We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday,will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Ranked #76 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday,will return”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

You get what you pay for with this hotel,if your wanting 5 star book elsewhere,if your wanting somewhere in a great location,friendly staff,and a clean hotel book here.
We've just returned from our vacation at this hotel,and don't have any complaints what so ever,just a few suggestions,that would have made things easier.
1.try having evening meal time earlier for families with children,as we struggled to keep our daughter awake for 7pm.
2.purchase more highchairs.
3.food could be a bit hotter.
4.need more cutlery

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taw7210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    399
    270
    155
    200
See reviews for
339
424
52
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just came back from Dos Playas cancun, and what a holiday. Allthough I would say hotel itself was more like a 3 star, it was exceptionally clean ( linen changed daily and rooms cleaned), there was no fridge, which would have been a godsend in the heat, and I would say it needed updating a bit, the food was good but not a great variety but the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff made up for it, we had the thai meal at the pagoda where the meals were cooked in front of us and that was fantastic, only 12 at any time and had to be booked in advance (free of course). The hotel could't have been in a better place, the fantastic gardens led straight onto the beach where the pier was at hand for the ferry over to the island and boat trips galore. Out at the front entrance and on to any bus that ran litteraly every 3 minutes to take you anywhere on route for 8.5 pesos which was 20p. On the money side, over all I found mexico expensive and having to tip for everything and anything took the edge off things as by the end of 2 weeks we had spent 2 hundred pounds. I was advised to take dollars as well as pesos but it works out a lot cheaper to use the pesos, they ask for dollars as they make more money but that means it costs you more. you have to shop around when booking trips as we found out, and allready knowing that you do not use tour reps you still have to be aware, we used the beach tour operater at the bottom of our hotel and they were more than fair. Over all we would return and and are looking to go back to the same hotel and having the same holiday

Room Tip: most have a balcony but ours didn't, but if not satisfied in any way you just have to ask to cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare. Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had read all the reviews before staying in this hotel and they probably all have a point somewhere along the line...

True, there is little to no entertainment in the hotel (although Ivan & Angel tried their utmost around the pool).
True, it is not a 5 star-marble floor-wow factor place to stay in.

But:
- the rooms are kept spotlessly clean (housekeeping and fresh towels every day), as are the pool and the beach;
- the location is perfect: right on the beach and beside the water sports centre with a bus stop at the door;
- there is plenty of choice when it comes to food and drinks;
- the staff couldn't do enough for you, especially if you hand them a very small tip;
- the 129 room size of the hotel means you get friendly with a lot of other guests quickly.

Anything you'd like to do is right on your doorstep or only an 8,5 pesos bus ride away... what more can you ask for?

Great place, do not hesitate to book!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacock2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can start by saying this dump is not worthy of the title hotel. I would definitely give it the title HOSTEL. The place is absolutely filthy. When we arrived and checked in we were taken to a room on the top floor which looked onto the car park with only one window with scruffy glass that hardly opened. The beds were hard as concrete there was damp all over the ceilings a foul smell of damp throughout the hotel and the tiles in the room and bathroom were black were the white once was. The water ran yellow and there was lime scale around taps and shower head. We went to reception to ask to change rooms and we were told there was no other rooms available and we should speak to the manager the next day. Whilst at reception we witnessed so many others complaining about rooms. Because of this we actually looked online to try and book a different hotel as we were not convinced any rooms would be better. We failed to find any availability else where so decided to get our heads down until the manager was in the next morning. We went to breakfast the next morning which was disgusting and I wouldn't feed my dog with this food. We then went to see the manager who was very ignorant and basically said we couldn't change rooms and then carried on with his other work while I was still standing at the desk. We ventured out and managed to find a room in the barcelo costa cancun therefore cancelled the reservation with dos playas and checked out. We then went on to have a great holiday in a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
As hard as they sound, we value your comments and we have proceeded to remove, the room you mention, from our inventory. It is a pity that you did not stay in our property in one of our renewed rooms which I am sure you would have enjoyed. Please, consider Dos Playas is a 3 stars hotel and you finally decided to stay at a superior category property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

hi this hotel could be one of the best on the hotel zone but due to the lack of a bar/meeting place to unwind after days activitys there is none only restaraunt that also doubles as bar ,which closes at 10.30 pm rooms are clean as the cleaners will do there best to make your stay enjoyable ,alas the same cannot be said of reception staff with the exception being jorge the guy who works nights my partner was rshed to hospital with appendicitus this guy was 1st class back to hotel ,foo ok but sometimes maybe could do with a hot meal as most hot meals was actually just warm and what the girl on the grill was doing is anybodys guess at breakfast most people want bacon,eggs you wuold have thouhg she would have some on hot plate ready to go ? the rooms are spacious and i was impressed with clean bedding every day ,plus towels but we had 5 days with no hot water we had to shower at a different room as the manager said all the hotel water was as hot as ours ,not true after 5 days we got a move to another room water was scolding (was going t complain )laugh ing this said hotel well placed on beach but it is not for youg children as we got talking to other brits who had there 2 yr old and they said the steep bankings meant they could not relax for one minute ,please go to mexico cancun as it is a great place be prepared to spend money as it is not cheap although we found busses was great and drivers helpful also visit coco bongo we got all our duty free spirits from the local wallmart (what a store )but spend a little more for a higher star hotel than dos playas

Room Tip: buy your duty free from wallmark and save a fortune as lots cheaper than cancun airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unfortunately, we had a problem with our travel agency that resulted in us sleeping at a different hotel, which was not very pleasent. So i cant tell you what the rooms were like. However, dos playas provided transportation for us back and forth from our hotel to dos playas so we could enjoy our all inclusive package we had purchased. The breakfast and lunch is better than the dinner. Sometimes hard to find tables for dinner and seemed to be understaffed for waiters were running around as fast as they could but couldnt always keep up. The entertainment staff was great lots of fun and keeps guests involved. The bar closes at 11:00 but for $50 they provide transportation and all you can drink table service at really fun nightclubs. The beach and pool area at the hotel are really quite nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mgr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

feb17-242012 7daysgreat location clean lots of europeans very friendly wait staff especially the young lady in the restaurant at dinner you can also order your drinks from her after supper on the outside patio the bar could stay open an extra hour so you dont have to hit the store next door . otherwise no problems would travel here solo without hesitation you wouldnt get lost in the crowd

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbidauhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 175 in Cancun
2,843 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#98 of 175 in Cancun
874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#63 of 175 in Cancun
488 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.7 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Playas Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Playas Beach House

Property: Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Address: Blvd kukulcan km 6.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 72160, Mexico (Formerly Dos Playas Hotel Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Playas Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dos Playas Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing