We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geraldine D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Ranked #75 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Geraldine D”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very disappointing as the water kept disappearing whilst in the shower, so had to sit with soap everywhere to wait for this to come back on. Complained to Reception 3 times and they do not care. The bathroom drainage is never cleaned hence when the door is shut is smells like a sewer.
The maintenance is literally non-existant.I think that this hotel is best suited for their own locals and they seem to treat them alot better than foreigners. I would not go back to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    408
    276
    158
    202
See reviews for
350
436
54
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

First room was like a prison cell,I know that because I work in that field, it was the smell that hit you first,then then bed sheets boy were they bad,no towels phoned twice to ask for them ,fell asleep and in the morning went to the reception asked to move ,they gave me a better room bigger brighter and no smell, food ok drinks on the small side,beach ok ,next to a busy marina where the boats come and go a lady nice to see,pool ok staff to, my big problem was £300.00 was taken from room. Yes my safe was locked and I don't drink. I am very safety concussion. So what happened to it,well a few people were talking about stuff being going missing from there rooms also. So I just felt let down , oh and local people stay here to all year round in they condo,s.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel (which is also a timeshare and condo location) is a mediocre hotel that has the right location. It is situated near an R1/R2 bus stop and it is set on a beach (that i believe is a public beach given after a storm churned up a load of sea grass it was not cleaned up despite the rest of the grounds being well kept). The hotel room had a pervasive moldy/mildewy smell which was difficult to get past even though we typically were pretty exhausted by the time we got to the room. We read a lot of reviews on both sides of the fence, so we knew we were taking a big chance when we booked there but ultimately decided to make the gamble and go with it because we knew we would not be spending much time in the room and even if it sucked we knew we could roll with it. I would not suggest this hotel to someone who is moderately particular because they would likely be let down, where as someone who is just looking for the "3 S's" will be equipped to deal. If we were to go back, i would take my chances with another hotel over this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CmonkeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel made me cry the minuet I walked in. From the slime and mould in reception to the 1hr waiting time for someone to show us to our room. The reception had a long line of people complaining. Our room had no lock on the door, no safe blood all over the wall, no working aircon and mould in the bathroom. It had terrible food not a wide choice of drinks and not enough seats for guests in the resteraunt.

It was discusting my husband and I walked to the next hotel the riu caribe the next day and booked in there. The pool was full of rubbish as was the beach I can go on and on I hated it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Our staff at the reception desk takes care of all of our guests in the order they arrive and, once they have checked-in, they are escorted to their rooms. High occupancy sometimes delays this process. All the doors have electronic keys and all the a/c units are fully functionable. In case the guests encounters any failure, our maintenance team is willing to fix it as soon as possible. We value your comments about food and drinks, however, this is a very subjective topic and we have reviews in all senses. Dos Playas is a 3 stars hotel and the property you moved to the next day is a 5 stars, so we understand our hotel did not meet your expectations and respect your decision
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Unfortunately, we made our reservation before going to Trip Advisor. Reading the reviews made me fear for the quality of our hotel experience, but we were kind of stuck. I wanted to believe that if we focused on the positive it would be ok, but my wishful thinking reflected more the reality of previous guests’ experiences. Initially, we thought this hotel had a very reasonable price for what we needed it; beach front property which we would use mostly for sleeping. It is in a good location for those not interested in the ritzy hotel zone. Our first impression was one of surprise. All hotel guests are REQUIRED to wear a plastic wrist band all through their stay; kind of awkward! Additionally you might be stopped by the staff, questioned and asked to show your wrist band. Since we had guests from different countries in our group it was embarrassing to hear them say “I am not any kind of prisoner!”

The front desk personnel is not trained nor required to focus on customer service. It gave me the impression that the feel that if you are staying with them it is because you have limited options, so no matter how BAD their service is you might be compelled to stay there since most likely you have already prepaid or because it is so affordable that you might not find something so cheap and finding another place might just be too much of a hazel for your short vacation. The housekeeping staff was mostly friendly and helpful, but had extremely limited support to make their service better. While the towels were clean they are also old and worn out. That is me just being picky. The real problem for not only our group, but for many guest were the lack of hot water and even worst the fact that one of the rooms members of our group would get an electric shock while showering. We were there for 9 nights. We complained every day, they said they would take care of the problem but nothing happened. We requested to have the room changed and nothing happened either. As we spent time on the lobby placing our complaints we were able to witness other guests making similar complaints and getting the same answer. The management seems not to care since somehow they are getting your money, and the owners… well, they seem to care even less since they do nothing to properly train their staff. The best attempt at costumer service I could point out was the fact that they had hired two young Russian speaking women to assist their growing Russian guests. As a Mexican I am appalled by the bad treatment the hotel guests received but to think that many international guests, who are visiting Mexico for the first time would think that is our standard service is really sad. As I said, the owners could care less, because they are not Mexican nor do they have any pride in the country in which they are making their money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear guest, thanks for your comments which allow us to inform future visitors about the mandatory use of bracelets in "all inclusive" hotels and resorts. This requirement is based on the need to differentiate customers according to the food plan contracted. Our property has 3 different plans; "room only", "room & breakfast", "all inclusive". That is the reason why you can see guests with different color bracelets and the staff, eventually, may ask you to show it. Regarding the mentioned electric shock, it is unlikely to happen as there is no electrical outlet/appliance near the shower unit. We are willing to change the room to our guests, by request, based on availability. Unfortunately we had no vacancy during your staying. Finally, Dos Playas is a Mexican-owned property and believes that all human beings are equal regardless of their nationality. Yes, we have russian speaking staff as well as english and, of course, spanish to treat every customer with the dignity they deserve that, regardless their nationality, honor us with their presence and give us a livelihood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at dos playas for 10 days. Our room was lovely and spacious and the staff are so friendly and welcoming! Angel the entertainer is a credit to your hotel. Never without a smile on his face and always playing games with all the guests.

Rachel and Sam - London

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Retrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in the last two weeks of March. Given the previous reviews we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and the rooms were clean, tidy and of a good standard. We were slightly disappointed by the sofa bed which cannot be used if you are slightly taller.

The selection of food at the restaurant was pretty poor and they even struggled to provide a decent breakfast. Not what you want for an all inclusive experience. The pizza stand towards the back of the hotel was good and the staff there were incredibly friendly. The all inclusive stops serving drinks at 1030 and there is limited space to sit around the bar apart from on the sun loungers.

The entertainment staff were great and were able to take you to the different night clubs each evening.

You get what you pay for, this is very basic with a terrible food selection but reasonably close to the strip.

Room Tip: The inside rooms on the ground floor overlooking the car park have balconies, and are much bigger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y hemos pasado a nuestro Departamento de Mantenimiento los detalles que menciona para que sean subsanados de inmediato. Recordamos a nuestros huéspedes que las toalla se cambian si se dejan en el piso. Esta es la señal que indica al servicio de habitaciones que el huésped requiere toallas limpias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 175 in Cancun
2,882 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#100 of 175 in Cancun
885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#64 of 175 in Cancun
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.7 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#62 of 175 in Cancun
1,355 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Playas Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Playas Beach House

Property: Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Address: Blvd kukulcan km 6.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 72160, Mexico (Formerly Dos Playas Hotel Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Playas Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dos Playas Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing