were good but not great
- And their dessert selection was so bad that 2 people with a sweet tooth decided to pass

If the service & location are neat, JC Capitan need to make an effort in term of menu - both food & drinks - ASAP.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fnicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Celebrated our wedding anniversary there. Flash storm while we dined, staff had to serve the two tables under canopies beyond the main one, always cheerful. Very good food, including Mexican dishes like black bean soup, fideos, and flan. Got free drinks because we had to wait for our table. Definitely worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaLoLebrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JC Capitan also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to JC Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing