We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT GO HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Ranked #78 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DONT GO HERE!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were promised a 5 Star resort and i wouldn't give this resort even 1 star. There was mold on the walls, holes on the walls and floor, one sheet for bedding, the beds were so hard you couldn't sleep at all. The rooms smelled of rotten old sewer. The keys didn't work to the doors, there were huge gaps in the doors, you had to pay extra for security. The pictures look NOTHING like the resort. We go there and left the next day because it was so bad. The food was so horrible it made us sick and it was cold, nothing fresh, the took what lunch was and kept it for dinner. 2 of the four traveling got such horrible ear infections they had to go to the doctor. The customer service was atrocious and when we needed help they wouldn't offer it. When we got room service, NOTHING was replaced. The toilet paper was wet, the shower curtains were made of garbage bags. There was no shampoo or conditioner, they didn't replace the soap. When we left early we asked for our refund for the remainder days we were there and they wouldn't give it to us! When we arrived the entire front area, even up to our rooms was covered in water. We had to take our shoes off to walk to our rooms. I get that there are storms you cant avoid but this was out of control. The night we got there we went to bed at 7pm because we were all so depressed about the thousands we spent and they year we waited just for a dump!! Dont go there you will be severely depressed!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Tiffany, it seems that you booked a 5 stars hotel and Dos Playas was not what you expected. On top of that, you arrived in the middle of a huge tropical storm which floaded the hotel facilities and and a few rooms causing a lot of stress to guests and staff. In these situations the easy daily operation turns into a real mess, but our staff was helpful at all times. We understand that when you come to the caribbean you want sun and fun and experiencing a tropical storm is somethibg quite different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    391
    266
    154
    197
See reviews for
329
416
52
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the Dos Playas for two weeks May 2013 loved it staff were very helpful and always happy to help, would definitly go back met lots of nice people all nationalities mixed in the evenings. Entertainment staff were great as were the waiters lots of grass areas if you want to have peace and quiet to read, also different pools, stayed in room 1007 very comfortable, brilliant hair dryer, large TV and excellent shower plenty of hot water.Buses just outside the hotel every couple of mins also taxi rank. Lovely beach not like the other side of the bay which has large waves people complain about seaweed this was cleaned every day nobody can stop nature.I have travelled all over the world and condsider this to be one of my best holidays,very relaxing and as I was on my own felt very safe Andreas the porter shouted to me most days asking if everything was ok, on my first day the gardener gave me a coconut to drink would definitely go back and so say a lot of the guests that were there at the same time as me.Excellent shopping Plazas short bus ride away staff will advice you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went in January, first impression when we arrived we had a downstairs apartment with a leaking toilet and a tv from the 70s also an ants nest outside so with the money we paid I wasn't happy but I went the reception and spoke to a lady she wasn't to helpful but then another gentleman came along who was very helpful, he said come back in the morning and I will sort it. We waited til morning, we went to the reception he handed us 3 sets off keys and said take your pick, we walked into the first room and it was like walking from a 2star room to a suite, the bathroom was much bigger the tv was a flat screen, everything was much better so then we began to enjoy our holiday, location was perfect, people very friendly, food a little bit repetitive but still enjoyable, entertainment was simple but good laugh, I would go back to this hotel because we made a lot of good memories :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyGriffiths02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in Dos Playas Feb 2013 for 2 weeks.

Positives:
+ beach - sandy and clean
+ location ( just next to diving center and water sports activities, ferry to Isla Mujares, 10 min bus to downtown )
+ staff - all nice and friendly
+ we stayed in room 3014, so opening the glass door we were on ground under our "private" palm tree, with immediate access to the bar/ pool and the beach.

Negatives:
- no sea view from the room :)
- mosquitos are there. have your room sprayed before you go to sleep.

General:
Poor kids activities, but when you going to Caribbean what do you need - clear warm sea and sunny sky - which is there. My family loved the place and I personally prefer this type of hotels than huge glass and marble building with lifts. We try to travel to different destination as the world is so interesting but if happen to go to Cancun would stay in Dos Playas without hesitation.

Room Tip: try to get with the garden view no on the lagoon site as with the open window difficult to sleep bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaViewIsMust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at hotel for one night. About a 30-35 min. ride from Cancun airport. Room was near the main office. Basic amenities with king size bed, small tv and bathroom. Internet charges of $10 per day. Room card also controlled electricity to the room so don't count on leaving the room with AC on. Buffet was decent. Beach area was nice and had jet ski, parasailing and bungee jump activities nearby. Would only recommend hotel for 2-3 day max stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravELL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Dos Playas, we just got back from Cancun - really awesome. We stayed at the Hotel Dos Playas - everything was okay except for the internet. Dos Playas charges $8 USD per day for internet, and this is just to access the wifi that you have to use in the lobby. Does anyone charge for internet anymore? We went to Costco instead to use the internet. I was complaining to the clerk at costco and she told me that internet probably costs Dos Playas about 400 pesos per month or approx. $35 USD per month - what a rip off charge $8 USD PER DAY!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Your comments are very valuable to us. We understand that, at first sight, the cost of the internet service might seem to be expensive for a 3 stars property. The reality is that most of the hotels charge internet service to guests one way or another, either by adding the cost to the room rate or independently precisely to avoid the public rate price increase. We offer a fast, secure internet connection in all the hotel areas (lobby, restaurants, swimming pool, rooms) based on a complex infrastructure of antennas scattered throughout the property with a significantly higher cost of household connections (as mentioned by the cashier COSTCO). We, however, are considering our guests comments, at this regard, to minimize the cost of this service. We will soon inform our guests about the outcome of this matter. Meanwhile we will keep this option available to our guests, even if this could be considered a bit expensive for some of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I travelled to cancun for our 40th birthday. The Dos playas hotel was value for the money we paid! Room was large and clean. The toilet roof could have used a bit of work as it looked like it would collapse at any time. The grounds were lush and green and the iguanas were a true highlight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#98 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#64 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
3.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Playas Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Playas Beach House

Property: Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Address: Blvd kukulcan km 6.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 72160, Mexico (Formerly Dos Playas Hotel Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Playas Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dos Playas Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing